We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charm of a b &b with amenities of an Inn.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Delafield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Delafield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Delafield
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charm of a b &b with amenities of an Inn.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Beautiful Inn in charming Delafield. Antiques, and state of the art room with whirlpool and shower with 5 heads.... 4 poster bed, in room coffee. Breakfast was to die for-order the eggs Benedict Very good fitness club privelages next door.
Nice wine in the bar too! It's all a treat.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank excitablesmKc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    38
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
109
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We truly enjoyed our one-night stay at the Delafield Hotel. It is reminiscent of an old country inn. The rooms are elegantly appointed with antique style furniture, fine bed linens, bath robes, a HUGE bathroom with two sinks, whirlpool tub and very large shower with a variety of shower heads. Small mini bar is stocked with drinks and snacks. There are only 38 rooms in the entire hotel and it was very quiet.

There is a small and cozy bar/restaurant off of the main lobby. Staff was extremely courteous and friendly. Never had a chance to explore the area but it looked like there were some very quaint small shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loimln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

One word describes this hotel - WOW!. This hotel is beautiful, comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was large with high end fixtures that made us feel that we were in our own personal spa. The room was so comfortable that we did not even want to leave to go out for dinner.

We had a suite with a separate living room and it was priced at $299 a night, but were able to get a 10% discount by booking through priceline.com. Yes, this may be a bit pricey for some, but we have paid just as much for other hotels that are not even in the same universe as this hotel.

We are looking forward to staying that this hotel soon and often!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the weekend of 10/27/11 for an anniversary celebration. The hotel is pristine clean and in a wonderful location. We did a day trip into Milwaukee to visit the Harley Davidson Museum and also went to Ten Chimney Estates which was so worth the visit. When we checked in on Thursday night near 10pm, the parking lot was almost empty, but we were told there was no king size bed. The young man working the front counter was not overtly rude, but was snobbish and barely grunted at us. I had purchased our stay on one of the discount web sites. I don't understand why hotels offer their rooms at a discount rate if they are not interesting in providing the same service at the lower negotiated price. We were placed in the room by the elevator....which was actually a nice room, very large and we did not hear the elevator. However, one reason I had chosen this hotel was the reviews about the luxurious baths. Our room did not have a tub, only a shower. The next day I asked if a room with a tub was available, the desk clerk was very nice and we were reassigned to a different room. It was worth the move as the jet spa tub and bath salts were wonderful. I would recommend this hotel for any occasion. It's beautiful and the town of Delafield is very quaint and a nice walk on a beautiful day. The only suggestion for improvement is that purchasers of on-line discounted reservations be offered the nicest room available within the room rate category instead of receiving snobbish service and the worst room in the house.

Room Tip: Ask if your room has a tub or not as the one by the elevator does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfeTwinCities_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIFFIN,OH
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Much more than I expected. Rooms were very spacious and the bathroom is unbelievable, very hard to leave the tub or shower. All the staff was very nice. The resturant in the hotel was very good with lots of goument selections and a handful of daily specials that sounded great. Bar area was nice and the bartenders were very friendly. Not a whole lot to do around the hotel area, but hardly needed for a weekend trip or just overnight. Also very clean. I was there on business but instantly know my wife would love it and can't wait to take her there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PHOERIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

While taking friends to experience Door County, we stayed at the Delafield Hotel on the way. It was a recommendation of a friend who lives in Delafield. Talk about impressive! Our friends have stayed in nice places all over the world and couldn't stop talking about the accommodations. One of the wives is an interior decorator from Dallas,TX and loved the antiques. The only down side is it is now a "must stay" on my wife's list for our annual Door County trips.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We love this hotel. We stayed here the night of our wedding, and talk about going back all the time. The bed is out of this world - you literally sink into it and don't want to get out. The bathroom was very nice - all Kohler appliances. I think my husband was in the shower for over an hour (ha!). He loves showers, and this was one of his favorites! The staff is excellent, and makes you feel right at home. Plenty of spaces to park, nice location right in the heart of Delafield, and great place for a little weekend getaway! HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there's a bad room here - 36 individually styled room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delafield
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Delafield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Delafield Hotel

Property: The Delafield Hotel
Address: 415 Genesee St, Delafield, WI 53018-1814
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delafield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Delafield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Delafield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool. Contemporary. Sophisticated. Welcome to the Delafield Hotel. The Delafield Hotel is one of southeastern Wisconsin's most-sought-after full service boutique hotels. Upon your arrival, The Delafield Hotel surrounds you with rich cherry wood, eclectic art and contemporary furnishings providing you with a relaxed, yet sophisticated environment you would expect from this Four Diamond Hotel. Each of the 38 guest suites offer up a one-of-a-kind retreat. Contemporary yet cozy furniture, Kohler Rain Showers & Spa Tubs and expansive open spaces make for the perfect setting for leisure travel, romantic getaways, weddings and business travel. What's in it for you? Fine quality linens, pillow top mattress and plush down duvets provide extra comfort. Oversized work desk with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the entire property, 55"-70" Smart TVs, Bluetooth speaker and charging station, Keurig Coffee Maker and Aveda Spa Bath Products. The Delafield Hotel is Pet Friendly and welcomes your furry companions! I.d. Bar & Restaurant is a randomly inspired collaboration of food, drink, music and design...an unconventional place to share & explore inside the hotel. Open for dining 7 days a week, I.d. serves a fresh, seasonal menu along with a selection of the best wines, bourbons, craft beers and craft cocktails. Access to beFitness, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, is complimentary to all guests. The Delafield Hotel is conveniently located 25 miles west of Milwaukee, 50 miles east of Madison and 90 miles northwest of Chicago. Situated in the heart of Lake Country, summer recreations such as boating, paddle boarding and kayaking rentals are available within minutes of the Delafield Hotel. Nearby, experience hiking, biking, snow shoeing and cross country skiing at Lapham Peak State Park in the Kettle Moraine Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Delafield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Delafield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing