We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, Courteous and Exceptionally Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kress Inn, An Ascend Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kress Inn, An Ascend Hotel Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in De Pere
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Courteous and Exceptionally Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I typically stay at larger chain hotels when I travel, but the fantastic service and amenities I received at the Kress Inn have inspired me to try more "boutique" hotels when I travel. I stayed in the Presidential suite with a fireplace and whirlpool this past weekend and was so pleased by everything about our stay! The room was comfortable - not too cramped, with a couch, bed, desk, kitchenette area, bathroom, whirlpool and fireplace. From our windows we had a lovely view of St. Norbert College's campus. The room was immaculately cleaned, linens were very comfortable, and the fireplace and whirlpool added a romantic element to our stay. The room had a microwave and mini fridge, which believe it or not, are NOT in that many hotel rooms nowadays. When I am traveling I often have leftovers from dining out, and it was no issue at this hotel. My favorite things about the room were how spacious the hot tub was (and that you could see the tv from it!), how comfortable the bed was, and the fact that the tv was able to turn easily so you could watch it comfortably from bed, the couch, or the hot tub. While we did not need much assistance from the staff, they were exceptionally courteous when we checked in and out, and the hotel lobby was cozy and had charming St. Norbert touches. Lastly, the hotel is within walking distance from at least 11 bars, restaurants and coffee shops, making it easy to enjoy your evening without having to worry about driving back to the hotel. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite is spacious and comfortable, with beautiful views of campus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allysongwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    41
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
32
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I won an overnight stay at this hotel and decided to use it a few weekends ago. We had a jacuzzi/fireplace suite. At check in the front desk gal gave us some helpful suggestions for lunch and we were able to get an early check in. The entire hotel, room, and breakfast area were immaculately clean and seemed updated and new for this being an older hotel. I was very pleased with our stay. The room was quiet, comfy, clean, and large.

Room Tip: Corner suite was large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacksonpryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. Of the 20 days my wife and I spent in hotel rooms this year this was the only hotel that manage to clean our room everyday. I know that should be expected but it seems harder and harder to find hotels that are able to do that. In fact they were replacing carpet on the first floor hallway that could have passed for being brand new at another hotel we stayed at this year.

The staff is always warm, friendly, and helpful. The hotel has a continental breakfast no restaurant, however in the two block area there were a dozen or so restaurants, bagel shops, and or pubs within walking distance. There are plenty of fine places to eat if you have a car too.

The location of the hotel is very close to everything. My mother-in-law is only three buildings away on the edge of St. Norbert College and is the reason we visited. Lambeau Field is only 5 miles away and there is free mass transit bus service to the field that starts behind the hotel. Expect rates to be higher and availability to be harder when the Packers have a home game.

It was two years since our last visit and they have maintained their high standards.

Looking on a map, the location does not seem ideal unless you had business at St. Norbert's College or downtown De Pere, WI. However travel time was only 15 mintues to downtown Green Bay, the airport, or Lambeau Field (non-game days). On the east coast, the travel time would be double that just due to traffic congestion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwayne7357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My son goes to St Norbert College he is currrently a junior, We have always stayed at the Kress Inn since he has been up here for all events including his football games. I feel like I am home when I stay here, One of your employees by the name of Sue always gives us a warm welcome when we arrive, she has a great personality and always with a bright smile. I had an experience in which our suitcases did not arrive on time and she made sure she gave us what we needed to make us feel comfortable. I recommend the Kress Inn to anyone that will be staying in the Depere area. My experience and comfort the best of all. Thank you very much Joe & Lidice Hernandez.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lidice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

On a recent trip to Green Bay for a wedding and football game we stayed at the Kress Inn. The staff as very friendly and the property is well maintained with nice well appointed rooms. We had a Jr suite and it was very comfortable. The morning self serve breakfast was very good and the evening cheese and crackers as a nice touch. Their exercise room consists of one recumbent cycle and one treadmill. There are any variety of nearby restarants and a shuttle that goes to Lambeau Field. If traveling to the Green Bay area you can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a nice clean hotel right across from the campus of St. Norbert's, so it is very convenient if you have business on the campus. They had coffee, tea, hot chocolate and hot cider available all the time. We had a very large 2-queen bedroom on the third floor with a well-lit sink area in both the bedroom and the bathroom. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The included breakfast consisted of waffles, bagels, sweet rolls, cereals, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, toast, etc. There is no restaurant on site, but The Abbey, directly behind the hotel, provides room service if requested. The only complaint we might have had would be that the room had a stale cigarette odor that they need to get rid of. Parking is across the street but it is a very short walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rednanIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is on a college campus so the setting is nice, but there are some drawbacks. The parking is across the street from hotel. While school is in session it can be very hard to find parking at times. Also, not very convenient if it's cold or raining. The hotel backs up to retail shops and restaurants, so, between the campus and retail activity, it can get a bit noisy. The amenities one takes for granted at other hotels may be missing or diminished. For example, the fitness center is a room with a treadmill and bike, no television, and the size of a large-ish bathroom. Selections at their continental breakfast are quite limited but generally satisfactory, if a bit short on flavor & freshness. There is no pool, hot tub or restaurant. Quality dining options are also very limited in the area. You will almost certainly find yourself driving 15-20 minutes into surrounding cities for decent choices. Location could be an issue as the hotel is not exactly close to most attractions or business centers. Depending on which direction you're headed and the time of day, traffic can be a problem with long backups at the nearby roundabouts. The hotel itself is decent and the staff is pleasant. As one would expect with the location, this small hotel has a "collegial" feel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhawk_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Pere
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Green Bay
Hampton Inn Green Bay
#4 of 39 in Green Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Green Bay
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites, Green Bay Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
Hyatt Regency Green Bay
#5 of 39 in Green Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Green Bay
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Green Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kress Inn, An Ascend Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kress Inn, An Ascend Hotel Collection

Property: Kress Inn, An Ascend Hotel Collection
Address: 300 Grant St, De Pere, WI 54115-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > De Pere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in De Pere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kress Inn, An Ascend Hotel Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kress Inn is an Ascend Collection hotel, and has 46 spacious and well-appointed suites. We cater to today's business and leisure traveler. All suites offer the amenities that guests have come to expect, including complimentary wired and wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, spacious workspace, cable television with HBO and two-line guest room telephones. We provide Free Wi-Fi, Free hot breakfast, Free airport transportation, and we're conveniently located in downtown De Pere on the scenic St. Norbert College campus. We also provide fresh baked cookies upon arrival and a wine and cheese reception (Monday-Thursday, 4-7pm). Come and experience our award-winning hospitality and boutique-style Inn, conveniently located near the Fox River and within walking distance to many unique shops, restaurants and area attractions. "A Platinum & Gold Award winning hotel since 2006". Consider the Kress Inn, your "home away from home" for your next visit to the Green Bay/De Pere area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Kress Inn, An Ascend Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kress Hotel De Pere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing