We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area)
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in DeForest
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Front Desk Help”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Michael, Michael, Michael! Thank you so very much for your most helpful service on our way through WI. We were lost. Saw your hotel and being very tired and cranky, decided to stop for the night. We were greeted by Michael who had a big smile for us. He was very helpful in directions as to where we were and as to where we needed to be the next day. He got us quickly set up with a room and a feeling that we picked the right place to get lost. We slept well and were off the next day with directions that did not fail. THANK YOU TO Michael for your kindness and patience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivnotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area), responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding one of our valued team members. We shared your comments with Mike and he was so pleased that you remembered him and the service he provided to you. Our entire staff is very eager to hear feedback and your comments were very much appreciated. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to having you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    50
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
23
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stay there every now and again if the Dells is full,its 30miles but saves a little money.Got checked in by a tattooed hippy in her street clothes and breakfast lady was proud of her chest tattoo too,big city living i guess. It was $130 but only worth that if you go to the Dells where it can top $200. Rooms were ok,quiet but can smell like manure from the neighboring farms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area), responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Larry A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you encountered some issues with the unusual smell. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful stay at your hotel. I wanted to give a shout out to your night auditor who went the extra mile and left the pool open for my kids to swim a little bit longer, I do believe his name is Michael. Very clean rooms, and a great breakfast! If we are back in the area I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryGirl406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area), responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in DeForest for your recent trip. We truly appreciate your business and your leaving comments about your stay. We are pleased to learn that your experience was a positive one and that our staff went above and beyond to ensure your kids enjoyed themselves. We do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Evening of June 25, 2013: Clean motel, nice amenities, and good customer service provided by the staff. The complimentary breakfast was more extensive than those typically provided by other motels. Added bonus: the Ehlenbach Cheese Chalet across the street - worth a visit (many different Wisconsin food items).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddittmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a one week business stay. I would classify this Hotel as an average Holiday Inn Express. No problems, but nothing spectacular either.

The Hotel is situated about ¼ mile from the Interstate, with convenience stores, and a few small restaurants nears by. It’s more or less a truck stop area.

The rooms are medium size with microwave & fridge, Large Flat screen. The channel guide shows 98 channels, but a lot of them have no signal. The work area leaves a lot to be desired. A small table in the corner with a semi comfortable chair, and a single electrical outlet a couple of feet away. The microwave & fridge are in a tall cabinet that totally blocks your view of the TV. You need to be in the bed to see the TV. AC / Heat is quiet and effective, and the free internet connection is reliable.

The bed was clean and comfortable, and I got a good nights sleep. The room was also quiet.

Small bathroom with the sink in the room. Shower had good water pressure and hot water, but the tub was very slippery.

The free breakfast was good, with hot & cold items, and it was on time every morning.

I’ll return on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

On my spring road trip staying in 11 IHG properties (including HI Express, Staybridge and Candlewood Suites, Crowne Plaza, etc.) for a total of 17 nights, I enjoyed this Express located in the small town of Deforest, outside Madison.

When "on the road" making intermediate stops, I actually prefer the locations outside the urban areas, not only for the usually reasonable cost, but also for the down-home hospitality. There simply is nothing like rural residents who take pride in their work and feel their responsibility is to exceed the customer expectations.

Experienced in the ways of Holiday Inn Express, I did not expect anything exceeding my expectations, merely meeting the high quality and service standards of HIX. The Deforest property did.

From the check-in, to the breakfast room, to the instant check-out, I could feel the hospitality spirit. People make the difference.

The HIX property is cookie-cutter-like, with the indoor pool, exercise room, LCD TV, free Wifi, spacious room, comfortable bed and amply sized bath with amenities. That's why I stay at this chain. What added to the pleasure was the breakfast room lady who took an interest to make sure I got everything I needed, and the front desk which gave advice about area eating places.

Didn't have a problem here at all. Like the old HI slogan, "The best surprise is no surprise." That and a people-oriented staff makes the Holiday Inn Express Deforest Wisconsin a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoBeSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

On our way to visit family we needed some sleep and found this hotel. The staff was friendly. The room was large and clean. The breakfast was good. What more do you need on the road? We didn’t have the time to check the pool but it looked OK.

Room Tip: If you need something to eat in the evening, I can recommend Culvers on the other side of the gas st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeForest
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North
8.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#19 of 63 in Madison
412 reviews
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Windsor/Madison North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area)
Address: 7184 Morrisonville Rd, DeForest, WI 53532-1974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > DeForest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in DeForest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Deforest/Madison, conveniently located at I-90 and County V, exit 126 offering excellent Interstate access and visibility. The Holiday Inn Express Deforest/Madison is just minutes from the Dane County Regional Airport and Truax Field. Close to major corporate offices including ABS Global, Evco Plastics, Ball Corporation, Sanamax, and Firestone Building Products. The Holiday Inn Express DeForest/Madison offers complimentary shuttle to Dane County Regional Airport, (advanced reservations needed at least 72 hours prior to arrival) and local corporate offices.The Holiday Inn Express Deforest/Madison is convenient to major Madison destinations such as Camp Randall Stadium, UW Kohl Center, University of Wisconsin Madison Campus, Overture Center for the Arts, Olbrich Botanical Gardens, Madison Monona Terrace Convention Center, Dane County Expo Center, Alliant Energy Center. Located 30 minutes south of Wisconsin Dells, 15 minutes from Cascade Ski Hill, 30 minutes from Devils Head Ski Area.The Holiday Inn Express DeForest/Madison offers excellent guest service from a friendly staff of professionals. The entire hotel has recently been remodeled with beautiful guestroom furniture, including mattresses and box springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deforest Hotel De Forest
Holiday Inn De Forest
De Forest Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing