We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Delafield”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Delafield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Delafield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2014

It's hard to believe the Delafield Hotel is a relatively new construction. It truly feels like it has been there for centuries. It's old-world charm and fabulous service is is hard to beat. A wonderful getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, General Manager at The Delafield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you kindly for the wonderful review. The Delafield Hotel is truly one of a kind with its Colonial influence and antique furnishings. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience our exceptional service first hand. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed here for three nights for a friend's wedding in nearby Genesee Depot. Both the hotel's period-theme and elegant decor immediately drew us in (there were at least 10 of us staying here). The rooms are spacious, luxurious (with a whirlpool function in the bath to boot) and very clean. The food downstairs is great too. We had dinner as well as breakfast in the restaurant downstairs on a couple of occasions and it definitely did not disappoint. As a guest, you also have complimentary access to a full-service gym next door. This is not a hotel gym by the way, this is the real deal. On top of it all, the staff were more than courteous and have been trained to an exceptional standard.

The surroundings are quaint. The hotel is a short stroll away from a lake and a very very very good ice-cream shop. Although rural Wisconsin is not on my travel-plans for the foreseeable future, I cannot wait to stay here again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ZZCLSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, General Manager at The Delafield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for all the generous compliments. We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in Wisconsin, and were able to take advantage of all the great amenities like Andrew's Restaurant and BE Fitness & Wellness Center. We hope you may be able to stay with us again in the future when your travel plans bring you back to the Delafield area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the personal service...I was even called by name in the dinning room. They were attentive to our every need. We did have two mishaps in the dinning room at meals, and are still waiting to hear back from the dinning manager on how they will correct that as she did not have "the authority" to make things right at check out. She did assure me we would hear soon (we are still waiting).
I am happy to change it to a five star if that indeed happens!

Room Tip: Do not chose 305 as our room faced a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was a five star experience, despite a bit of weak service for dinner. A $20 gift certificate certainly made up for the slow service so my wife and I still give you 5 stars. We will visit you soon.

Thank you.

Larry L. Skaff

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank LARRY L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, General Manager at The Delafield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you so much for giving us a five star rating. I do apologize for the less than exceptional service you received during dinner. Your comments are appreciated and will be utilized in training so that our level of hospitality exceeds the expectations of our guests in the future. We certainly look forward to your return stay with us so that we may show you the truly exceptional service our staff is capable of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My wife and I selected the Delafield Hotel as the location for our wedding reception. We were more than pleased with our experience. From the cake and food tasting to signature drinks to room set up; everything was great. The staff were more than courteous and Erin, the events coordinator, gave our event plenty of personal attention and followed up on all the details. The food turned out great. I honestly heard nothing but complements from our guests. One thing that turned us on to the Delafield hotel is that it is a smaller hotel with one banquet room (that still accomodates ~200), which meant our reception would be the only event there that day. Also, as part of the deal for selecting the hotel, my wife and I enjoyed the honeymoon suite free of charge for the night of the reception. We were both very pleased and would recommend this if you are thinking of planning an event. We found that we could have easily spent more money on a worse venue. We are both very pleased to have chosen the Delafield Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, General Manager at The Delafield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for all the kind words. Weddings are a very special occasion for a couple, one that requires lots of time and attention to detail. Our Sales and Catering Director, Erin McDonald, truly goes above and beyond to make sure that each Wedding we host at the Delafield Hotel is absolutely perfect for the bride and groom. We are so happy that you and your guests enjoyed the food as well, our culinary team will appreciate all the compliments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at this wonderful hotel. All the staff are so pleasant and helpful. Large rooms and bathrooms have tube and shower. Perfect location. We were there during Delafield Days. It was an easy three block walk to good shopping and entertainment. Great bike paths.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ClintTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, General Manager at The Delafield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you so much for the glowing review. We are so pleased to hear that this was your second time staying with us. The staff at the hotel pride themselves on providing exceptional customer service and I'm thrilled to pass along your compliments to them. Downtown Delafield is a great place to explore for shopping and dinning and I'm glad you were able to take advantage of that during your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Beautiful hotel, beautiful rooms. Lovely decor. Competent, friendly and service-oriented staff. Wonderfully quiet and relaxing atmosphere. A total plus for us …. the Delafield Hotel is one of a very few NICE hotels that allows pets. Upon check-in, we were delighted to find a personalized "Welcome" sign on our room door, complete with our pet's name, and even more delighted to find a small bowl of dog treats and stainless steel food and water bowls inside our room, all for her enjoyment (not to mention the convenience it afforded us). Have had the pleasure of staying in both a Master suite and a Premier suite on different occasions. Enjoyed each accommodation equally -- the Premier suite allows for a bit more room though. Thoroughly enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing breakfast one morning at Andrew's -- lemon poppyseed and blueberry waffle complemented by a sinfully delicious cup of lemon verbena herb tea made with fresh herbs. Delicious and beautifully presented. Each visit we've made to the Delafield has been extremely enjoyable and notable in one way or another. We look forward to return visits and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delafield
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oconomowoc
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Milwaukee Delafield
3.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Milwaukee West Oconomowoc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Delafield
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Delafield
6.7 mi away
The Country Springs Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Delafield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Delafield Hotel

Address: 415 Genesee St, Delafield, WI 53018-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delafield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Delafield
Price Range: $173 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Delafield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool. Contemporary. Sophisticated. Welcome to the Delafield Hotel. The Delafield Hotel is one of southeastern Wisconsin’s most-sought-after full service boutique hotels. Upon your arrival, The Delafield Hotel surrounds you with rich cherry wood, eclectic art and contemporary furnishings providing you with a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment you would expect from this Four Diamond Hotel. Each of the 38 guest suites offer up a one-of-a-kind retreat. Contemporary yet cozy furniture, Kohler Rain Showers & Spa Tubs and expansive open spaces make for the perfect setting for leisure travel, romantic getaways, weddings and business travel. What’s in it for you? Fine quality linens, pillow top mattress and plush down duvets provide extra comfort. Oversized work desk with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the entire property, 55”-70” Smart TVs, Bluetooth speaker and charging station, Keurig Coffee Maker and Aveda Spa Bath Products. The Delafield Hotel is Pet Friendly and welcomes your furry companions! I.d. Bar & Restaurant is a randomly inspired collaboration of food, drink, music and design…an unconventional place to share & explore inside the hotel. Open for dining 7 days a week, I.d. serves a fresh, seasonal menu along with a selection of the best wines, bourbons, craft beers and craft cocktails. Access to beFitness, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, is complimentary to all guests. The Delafield Hotel is conveniently located 25 miles west of Milwaukee, 50 miles east of Madison and 90 miles northwest of Chicago. Situated in the heart of Lake Country, summer recreations such as boating, paddle boarding and kayaking rentals are available within minutes of the Delafield Hotel. Nearby, experience hiking, biking, snow shoeing and cross country skiing at Lapham Peak State Park in the Kettle Moraine Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Delafield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Delafield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing