We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food for all ages - breakfast anytime!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DE Forest Family Restaurant

DE Forest Family Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in DeForest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rio, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food for all ages - breakfast anytime!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We love to go to DeForest Family Restaurant as a family. We can all get whatever we want - even breakfast for dinner!1 The prices are very reasonable and the staff is fantastic. It's like going to your grandma's for Sunday brunch. The only problem is choosing what to get since there are so many options. Love it!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 329BRENDAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    16
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice environment doesn't make up for terrible food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Good: cheese curds and wife's salmon. Terrible: my rice pilaf was insanely salty; the deep-fried smelt was old fish, overbreaded, and fried in oil that should have been changes months earlier; the canned peas were mush. Our server was happy and sincere but never offered to refill my beverage, which I drained in the first 5 minutes of the meal trying to rinse down the pilaf. The table next to ours had two men, one of whom sent back his steak. The manager first engaged in a debate about the merits of Choice cuts; the customer didn't knuckle under and sent the meat away. (The manager offered to bring another entree; the customer declined the offer.) The decor is nice; the place is clean; the menus are ratty but I see that as price stability since new menus always come with price hikes. But the pros are far outweighed by the cons. When in DeForest, WI eat elsewhere. We will.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huacas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have eaten at the Family Restaurant on every trip to DeForest. The breakfasts were plentiful and the dinners were just like homemade comfort food, The waitresses were friendly and attentive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EpacWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“So glad we stopped”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were passing through the area, and randomly chose this restaurant for lunch. We were impressed! The food, service, and value were excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvingadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“family fare with friendly staff and prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Extensive menu with regular food (nothing exotic). Family of 5, including one vegetarian. All ate well with nobody left hungry. Quite tasty at a very good price. Often small towns mean fast food only but this was a welcome surprise. Bill was very good value at $40. My recommendation for good home-town food at a great price with friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A4andB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DE Forest Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to DE Forest Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing