We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheridan House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheridan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cudahy
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice B&B atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This "boutique hotel" is really more like a slightly larger and more impersonal B&B. It's a historic building that consists of a large pretty bistro restaurant on the ground floor, a few guest rooms above the restaurant and a few more rooms outside, motel-style, surrounding the patio seating for the restaurant. There's a small fitness center in a building at the back of the patio, and a big parking lot for patrons across the street. The hotel faces a nice lakefront park across the street but unfortunately most of the rooms do not have park view and look out on the dining patio and surrounding residential area. Rooms are pretty quiet, but do get a little noise from the patio during busy restaurant times.

My room was in the main building and had strong free Wi-Fi (a big plus!) , in-room safe, bathrobes, flat screen TV, Bose radio and a fireplace. The rooms are nicely decorated with a "wines of the world" theme. Bathroom was very large, pretty, clean and new-looking, and all the fixtures worked very well. Usually in "historic hotels" there is something that looks old or needs fixing and often it's in the bathroom, but that was not the case here. Even all the multiple shower heads in the shower worked great and there was a diagram showing how to turn on which shower jet - much appreciated as it's a pain to have to twiddle knobs and have water come out unexpected places. The bedding and towels were excellent quality.

I ate in the restaurant several times. Food is very good bistro fare and prices are average to low by East Coast standards, probably a little high by Midwest standards. I got a 15 dollar gift card for the restaurant on check-in which was about enough for one free breakfast. You also can get one free cup of coffee or tea in the mornings if you're staying as a guest. The wait staff here are very young, seemed kind of inexperienced and occasionally the restaurant seemed short-staffed, but everybody was polite and making their best effort.

Check-in was a little weird since the front desk/ lobby is closed and locked most of the time, and upon arrival you have to ring for someone to let you in. I had a reservation, arrived at about 5 pm and it took about 10 minutes/ multiple rings of the doorbell before anyone came to the door. At one point I went around to the front restaurant door but the restaurant seemed to be dark even though it was during its posted opening hours. When someone finally answered the door, check-in was very efficient, but that was the last time I saw the front desk open during my stay of several days (including when I checked out), so this is definitely a place for self-sufficient guests.

Two things conspicuously missing from the room were a mini-fridge and an in-room coffeemaker. You can get coffee to go in the restaurant, but only during its open hours; they will also bring coffee to your room in the mornings but this requires some "special arrangements" and a 7 dollar a day fee. The guest information mentioned that Alterra coffee was available at all times in the fitness room; however I went in there early one morning before the restaurant opened, and all I found was a cold water dispenser and some packets of instant hot chocolate and tea - no coffee. Tried to make the instant hot chocolate but no hot water would come from the dispenser, so ended up with a cold cup and had to throw the whole thing out in the trash as there was no sink in there to dump it. No vending or soft drinks available either.

The neighborhood is generally well-kept, safe and walkable with lots of cute bungalows and the park nearby. (The Cudahy police HQ is also a block away.) Nice place to go for a stroll or a jog. However, you're better off bringing a car, since other than the Sheridan's restaurant (which is closed anywhere from one to three days of the week) and a couple of bars, there isn't anyplace within short walking distance to eat or buy necessities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnydots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
31
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sheridan's this past weekend and WOW! Everything about our mini vacation was perfect. We found no reason to leave the hotel all weekend. The main hotel sits above a bistro....with a full bar. Great food, fantastic wine selection. All of the staff was outgoing and friendly. Our overall experience couldn't have been better. We will definitely be back. Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GClounie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Let me tell you, I have stayed at Sheridan House several times now and every stay is better then the last. This little dimond in the rough is my go to place when i need a quite get away. You can just tell that this hotel is a labor of love for the owners. They have paid such attention to the details. I have never had suh a good nights sleep.The staff was wonderful! I cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrage to the luxury room. They have the best two person message tubs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Troy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

stayed at this hotel with several other couples attending a wedding. when we arrived our room had not been prepared. the owner knew we were all attending a wedding in Milwaukee and would need to check in, change clothes and get to the reception. We had to wait while a maid quickly cleaned. room was really dark, unwelcoming and pricey for the location.Food was okay, overpriced. next time we will stay downtown

Room Tip: find a brightly lit, sunny room, if you can. with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thereseb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The first time we dined at Sheridan's we were fairly impressed. One year on, and looking forward to going back there - we were very, very disappointed. Not only was the food poor value for money and nothing special at all (it is expensive for what it is) - but the service and management are surly and incredibly blasé. Not a happy atmosphere at all - and if we had wanted that sort of reception or attitude whilst dining - we would have gone to France. On the one occasion we had to speak to the Owner, she was inflexible and really didn't care at all. It is such a pity as this could be such a good place - but they really need to up their game and not take their custom for granted. We will never go back there again as it was a rip off with attitude - and in the words of Sweet Brown - "ain't nobody got time for that'! Jackie - USA traveler

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed on Friday and Saturday nights to decompress after a weeklong conference. The room was attractive and clean, furnishings very nice. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious wth a huge shower. Wonderful towels! The restaurant food was very good, and the bistro atmosphere was pleasant. Well worth a return visit..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed 1-11 and 1-12 in 2014 and had a wonderful time the room was fantastic and the food downstairs very good. Bed was wonderfully comfortable, bedding and sheets first class, robes in bathroom, hot tub is self sanitizing and worked beautifully. All the amenities are upscale, loved little details. Very very clean. Not recommended for handicap unless maybe you do the courtyard rooms. We stayed in the Champagne room, had a little trouble with our room key but the 15 minutes I was locked out of the room they pampered me in the dining room downstairs so no complaints.
Don't miss the packages either we used this one I pasted below... while it lasts makes a great value! Get the crispy salmon from the menu I loved it. Oh and the parking is free in their private lot across the little street ( Pulaski? Ave.)to the side of the building. Take your bike, there is a great trail along the lake shore that goes for miles in either direction along the lake shore in either direction, runners paradise.

PACKAGE INCLUDES:
~ 2-Night Stay in an Exquisite guestroom only $199!
(Upgrade to Luxury +$50)
~ $30 Sheridan’s Dinner Voucher
~ $10 Sheridan’s Brunch Voucher
~ Two Free General Admissions to the Rosebud or Times Theater!

Use Promo Code "BACK2013" when you book your stay online or call 414.747.9810.

Must book and stay before March 23, 2013 when offer expires. Cannot be combined with any other offer, discount or special. Other restrictions may apply. Rates are based on double occupancy.

Room Tip: Corner room above dining room, quiet but some street noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cudahy
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,391 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan House

Property: Sheridan House
Address: 5133 S Lake Dr, Cudahy, WI 53110-2005
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cudahy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cudahy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheridan House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep on a cloud and enjoy a tranquil night in the luxurious comfort of a Sheridan House guest room. Each with unique decor inspired by renowned wine making regions of the world. Every room has custom massage showers and a warm fire to cozy up to, or select an Luxury Guestroom and relax in a bubbling tub for two. Guests feel pampered as they surround themselves in luxurious Frette(R) hand-pressed linens, plush robes and towels. Be sure to visit Sheridan's, our on-site casual-gourmet cafe, serving Breakfast and lunch daily. Our scratch kitchen offers seasonal menus and our full cocktail and espresso bar features Milwaukee's own Valentine Coffee. Don't miss the Friday Fish Fry and Sunday Brunch - local favorites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sheridan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan House Hotel Cudahy
Sheridan Hotel Cudahy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing