We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Union Reunion!”
Review of Union Hotel

Union Hotel
Ranked #2 of 113 Restaurants in De Pere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a 'Wisconsin Supper Club' that features dry aged steaks and fresh seafood. Located in an historic landmark built in 1883 and has been run by the same family since 1918.
1 review
“Union Reunion!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

A trip down memory lane. So much history discovered at this little gem and the best food and service! We travel 2000 miles every other year for it - our FAV every time. Fried perch, sauteed scallops that melt in your mouth, fresh whitefish, steak, etc.with local history in a beautifully maintained historical building rich in memories. Family owned for many years with many stories. We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    28
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Turn of the century ambiance, home made food with superior wine list.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The restaurant is located in a historic hotel in downtown De Pere. The menu is american and home made from the dinner rolls to the deserts. The Union Hotel features the best wine list in the area and at affordable prices. This is a place you can not miss if you enjoy food and wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oldredwine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Old style restaurant supper club feel in historic setting”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had a great meal at the Union Hotel with friends recently. No reservations except for large groups, so we opted to eat early and arrived a bit before they open at 5:30. We didn't sit in the bar, although that setting was very attractive, we opted to sit in the sitting room outside the dining rooms, very historic room with comfortable sitting areas, I think this might be the hotel lobby. They came and served us great cocktails here, and prepared a table for our waiting in the dining room, complete with home made rolls and relish plate, in keeping with the supper club feel. Dinners include soup and salad, starch, dessert, and coffee, and "plates" only salad and starch. Portions were generous, and food tasted very good. Will certainly return. There were three actual seating area, the dining room, a room with booths, and and upstairs dining room, and a separate party room. Open for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ODtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is one of my FAVS!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

When you enter the Union Hotel, you cannot help but feel the warm, cozy atmosphere and history of the place! They even have a working old telephone booth! Yes, the phone works! Bar area is comfy and the bartenders/owners are fabulous! Food is to die for! I've had the steaks and the Ahi tuna this past time. Simply Amazing! Relax at the bar with a cocktail and then enjoy a nice glass of wine with dinner! You will not regret it! This will always be a "go to" spot!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent - unique restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just had our office party here and it was wonderful. The Union has been run by the same family for over 100 years and is dripping in history. The bar is snug and cosy and they can mix you any drink you ask for - quality and fun rolled into one! McKim is an excellent host and welcomed us individually when we arrived - you don't often see that type of service.The food we had was excellent - especially the scallops which were griddled to perfection. Also tried the steak which was cooked just as requested. Our waitress was the wonderful, Heidi, who I believe has worked there for a while and is one of the best. She was run off her feet the night we had our party but she never got tired of our requests and jokes. Excellent, unique restaurant right in the heart of De Pere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RegVarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing