We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delafield Delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Delafield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Delafield
Certificate of Excellence
MKE, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delafield Delight!”
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Truly a Wisconsin treasure……..

I had the opportunity to stay this past weekend at the The Delafield Hotel, located on the old Lang corporate properties, in Delafield, which is one of our states quaintest little villages.

Upon entering this charming small hotel you are wonderfully turned back in time to what an “American Inn” should truly be. It is old world breath taking with an elegant charm in boasting antique furniture, true American art and wonderfully carved woodwork thru out the hotel.

The hotel was hosting a wedding when I arrived, which in itself added to the romance of this property. It was extremely lively which would have put anyone into great spirits. A reception at this hotel would be a dream come true for any bride. The perfect place to have an occasion of any sort that would exude class and sophistication.


I explored the hotel and all its nooks and glory on the way to my room. The hotel has three floors. The décor it perfectly appointed in the same ambiance that greeted me in the lobby. Upon opening my room I was actually amazed at the perfect detail of my oversized suite. I truly wished that I would be able to stay forever……especially with that fully stocked mini-bar, nice flat screen TV, DVD player and stereo system. It was a beautiful room in every way.

The bed was heaven, covered in high quality crisp Egyptian cottons, with a nice puffy comforter, over sized soft luxury towels and his/hers bathrobes that you will need once you step into one of the most spacious bathroom experiences you will ever have in your life, unless your last name is Kohler, which just happens is be the brand of the exquisite spa bath and greatest shower on earth. A small flat screen is also in your bathroom along with multiple Aveda products, which had me at “hello”! The extra amenities you can order would let anyone out of the dog house, so to speak. This perfect get a way for anyone looking to be truly romanced or forgiven?

The staff was five star, which in today’s hotel world is sometimes hard to find. The bar area is intimately cozy, and if you are a wine connoisseur they have an extensive wine collection. The dining is superb and the ambiance beyond compare. I did see that they had several areas to hold meetings/events in that looked lovely.

In reading other reviews on this property I feel that just maybe the appreciation for a small luxury hotel nestled in a vey quaint setting was lost. This is not a chain hotel.
The Delafield Inn is a property to which you will want to compare all hotels to and for me personally I wish that this hotel has duplicated in every city I need to travel to, near and far.

Loved it!!!!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TRAVELWIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    40
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
114
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

The Delafield Hotel is a clean, nicely done boutique hotel in the quaint city of Delafield, WI. It was a great location for a short getaway from Chicago. The bathroom was beyond amazing, with an enormous electronically controlled jacuzzi tub and a shower with many jets - we stopped counting at 6. BUT we were given the room directly above the ballroom on a Sat. When we returned to the room after dinner, we could hear every song the DJ played. They were well aware of the problem, but the hotel was sold out, so they were unable to move us. This is not what we expected from a Conde Nast Luxury Hotel rated inn.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank MamaGab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

What a terrific gem in a quiet town about 30minutes west of Milwaukee. The room we stayed in was very clean and looked brand new (this hotel opened last year). Bed linens, towels and robes were all top of the line. And then there was the bathroom. Wow! It may as well be another room altogether with the double tub, very nice shower and Kohler fixtures - a real treat.

Andrew's restaurant (on-site) was also wonderful. We've tried dinner and breakfast and both meals were very good. Service was prompt and on top of everything.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Equestrian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We stayed three nights at new The Delafield Hotel. The hotel is wonderfully decorated. The room was very large with wonderful furniture. The bathroom was just as the web site stated - spa quality with whirlpool tub w/ lcd tv and 5 spray shower. We did not see another guest in the elevator or halls during our stay. It was quiet. The staff was pleasant and the house cleaning was excellent. Everything was clean and new. As for improvements - they should assign some parking spots for hotel guests. The restuarant and bar drew a lot of patrons. A near by health center also takes away from guest parking. We did see some inconsistant services. Our first night's house keeper left us a wonderful plate of almond cookies. We missed them the next two nights... We also were asked which newspaper we would like delivered each morining with coffee. We turned down the coffee as we are not drinkers but did request the newspapers. It was delivered only one of the three mornings. Upon check out we noticed two local phone calls "billed" to the room. We made no calls. The calls were local with no charge - but they were on the bill. When I asked about them at check out all that was said was they were no charge. That really was not the point - charge or no charge - they did not belong on the bill. The room also has a fridge - stocked with mini bar items - not much room to be used by the guests. An ice machine would also be a nice touch. Those shortcomings aside - we would recommend the Delafield Hotel for a nice romantic getway location.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RNR2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

This little gem of a hotel just opened in the tiny town of Delafield 20 minutes outside of Milwaukee. Our brand new room was very large and our bathroom was huge with state-of-the art Kohler products. Whirlpool tub with underwater colored lights and a shower that sprayed from three directions The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the restaurant was first rate. What a find!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delafield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#2 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Delafield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Delafield Hotel

Property: The Delafield Hotel
Address: 415 Genesee St, Delafield, WI 53018-1814
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delafield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Delafield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Delafield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool. Contemporary. Sophisticated. Welcome to the Delafield Hotel. The Delafield Hotel is one of southeastern Wisconsin's most-sought-after full service boutique hotels. Upon your arrival, The Delafield Hotel surrounds you with rich cherry wood, eclectic art and contemporary furnishings providing you with a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment you would expect from this Four Diamond Hotel. Each of the 38 guest suites offer up a one-of-a-kind retreat. Contemporary yet cozy furniture, Kohler Rain Showers & Spa Tubs and expansive open spaces make for the perfect setting for leisure travel, romantic getaways, weddings and business travel. What's in it for you? Fine quality linens, pillow top mattress and plush down duvets provide extra comfort. Oversized work desk with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the entire property, 55"-70" Smart TVs, Bluetooth speaker and charging station, Keurig Coffee Maker and Aveda Spa Bath Products. The Delafield Hotel is Pet Friendly and welcomes your furry companions! I.d. Bar & Restaurant is a randomly inspired collaboration of food, drink, music and design...an unconventional place to share & explore inside the hotel. Open for dining 7 days a week, I.d. serves a fresh, seasonal menu along with a selection of the best wines, bourbons, craft beers and craft cocktails. Access to beFitness, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, is complimentary to all guests. The Delafield Hotel is conveniently located 25 miles west of Milwaukee, 50 miles east of Madison and 90 miles northwest of Chicago. Situated in the heart of Lake Country, summer recreations such as boating, paddle boarding and kayaking rentals are available within minutes of the Delafield Hotel. Nearby, experience hiking, biking, snow shoeing and cross country skiing at Lapham Peak State Park in the Kettle Moraine Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Delafield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Delafield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing