We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Danbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Croix Casino Danbury
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Danbury
Pine City, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge for two nights. We have enjoyed it in the past but this time was terrible..The front desk screwed up on our check in,never gave us courtesy coupons until the following night when My husband had just happened to go out to the car and 8pm... she gave us coupons that had to be used up in 4 hours..... There were families camping out in the hallways, drunks coming in during the night yelling screaming at each other...alcohol...in hallways and the customer service was terrible....ON the plus side the food was delicious at the buffet...Next time we'll drive to the buffet and skip spending the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillie_the_Turtle, Marketing at St. Croix Casino Danbury, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to complete a review Jane. We regret to hear that your visit with us was not an enjoyable one. At St. Croix Casinos we are very serious about our guest’s satisfaction and work hard to resolve any complaints. I have forwarded your feedback to management to ensure they are aware of this matter. We deeply value your loyalty with St. Croix Casinos and we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    10
    4
    17
See reviews for
10
37
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed there under threat of a snowstorm, afraid to continue driving in the dark. We had our 3 and 4 year old children with us. The room was very nicely decorated, appeared clean, and was very spacious. However, we were near the elevators, and the hallways smell smoky and we heard some loud people in the hallways after 10 p.m. We took our children swimming, and the pool was the best part of the stay. It is a shallow pool that you walk into and only gradually gets deep (but is only 4 ft. deep), which is great for young children, and it is very warm. However, like many pools we visit at hotels, the chlorine was quite strong. We had breakfast in the restaurant in the morning, and it was good for a family (no frills). The buffet and arcade do not open until 10:00 a.m. That did not go over well for our children, as they need to eat earlier than that, and by the time we were done, we didn't have time to visit the arcade. My husband and I took turns visiting the gaming floor after the bedtime routine, and we probably should have skipped that part. We both enjoy playing slots and I spent $60 in less than a half hour, at minimum bet. If we return, it will be to swim and try out the arcade but no gambling here.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brooke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great hotel and awesome band! The rooms are very large and clean. They go the extra mile...newspaper every morning! The restaurant has EXCELLENT food and reasonably priced too! The machines though....are not what they used to be.. but we will be staying here again in the near future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLLthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Not to mention the tightest machines.
They all sounded like they were having a ball at the tables though (for about a half hour) then we saw many sad drunk losers leaving. By midnight, the tables were dead, the slots dry and tight, most everyone sitting at the bar, a few trying the slots. But, the slots were dead. This all on a Friday evening, before 1am. Many sad faces, and pretty angry people leaving. Parking lot pretty baron for a casino at 1 am. on a Friday.
Just too many losers I guess.
As for their rooms? Who knows. Most of their rooms are still the old part (unless you want to spend a bunch more for the new space) That's why I know these reviews are BS. No one would say the rooms) Or yeah buffet is great? NOT! I know, I live here, and the buffet is WAY too much $$$$$ for what you get. For one serving over is $14.00? For a casino buffet? They just jacked the price up, so locals can't eat there anymore. For two people to eat, it's $30.00? Screw that! You want that?
The rooms are way more then what you could get 6 miles south at the NEW Beautiful Log cabin design Holiday Inn (very nice)
So these reviews are BS if anyone says the casino is good!

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn in Siren instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iknowmyarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

WE had a company function in the area and decided to stay the night here, as it had been totally revamped. Not our best idea. One good thing, the room was very spacious and clean, props. However, the buffet was a joke. Although they did have crab legs, had to eat them mostly without butter, as it was hard to get.
There wasn't much else to speak of. The salad bar was bare as was the desert table. will not be going back there.
The bed in the room was one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in, the air conditioning was hot and cold.
Even though I know you loose your money the majority of times at a casino, this one was scary tight, if you could find a machine you wanted to play that is. Very small.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here for our anniversary and had a great time! My husband won the progressive jackpot 20 min after we walked in. Later that night, had a blast with the table games and my husband won $200 on another machine. Tight slots, I would say not! Afterall, that's why the call it gambling. The room was excellent. We had a regular room, but got a corner room so was bigger and Windows all around. Very clean and comfortable. Was a smoking room and didnt smell of smoke at all. Staff was very friendly. Didnt catch the buffet, but must be good since there was a 45 minute wait the next morning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindsayandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Had an awesome stay at a very nice hotel/casino. All of the employees were amazing! We were made to feel welcome and everyone was very attentive. Thank you to the management and staff for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the Executive or High Roller Suites. You'll be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danbury
15.5 mi away
Best Western Northwoods Lodge
14.8 mi away
The Lodge at Crooked Lake
17.7 mi away
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Grantsburg Inn
Grantsburg Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsburg
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to St. Croix Casino Danbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Croix Casino Danbury

Property: St. Croix Casino Danbury
Address: 30222 State Road 35 77, Danbury, WI 54830-9200
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Danbury
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us at St. Croix Casino Danbury! We've got your game! Whether your preference is slots, blackjack, roulette, craps or poker, St. Croix Casino Danbury has what you're looking for. St. Croix Casino Danbury. All new and waiting for you!Every stay at the St. Croix Casino Danbury Hotel is special. Our attached hotel has 47 standard rooms, standard suites, high roller suites and executive suites with second-story lofts. Guests also have the use of the hotel's deluxe indoor pool. The St. Croix Lodge, located about a block from the casino, is also still open for business. Complimentary shuttle service is available from the Lodge to the casino. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing