We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great getaway”

Review of Cliff Hangar

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Meppadi, Wayanad District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ceeni
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great getaway”
Reviewed December 25, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Getting together as an extended family, has been an annual feature that we look forward to..we the young,not so young,and the senior citizens. The Cliff Hangar stay this year provided us with an ideal environment to make our stay a dream come true.
The hosts pampered us in every possible way,catering to all our requests and preferences.Food was a temptation we all succumbed to gladly.
The rooms and their adjoining balconies provided a breathtaking view of the hills and green that enveloped us. The wind, the rustling of the leaves,the chirping of birds,put together a picture perfect.
Would be glad to visit again and laze away the hours in such a perfect ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datta_25
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing experience with Very good Kerala Food”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

During my previous visit to Cochin, I got to know about this service villa in Wayanad. I decided to take my family including parent for short break in the second visit to Kerala.
This property located in the mountains and surrounded by amazing view, it was bit hazy during most of the day however it seems we were located almost at cliff when viewing from terrace of the property.
When we explored property - rooms were neat, spacious and clean. Bathroom was also in good size considering each room has attached bathroom. This properly also has open areas for little kid to play.
Food - This is the best part of the stay. We mostly had veg. food kerala style. Every time new vegetables/curry were served and it was very tasty. Make sure to have kerala rice along with food for extra taste. Non-Veg food was also good.
Also Kitchen access was provided hence we could cook baby food. that was best part we don't get in Hotel.
I suggest people to go for 3-4 days break. Just to eat, relax, enjoy the surrounding and ....Bird chirping and Singing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food ...Both Veg and Non-Veg
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raskolnik...
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As good as they come”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

To say that this place was a lucky find would be far from the truth, because the word "lucky" just does not do justice to the opportune moment when this place was stumbled upon. Photographs these days can be highly misleading, and when we saw what Cliff Hanger had to offer, as mesmerized we were, there was also a hint of apprehension. But a glimpse of this breathtaking villa put all those apprehensions to rest.

Surrounded by lush green trees, in the midst of a dense forest, this is probably your best bet when it comes to losing yourself in nature. Four nice chic rooms, neatly maintained, with one cozy double bed and a wooden staircase leading to a single bed, reminiscent of that dormitory you once lived in, but ten times more adorable.

Brilliant rooms. Brilliant surroundings. But what hit the spot, and I shamelessly admit, was the food. You think you'd leave behind your gluttony ways in those noisy Barbecue nations and Punjabi by Natures. But that's not happening when the caretaker decides to feed you like his life depends on it. Delicacies of Kerala being unfurled one by one, each being consumed without any notions of table manners whatsoever.

The hosts were generous enough to light a bonfire for us as well, which came as a blessing in disguise since it had started to get colder. Yes, you got that right. In the month of May.

All the aforementioned should be enough driving force to pack your bags and head to Cliff Hanger, but if more incentives are required, here you go. That of the drive. You drive through the beautiful Bandipur forests to get to Wayanad, where spotting deer and elephants is bread and butter. Needless to say, the drive was an exhilarating one too.

What more can one ask for? Spell bounding forests. Classy villa. Impeccable rooms. Delectable food. The most courteous of hosts. And the most scenic of drives. My friends and I would like to take this opportunity to thank the hosts for providing us with such a wonderful experience at an affordable cost.

Cliff Hanger is calling, Where are you?!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There's no choosing one. Everything was perfect
Liked least: The directions to the property
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is not often that we get to read a review which is as beautifully written as yours. Reading it, gave us a deep sense of satisfaction for what we have created at SAAMs Cliff Hanger. Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience with a wider audience.

Yes, SAAMs Cliff Hanger is all about being yourself in the peaceful and calm surroundings, with like-minded people and a caring team which allows you your space and are still there for you.

We do look forward to having you back with us for yet another SAAMs Cliff Hanger experience.

Warm Regards,
Hari Warrier
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasikumar...
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Stay in the middle of a jungle”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place was amazing. We just stayed there for two nights. Doing nothing, totally mesmerized by the place surrounded by the jungle. Food was great and the hospitality enchanting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Special mention is made to the food. You can watch the mountainous surroundings as you indulge in the food
Liked least: nothing t
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the SAAMs Cliff Hanger, Rippon, Wayanad. Thank you for all your kind words and ever so much for taking the time to share your experience with a wider audience.

We do look forward to having you back with us for yet another SAAMs Cliff Hanger experience.

Warm Regards,
Hari Warrier
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing