We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady...with noisey, bratty kids !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Lawn Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beach Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady...with noisey, bratty kids !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Many visits over many years...so this is a composite review of a dependable, and historic venue. Fantastic food at all meals with great wait staff. The updated rooms are awesome. The grounds are well manicured. Keep in mind that this is a "family" venue....which means the possibility of rude and unattended children shreiking down the hallways, banging on the walls and ceilings at all hours. In addition, the pool area is over-run by children who do not obey any of the pool and hot-tub rules, totally ruining the experience for responsible adults. The pool staff, when present, do not enforce their own rules, being intimidated by assertive and "entitled" parents. There should be enforced hours for adults-only enjoyment at the pool and spa. Perhaps it's time for adults-only lodge buildings as well. Why not zone one or two of the lodge buildings for "families with children" and the other lodge buildings for adults who appreciate quiet and serenity....after all that's what we come here for, not to be frazzled by ill-mannered children.

Room Tip: Any room away from crying babies and rudely obnoxious chidren and their parents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surfdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    247
    43
    18
    11
See reviews for
329
329
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I drove up from Chicago for the live entertainment it was wonderful. It was in the lounge with Mark and Gretch live by request. I brought up friends with me. We had an amazing time lots of fun sing along, and dancing it was a wonderful end to a thanksgiving weekend. I wish they had more live music performances by Mark and Gretch . Can't wait till they have them back. I couldn't beleive that it was only 10 dollars for a live music it was worth much more than that. it was a great time and my guest can't wait to come back and see Mark and Gretch. They are going to book a room too. Thanks For a great weekend of live music.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We attended Mark & Gretch's show "Live by Request" Friday, 11/25 at Lake Lawn Lodge and were so impressed! This is the best entertainments we have experienced at this resort and we have lived in the area for 18 years. They have beautiful voices and are so personable, interacting with the crowd and the variety of music they perform is amazing. We will certainly be back to hear this amazing trio. We had the Saturday night seafood buffet before the show and it was delicious! Be sure to catch this show. We can't praise it enough!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We were there for the Thanks Giving Dinner. Food was goooood. Recamend this place to every one.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We went for an overnight with 17 family members and had a wonderful time! The pool and hot tub was a great place for gathering and having fun. We were all in the same corridor of the "Shorewood Lodge" in the hotel. We all had loft rooms that were very spacious with 1-1/2 baths! I would recommend this place to couples or groups of all ages. We would like to go back in the summer for a longer weekend stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoIllinoisKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My family stayed at the Lake Lawn Resort one night for a short vacation. We had a Queen loft room, which provided enough beds for everyone. The room was large, bright, clean, and modern. The mattresses seemed new. We used the small refrigerator to keep milk and juice for breakfast in our room.

The staff was great. We had booked online through a third-party, and the information they sent to Lake Lawn was incorrect, so they originally put us in a standard Double Queen room (which, by the way, seemed much larger than most hotel rooms). When I called the front desk, they switched our room and sent someone right away with new key cards. We did not have to return to the registration area at all. Very professional service.

We walked around the interior of the facility to see what they had to offer. They must be doing some renovating, because parts of it were still quite dated. The lobby, gift shop, and restaurants looked fine. The "Conference Center" seemed to have new paint but not much else. They do have a "Great Room" which looked like a wonderful place for a banquet of 100-150 people.

The indoor pool was bigger than most hotel pools, though it was free-form so there was no way to swim laps. They don't have a locker area, just a couple of bathrooms with showers. We changed and showered in our room, even though this meant walking through the halls in our wet swimsuits.

There was no noise, though it was a Thursday night in the middle of November, and we did not see any other guests at all in the time we were there.

We will likely return the next time we take a spontaneous vacation to the Lake Geneva area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budgeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My wife and I loved our time at Lake Lawn resort! We've been to Lake Geneva many times but never experienced this beautiful resort in Delavan. rooms are great and the service was consistent in their superb service. The food was great and we loved the fact that we could walk through the "maze" indoors to get to all restaurants and activities. We are coming back!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delavan
9.2 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
10.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
5.4 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Delavan - Lake Geneva Area
9.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Property: Lake Lawn Resort
Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing