We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Adventure”

Lost Creek Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located on the south shore of Lake Superior in the village of Cornucopia and adjacent to the Apostle Islands National Park. During the summer we have loads of KAYAK trips & rentals, STAND UP PADDLEBOARD lessons and rentals, and during the rest of the year we have FOLK SCHOOL and OUTDOOR SKILL courses and expeditions.Get outta town and visit us this year!
New York City, New York
1 review
“An Amazing Adventure”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I am new to paddling and my friend had some experience so we gave this place a try. It was amazing they catered to both our level of skills. The staff is friendly and helpful, the sea caves were spectacular! Thanks Lost Creek Adventure I am glad I found you see you again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. A lot of people ask us if our trips would fit their experience. We've found that over half of all of our guests have never paddled a kayak before so we try to meet the needs of novice paddlers, but also enjoy the challenge of coaching experienced paddlers to get to the next level.

Best,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    10
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corydon, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overloaded”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband booked our trip in advance. He did quite a lot of reviewing but did not locate anything that would have prepared him for the surprise when we arrived at the location. We were informed we had to carry 3 kayaks down to the beach. That didn't seem to be too much until you saw the stairs. There were13 of us plus 2 guides. The guides were very experienced, pleasant and concerned for our safety. Their training was excellent. As we were preparing to disembark on the trip we were informed that the trip would be cut short as all of the kayaks would have to be returned to the parking lot before dark. There were a total of 7 tandem and 1 single kayaks. up the stairs. We enjoyed the caves very much but the return trip was brutal. We paddled continuously for 3 miles. Our arms were very tired. Since it does take 4 people per kayak to carry them to the lot, 30 people for 1 trip each up the stairs. There are quite a few stairs plus a distance in the sand. In the first group to get to the top the young men left. All that remained were senior citizens and a couple of young girls. We were fortunate that there were no strokes, heart attacks or other serious injuries. My brother-in-law is 70 years old and has had knee surgery. He assisted with almost every kayak. We were very concerned for him later that night as he was in serious discomfort. It is a long way to any medical facilities. We feel that Lost Creek Adventures needs to revisit the need for additional staff to transport their equipment to and from the location before they are faced with a massive law suite and bad publicity. Most of us would pay the additional price incurred so that we would not feel obligated to assist the 2 guides who could not possibly have carried these kayaks alone. We would love to take your trip again but we are not slave labor at our own expense nor do we want to be in that much pain again. Let us know when you have a better system and we will book another trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments and concerns.

As a guide at Lost Creek Adventures, (as well as the owner) I know that carrying the boats can be a struggle for some, especially at the end of a trip. Though it may seem obvious to say, it is important that people know that outdoor adventure and kayaking does take effort. You will most likely be tired by the end of the trip, but hopefully exhilarated too!

Our most popular trip by far is the 1/2 day sea caves exploration because it is great for folks who have not had much paddling experience. (4 miles round trip) That being said wind and waves can happen, making the 2 mile trip back can feel more like 6!

When carrying boats we have 4 people carry each tandem kayak, which means participants end up carrying about 20lbs each, and if everyone chips in, you only need to do 2 trips. (Not 30)

But as I've mentioned in other comments, if you are not up to the task (physical disability or pre-existing injury) you can opt to carry a few paddles, or if unable to, then nothing at all and that is completely fine.

It is my hope that we don't exclude anyone by this practice in teamwork, but we choose to do so in order to keep prices at a reasonable level. We would have to almost double the cost of the trip if we were to hire people solely for the purpose of carrying the boats up the stairs at the beach. This just isn't feasible.

But for anyone reading this, please let us know if you have any concerns or physical limitations prior to booking your trip and we can help steer you in the right direction.

Sincerely,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth Mn
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Apostle Islands Sea Caves Exploration”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Six of us went on the sea cave 1/2 day tour with lost creek adventures. It was the first time in sea kayaks for all of us. It was a great time and the caves are something to see. Our guides were great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rivid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. Our team is happy to hear it!

Best,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Far exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A truly memorable experience. It was the highlight of our trip to the Apostle Islands and Bayfield, WI area. Outstanding outfitter with great staff and reasonable prices. Lost Creek Adventures caters to kayakers at all skill levels. We are in our 60's and it was my husband's first time kayaking. We are definitely going back again. So if you're headed to the Bayfield area this is absolutely "a must do" activity. BTW ... Terrific photo opportunities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MnBlueSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi Maxine,
Thank you so much. I'm glad that you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to seeing you again!

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Franken, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed our trip immensly!!! Kia was a very enjoyable guide and described so many points!
We took the Roman Point tour since we have a 4 yr old with us. Unbeliveable views of the sea caves!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank djammurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, Owner at Lost Creek Adventures, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you I'm glad that your trip went well. I really love the Romans Point Caves myself. It's more protected from wind and weather, but feels more remote in some ways than any of the other caves.

Take care,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Creek Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Lost Creek Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing