We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Cornucopia
Cuisines: American, Bar, Italian, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Here is the telephone number: 715-742-3941. There is also lodging at the Inn, but I wanted to write a review of the restaurant. The zip code for Cornucopia is 54827. The restaurant is open every evening, and on Sunday starting at noon. Here is the email from the brochure I picked up: cheryl@villageinncornucopia.com. The town is so small, I don't know if it really has an address; they apparently use the box number and phone number. Thanks. It is a great spot in a secluded place.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were expecting an amazing experience based on the reviews here and were unfortunately underwhelmed by our dinner. The dining room has a nice atmosphere and the service was friendly and prompt. We had the special and a white fish dinner - the special was ok and the whitefish was a bit better than ok.

The entire meal was colored by an overwhelmingly pervasive smell of sewage throughout the dining room - the smell was worst in the entrance way to the restaurant but was present throughout our meal. We were staying in a room upstairs so we needed to go to the restaurant a couple of times on three different days related to our reservations and the smell was in the restaurant and bar every time we went in there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluemulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

After Friday sunset kayak tour went here. Friday fish fry Lake Superior whitefish and seafood chowder not to be missed. I was 1 of 4r that did not have the fish, but I tasted it,yum it. So what I had was pork shanks saurerkraut, spaetzel, chowder and salad. Top notch, Cheap prices. Bonus Wader's Tiki Bar in back outside w free live music. Almost the tropic atmosphere, fun cover band for free.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffrey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My visit to the Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Love this place. It's right off of Lake Superior. The atmosphere is casual for restaurant and the bar, serves food as well, is just fun with the clientele as well as the folks running this gem. They have a Tiki bar with live music out side. Best off all if your lucky you can book a roo at there b&b upstairs. Defiantly stop if your in that area. It may become your new vaccination spot.

Absolutely love it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chatzipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena,IL
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good local ambience and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

This supper club features a nightly special and plenty of dishes that feature local trout and whitefish. We were there on "spaghetti night" and the half portion was very good with 5 meatballs and plenty of sausage. My husband really enjoyed his butternut squash ravioli with trout in a cream sauce. They start your dinner with a complimentary plate of spreadable cheese and crackers. All the entrees include a salad and soup. We had a great dinner for a reasonable price served by friendly and efficient servers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MLH828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornucopia, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fine supper club dining and South Shore specialties”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Village Inn is in the Wisconsin supper club tradition, with the relish tray, good wine list, cocktails, and fine desserts. If you'd rather have a beer, there's a good selection featuring South Shore Nut Brown on tap. Whitefish and lake trout are always on the menu. If you're coming from out of town, warm weather Fridays and Saturdays feature live music in Wader's Tiki Bar next door.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank NWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing