We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area)
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in DeForest
Certificate of Excellence
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Evening of June 25, 2013: Clean motel, nice amenities, and good customer service provided by the staff. The complimentary breakfast was more extensive than those typically provided by other motels. Added bonus: the Ehlenbach Cheese Chalet across the street - worth a visit (many different Wisconsin food items).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddittmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    48
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
23
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a one week business stay. I would classify this Hotel as an average Holiday Inn Express. No problems, but nothing spectacular either.

The Hotel is situated about ¼ mile from the Interstate, with convenience stores, and a few small restaurants nears by. It’s more or less a truck stop area.

The rooms are medium size with microwave & fridge, Large Flat screen. The channel guide shows 98 channels, but a lot of them have no signal. The work area leaves a lot to be desired. A small table in the corner with a semi comfortable chair, and a single electrical outlet a couple of feet away. The microwave & fridge are in a tall cabinet that totally blocks your view of the TV. You need to be in the bed to see the TV. AC / Heat is quiet and effective, and the free internet connection is reliable.

The bed was clean and comfortable, and I got a good nights sleep. The room was also quiet.

Small bathroom with the sink in the room. Shower had good water pressure and hot water, but the tub was very slippery.

The free breakfast was good, with hot & cold items, and it was on time every morning.

I’ll return on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

On my spring road trip staying in 11 IHG properties (including HI Express, Staybridge and Candlewood Suites, Crowne Plaza, etc.) for a total of 17 nights, I enjoyed this Express located in the small town of Deforest, outside Madison.

When "on the road" making intermediate stops, I actually prefer the locations outside the urban areas, not only for the usually reasonable cost, but also for the down-home hospitality. There simply is nothing like rural residents who take pride in their work and feel their responsibility is to exceed the customer expectations.

Experienced in the ways of Holiday Inn Express, I did not expect anything exceeding my expectations, merely meeting the high quality and service standards of HIX. The Deforest property did.

From the check-in, to the breakfast room, to the instant check-out, I could feel the hospitality spirit. People make the difference.

The HIX property is cookie-cutter-like, with the indoor pool, exercise room, LCD TV, free Wifi, spacious room, comfortable bed and amply sized bath with amenities. That's why I stay at this chain. What added to the pleasure was the breakfast room lady who took an interest to make sure I got everything I needed, and the front desk which gave advice about area eating places.

Didn't have a problem here at all. Like the old HI slogan, "The best surprise is no surprise." That and a people-oriented staff makes the Holiday Inn Express Deforest Wisconsin a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoBeSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

On our way to visit family we needed some sleep and found this hotel. The staff was friendly. The room was large and clean. The breakfast was good. What more do you need on the road? We didn’t have the time to check the pool but it looked OK.

Room Tip: If you need something to eat in the evening, I can recommend Culvers on the other side of the gas st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a newly renovated facility and was a great place to stay. The room was large and very comfortable. The facility was very clean. We had to make some last minute changes to our travel itinerary and they were very accommodating. Breakfast was great! Flu the front desk clerk even helped us find a local theater in Madison to go to a movie. Would recommend this location to anyone traveling on Interstate 90 through Wisconsin!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during the summer for a wedding. Right from the start I felt welcome and at home. Colleen checked me in and she was very quick and super friendly. We didn't show up until late and she was already at the front desk when we walked in; ready to go. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was awesome! Eggs, Pancakes & Bacon were my favorite! They also had really good cinnamon rolls! I would highly suggest this hotel for your wedding party or anyone looking for a high quality room & hotel with all the amenities; right off the interstate! Super close to Madison!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonCsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanibel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is our new stopping point between Minneapolis and Toledo. The staff is friendlier than anywhere we've been, the room was clean and the breakfast was good, the lady that brings in her own baked goods is a real blessing, and a great baker and candy maker, looking forward to our next stop. Thank You.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeForest
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison North
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Windsor/Madison North
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#21 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#18 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
7.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area)
Address: 7184 Morrisonville Rd, DeForest, WI 53532-1974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > DeForest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in DeForest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Deforest/Madison, conveniently located at I-90 and County V, exit 126 offering excellent Interstate access and visibility. The Holiday Inn Express Deforest/Madison is just minutes from the Dane County Regional Airport and Truax Field. Close to major corporate offices including ABS Global, Evco Plastics, Ball Corporation, Sanamax, and Firestone Building Products. The Holiday Inn Express DeForest/Madison offers complimentary shuttle to Dane County Regional Airport, (advanced reservations needed at least 72 hours prior to arrival) and local corporate offices.The Holiday Inn Express Deforest/Madison is convenient to major Madison destinations such as Camp Randall Stadium, UW Kohl Center, University of Wisconsin Madison Campus, Overture Center for the Arts, Olbrich Botanical Gardens, Madison Monona Terrace Convention Center, Dane County Expo Center, Alliant Energy Center. Located 30 minutes south of Wisconsin Dells, 15 minutes from Cascade Ski Hill, 30 minutes from Devils Head Ski Area.The Holiday Inn Express DeForest/Madison offers excellent guest service from a friendly staff of professionals. The entire hotel has recently been remodeled with beautiful guestroom furniture, including mattresses and box springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deforest (Madison Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deforest Hotel De Forest
Holiday Inn De Forest
De Forest Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing