We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does this thing go to 6 stars?”
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Lawn Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My family has been coming here since we were little kids. In fact, my parents met here almost 60 years ago. In recent years, we've been doing an annual September weekend. Last year when they closed, we were all upset by it. I do agree that the previous owners compromised the resort by turning it into a condotel. They got greedy in the real estate heyday. But the resort has always been a great place to go, it's really gotten better recently.

This past trip, Sept. 2011, was just fantastic. Even better than last year. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The indoor pool was great. Frontier prime rib buffet was really good. We like the fitness center. Excellent wifi coverage. The evening campfire by the lake was another highlight. It's a perfect way to wrap up a chilly fall night.

Our room was really nice. Beds are excellent! FYI they only rent in the remodeled buildings, so no more worry about old room vs. new room.

We rented a pontoon for a ride around the lake one afternoon. Delavan Lake is clear and beautiful. Rental went perfectly, and was the hit for the kids, despite the chill in the air. Marina prices are up a bit, but it's really a pro operation. I recommend it. they're adding boats next year, it's so popular. Many places, the boat rental is a fiasco. Not so here. They rent slips too. Next summer we're gonna come for vacation and bring our own boat.

Lots to do in the area, off the grounds. We avoided Lake Geneva, we're tired of it and it's too crowded. We went to the Delavan Scarecrow Festival, which was sorta fun. Very small-town-wisconson-ish. Bought a few things at the flea market.

We didn't play golf but it was packed on Saturday. I heard it's a great deal for the golf.

My only complaints are:
1) walls are thin enough that you can hear loud speech/noises next door.
2) no self-service laundry facilities. Surprising for a condotel.
3) weak/non-existent cell signal (maybe a blessing, but we needed the phones to reach each other around the hotel.

Cannot wait to go back. New owners are doing one heck of a job as far as I am concerned. I hope to God they do great. We're going this winter, too.

Last thought: I get nervous when a place sets so high a watermark. The expectations are now lofty, and it's easier to fall from grace than to reach it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnfrom60056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

I had originally booked a room with another hotel for the weekend but they overbooked and cancelled my reservations. This was clearly a case where I actually lucked out because I was able to get a room at Lake Lawn, and was glad things worked out as they did. Our room had a great view, fireplace, fridge, microwave,and whirlpool. Very clean. The staff was considerate and friendly, always available to help without being intrusive. They had a pig roast by the lake with music and a bonfire. Loved it!!!! Great food, people, views. I'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkysTheLimit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We just returned from a long weekend at Lake Lawn Resort. What a wonderful place. Our room (king loft) was perfect our family - very roomy and comfortable - clean and beautifully updated. We loved sitting on our balcony enjoying the lake. Refrigerator in the room allowed us to buy some yummy Wisconsin craft beer at a store near the resort and enjoy it while rocking and watching the boaters.

Played golf twice. We found the course to be in pretty good shape all things considered. It's beautiful and fun to play. When we were there the course was completely full but they did a good job keeping people moving and we never waited long. The starter is a very nice man and really good at his job.

We ate in the little bar/restaurant by the pool. The menu is limited but good. Plus what could be nicer than watching a football game with they beautiful view of the lake outside? The bloody mary's are excellent.

This resort has a wonderful relaxed friendly pace. There were a lot of people there but it never felt crowded. Everything you could hope for in a weekend get away. We can't wait to go back. We're planning a trip for October already.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank i0wam0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The property was taken over by new owners in May, 2011. The rooms have been redecorated and are quite nice and are kept spotless by the housekeeping staff. A lot of work going on around the grounds and only one of the restaurants was fully open when we were there. The inside of the resort is just fabulous with large comfortable chairs and fireplaces in the common areas and enough convenient computer access. Adequate indoor and outdoor pools with adequate deck areas. We went there for a quiet long weekend getaway and it was just perfect for that. Some noise in the hallways but the rooms were quiet. We will definitely go back. The casual restaurant was good but at lease some of the staff was new so service was a little slow. The fine dining restaurant had just opened and is definitely a work in progress. The deli had not opened before we left. Overall, a great experience for us and certainly a great value although I imagine that the rates will go up when the renovations have been completed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tubesteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Rooms were great, facility clean, service great, golf course good. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here three years ago and loved it. We were very excited to learn the resort had been reopened. We were in the Timber Lodge in a King Room. We had a second floor room overlooking the courtyard. It was wonderful. We were high enough to be able to see the lake from the balcony. The rooms are not huge, but are definitely large enough to be comfortable. The bathroom is large and beautifully done. Our room had a Jacuzzi tub. The rooms also have a mini fridge and microwave.

We were here from Thursday night through Monday morning and could have stayed longer. We enjoyed the outdoor pool (although it was COLD). We did not use the indoor pool this trip, but it looked like it was also clean and well kept. We had dinner at the Lookout Bar and Grill and enjoyed it. The Frontier dining room is only open on the weekends and at this time only has a buffet. We had both breakfast and dinner here, again very good. Both restaurants have a great view.

The resort is not fully opened yet. Manny's (a coffee shop/deli) is being upgraded and the spa is not yet open either. I appreciate that they are making upgrades and being careful that they are successful in opening the parts that are open.

As another reviewer stated, the resort has kept the quaint, lodge feel while being updated. The entire resort was very clean and the staff was very friendly (without being overly so or intrusive). There are lots of areas (indoor and out) to sit and just enjoy the view and to gather as a group. The resort is very comfortable.

You could easily not leave the resort and be happy. However, I would recommend a trip into Lake Geneva. We did the mail boat tour three years ago and did the Black Point Mansion tour this trip. Both were great. Scuttlebutts and Popeye's are both great restaurants with a view in Lake Geneva.

We love it here and can't wait to go back. We're hoping to go again over the Thanksgiving Holiday.

Room Tip: I would ask for a second floor room facing either the lake or the courtyard (which will get you a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travling4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We recently stayed at Lake Lawn Resort in Delevan. We got a great price for a last minute trip, so we decided to go for two nights.

The resort has been remodeled in a north woods theme. The rooms are nicely decorated and include a large bathroom, refrigerator and safe. The owners put a lot of money into the room decor. Each room has either a patio or a deck with rocking chairs. We spent a lot of time just rocking and enjoying the nice weather and beautiful views. Although the resort was pretty full, it never felt crowded. There are different buildings connected by an interior walkway. In addition to the regular rooms, the resort offers loft suites to accommodate larger families.

The resort has an outdoor pool area right next to the lake. The views are great! We spent one afternoon on a deck right next to the lake. The resort has lots of mature trees and beautiful landscaping.

We ate at the restaurant which offered a seafood buffet on Friday and a prime rib buffet on Saturday. The seafood buffet had different types of fish, shrimp and other seafood, including fried lake perch. There was also a pasta/rice station. The prime rib buffet was good. I'm picky about my prime rib and I ended up eating two pieces! Both buffets offer a salad and fruit bar. For dessert there are many choices of small pieces of different types of pie, lemon bars, brownies, baklava and other things that were delicious! Currently, the restaurant only offers the buffet so you cannot order off of a menu. If you want to order off of a menu, there is a second restaurant connected to the bar. You can order burgers, salads and sandwichs. On Friday, that restaurant also serves a fish fry for $10.95. We tried a burger one afternoon and it was really good.

Lake Geneva is a short 15-minute ride from Lake Lawn. There is good shopping and lots of restaurants. Lake Geneva gets crowded, so it was nice to return to the quiet resort later in the day.

I see that the resort is offering good introductory prices for fall, so we will return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delavan
5.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
466 reviews
8.9 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
543 reviews
9.2 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Delavan - Lake Geneva Area
8.9 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
967 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Address: 2400 E Geneva St, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115-2024
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range: $92 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing