We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful evening with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Chanson

Cafe Chanson
Ranked #18 of 109 Restaurants in De Pere
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Savor Cafe Chanson’s award-winning contemporary American-French cuisine prepared by our Chef de Cuisine. Our menu changes reflect the seasons; but we retain our French classics and guest favorites such as the Boeuf Bourguignon, Pan Seared Salmon, and Moules Mariniere. Our menu boasts the flavors of France with a casual touch, such as our Croque Monsieur, a classic French ham and Swiss sandwich that rivals any found in the sidewalk cafes of Paris; and our Royale with Cheese has a reputation among our guests as being the “best burger in the state”. In addition to our seasonally changing menus, in warmer weather we also boast one of the most beautiful patios in town, featuring breathtaking views of the Fox River where you can enjoy outside dining or perhaps just a hand-crafted cocktail or one of our numerous wines by the glass, something that can of course always be enjoyed year-round in our cozy Taverne bar. Finally, in addition to our set menu of expertly-prepared cuisine, we also feature nightly Chef’s Specials and hold special events such as Wine Pairing Dinners, Themed Coursed Dinners, and Special Event Packages that include dinner and a night’s stay in our Boutique Hotel.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We started by sitting outside on the upstairs deck overlooking the Fox River and the DePere bridge/dam, sharing a bottle of wine with friends. We moved inside for dinner. Three of us had lamb, the other beef. Every dinner was wonderful, with a thoughful selection of cooked vegetables to accompany the meat. The atmosphere was quiet and conducive to conversation, and the service was outstanding - always there at just the right times. A wonderful place to go with the special people in your life for a very enjoyable experience. Prices were moderate, less than what I expected actually. After dinner we walked out on the old bridge and watched the boats for awhile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hillis06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor service, below average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had reservations for a small celebration for under 15 people and it was entirely underwhelming. First of all, the staff was not friendly and did offer drinks to any members of the party who had arrived early. Actually, they barely spoke to the guests until after everyone had arrived. It was very awkward. The table was set on an angle in a corner such that the first 1 or 2 chairs on each side of the table could not be pulled out from the table without hitting the wall. We had to pull all the tables out to remedy this situation and at no time did the staff bother to help or even inquire why we were needing to rearrange the furniture. Very odd. The steak was fatty with gristle for the 2 of us who ordered it. It was lacking important trimming. The group was polite and not about to complain, but noticed large portions of food returning to the kitchen at the end of the meal. The waitress did notice this and asked about it, but in polite Green Bay culture everyone responds, "It was good."

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2mchwrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“come on people...quality food? quality service? not really!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went here to celebrate our anniversary with my parents, sister and her husband. We got there a little early so had to wait in the bar. The bartender was fantastic and made us all feel very welcomed while we waited.
We were eventually seated in a small room off the main dining area. We had the room to ourselves, although there were other tables in the room. We had a nice view of the bridge and water but that is where things stopped being "great".
We had a waitress who reminded me of the service one would get at a local Denny's. I expected more from a restaurant of this calibre. She mispronounced every French dish on the menu when we asked questions. This shows unwillingness to learn and lack of training from the kitchen/chef out to the wait staff. We endured!
The appetizers, soups, and salads were the only highlights worth speaking about. I would go and have these again. When it came to the food, the quality was there and the presentation was acceptable but the chef must have salt shakers in his fingers so every time he checks the food more salt is added. It was disappointing because we ALL experienced the over salted dishes, from the beef to the fish.
We all decided we would go her for a lunch meal and stay away from the entrées. That said, we will probably not go back any time soon. There are better food options in the Green Bay area. Comparing this to our dining experience in Wausau a few weeks ago (we were surprised at the quality), we would make the drive to Wausau instead of Green Bay for a memorable evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pcguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So. Good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I've been here six times now. The food has NEVER disappointed! Wonderful menu!!! I highly recommend cafe Chanson!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DefSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great celebratory place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We ate at Cafe Chanson as a celebratory meal and were not disappointed. Food was excellent and atmosphere very conducive to an intimate, quiet romantic dinner. Service was also excellent and we will probably return for a future special occasion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sswriter97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Chanson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing