We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Beautiful Fall Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Lawn Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Dundee, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Fall Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lake Lawn Lodge has been re-done and it's beautiful! We were there for a golf weekend with three other couples and even though the weather was rainy and got a little chilly while we were there, it was gorgeous! Our room was very nice with 2 rocking chairs on the porch and the grounds were just beautiful. The bathrooms were all recently remodeled with new, pretty ceramic tile and new fixtures. The decor was a pretty "rustic" design. Lots of wood and pine cones, etc. in the lamps and art. We were right on the lake and even though it rained, we were able to spend some time in the lounge and visit with some old friends and were not rushed out. We had dinner in the Frontier Restaurant. It was ok. The golf course was nice (I don't golf but I drove the cart) and the fall colors were great. Went to Millie's (in Delevan) for breakfast and could have spent some more time in the shops. A really nice restaurant, but here is a warning -- HUGE portions! A really nice weekend with some wonderful friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KileysGrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    250
    43
    20
    12
See reviews for
335
332
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My family has been going up to Lake Lawn Lodge since the 60's. My husband and I just spent the weekend enjoying this resort once again; as it had been around 15+ years since our last visit. What memories this historical resort brought back. The food was spectacular, the service beyond and the whole facility was so clean and up to date. The entire staff - which work so hard - were very attentive to everyones needs. I want to Thank ALL of you for keeping our memories alive for the next generations to come. Janet & Tony Balchunas

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I came for two nights. He came to golf on Sunday with his league while I got to relax and sleep in. The rooms have been remodeled since we were here with the kids years back. I love the new look - very inviting and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean, the beds and pillows comfortable, there was even a large chair and ottoman to sit and watch TV from (I had to share with my husband when he came back from golfing). I wish there would have been a better selection on TV. Also wish it had been warmer, we would have sat on the balcony - but maybe that wasn't meant to be because the view wasn't the best - we had the parking lot and distant view of the lake from our room. The brunch buffet on Sunday was good, although we arrived rather late about 1 pm and they had to clean a table by the window, which I think took some time and not sure why because there seemed to be plenty of staff. All in all I'm glad that Lake Lawn Lodge has reopened and is looking rejuvenated - I would love to come again for a quick couples getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
224 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have been staying at this property for years and through the many owners of the place. They have been putting alot of money into the resort and it shows in th erom decore and overall upkeep of the property. Some of the room originally redecorated a yera or two ago are starting to show some signs of ware and should not be neglected while other areas of the resort are being re-done. The food is always good in all of the restaurants butare getting a bit pricey. My concern is that the prices of the rooms that are getting to the point where the price charged is not worth the stay.We have stayed about half the nights as in the past due to the room prices.

Room Tip: Double Quees luxury room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding celebration. Service was excellent, rooms were spacious and views were great. We would stay here again. The updated bathrooms were a pleasant surprise and the suite arrangement made us wish we could stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a fun family stay at Lake Lawn Resort over Labor Day. The property is huge so bring your walking shoes, you can walk the entire resort indoors if the weather is less than ideal. Although I knew they were almost completely booked for the weekend we never felt crowded. The rooms in Norwood have been remodeled and are nice yet have maintained that comfy cabin feel. In a loft suite we had a fridge, ice maker and microwave as well as the typical hair dryer, iron and ironing board. We had three bathrooms, all with showers and one with a tub. One of the beds seemed to have a plastic mattress pad on it which made for loud sleeping. As another reviewer commented, we could hear the guests in the next room pretty clearly. The pools were clean. Staff was constantly keeping the property maintained. Housekeeping does come around early but will come back in the afternoon if requested. Some in our group rented kayaks and had a lot of fun. There was a play area with bounce houses set up for the kids due to the holiday weekend.

The restaurants were understaffed for some reason which was a bit of a drag. There were three weddings on the property, one of which we attended. No reason to be understaffed with that many big events going on. Food service at the wedding was very slow. Food service the following morning for breakfast took about an hour and a half. The food was good, but not worth that long of a wait.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauren250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hard to find much wrong with this pretty old school lake front resort. Nice clean rooms, excellent activities for kids, and easy access from Milwaulke. If you have children I would definitely get a Loft Room. Kids love the bunkbeds and gaming chairs. Indoor pool was one of the nicest I have seen. It was clean and well ventilated. Outdoor pools were a little chilly, but they were fine when the sun was out. My only complaints are as follows: Resort is HUGE. You really have to walk a lot to get anywhere. Older people might have a hard time getting around. The cheap plastic chaise lounges by the pool could use an update. The smaller pool closer to the Water Sports center actually had an outdoor jacuzzi and a slightly warmer pool. My only other issue was with the food. No real healthy options. Hard to ear fried food twice a day. We ended up driving to Lake Geneva for other dining options. Otherwise this is a great resort for families or large groups. Grounds are great and everything is clean.

Room Tip: With kids spring for the Loft Room. A bunkbed upstairs and two Queens downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxnBaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delavan
9.2 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
10.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
5.4 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Delavan - Lake Geneva Area
8.8 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
9.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Property: Lake Lawn Resort
Address: 2400 E Geneva St, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115-2024
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing