We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find another place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avalon Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Chippewa Falls
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

First of all, my mother and I booked separate rooms here in advance. I got there first and checked in, then when she arrived a couple hours later, they checked her into the room I was already in. Her room key was deactivated Friday night because they "thought she had checked out", even though her reservation was until Saturday. Then to top it off, they charged my card for both rooms even though my mother paid separately. When I called them about it, all the manager said was that she didn't know who was working over the weekend, and it was probably because we had the same last name that everyone was confused. Long story short - if you have a common last name, be afraid, because apparently first names mean nothing to these people. Beds were uncomfortable, shower pressure and lighting in the bathroom is terrible. The attached restaurant is mediocre at best.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevnber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

My huband & I stopped in on our way to Minneapolis. We did not have a reservation & were serviced as a walk-in. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and accomdating. She was very efficient & got us a room, no problem! We chose a whirlpool suite, which had newly placed carpet in the room which was a plus! The spa was very nice, & worked great! The only couple of downers, initially the smell upon walking into the hotel is very strong, almost like old wood or something, which is fine, I dont sleep in the lobby anyways. Secondly, like I said, we had new carpet, which was great, bedding was clean, however the bathroom was quite dated with aged tile flooring and very dim lighting. Overall, the value was excellent and they offered free wi-fi. On a Friday evening we payed $130 for a suite. Nice to see places holding their own amonst hotel chains. Nice job Avalon! We'll be back if were ever in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieRNWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I would never stay again. We had barking dogs on both sides of us also we where at a wedding party and our 13 year old son was not allowed in the bar with everyone. The room itself smelled damp. On a good note the staff in the wedding reception area where great.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockon1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Avalon Hotel/Motel was nice. It is a 1 level Hotel/ motel which means you can get to your room through the hallways or by parking outside your room and entering from outside. Room was nice, clean and pretty spacious. It had a microwave, refrigerator , and table. The tv was the old type but had great picture and had a lot of channels compared to other chain hotels. It came with free pancakes in morning or $2 off breakfast at the Bridgewater Restaurant/Bar which was accessible from inside. Good restaurant; good prices and a lot of people coming in from outside the hotel to eat there; always a good sign. The pool and hot tub area was nice. This hotel is not fancy, but was nice. The staff was very nice and helpful

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Pros:
Great staff, clean rooms, pool, on-site restaurant w/ Leinenkrugel, complimentary breakfast, quiet. outside entrance

Cons:
Hard to find, no outside patio furniture, only certain items for breakfast, hotel website did not make reservation

Room Tip: Be sure to check which items are complimentary for breakfast. Don't confuse Avalon with the Cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

nice clean and friendly place. I stay there once a month on business trips and recommend it for any event. It has a restraunt and bar that's pretty good to. The wait staff and front desk clerks are more than courteous. I would recommend this to family or friends anytime of the day.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remseniowafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Wow! This place is run down and dirty! It smells horrible & musty. The mirror in my room is scotch.taped to the wall. There were skittles candy on the floor. NEVER will I stay here again. You couldn't renovate this place enough unless you burned the place down & started over.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rekspalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippewa Falls
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Chippewa Falls
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chippewa Falls
1.6 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Chippewa Falls, WI
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Chipp...
#4 of 10 in Chippewa Falls
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eau Claire North
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chippewa Falls
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 1009 W. Park Avenue, Chippewa Falls, WI 54729
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Chippewa Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Chippewa Falls
Price Range: $88 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Avalon Hotel & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HotelAvalon Hotel and Conference Center is a locally owned and operated hotel & conference center conveniently located in Chippewa Falls, WI, in west-central Wisconsin, within driving distance from Eau Claire, WI and Minneapolis, MN. Avalon Hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the Chippewa Valley Regional Airport (EAU). With 67 guest rooms ranging from Whirlpool Suites to Double Queen Bed Rooms, Avalon is the perfect place to stay for any occasion. Guest rooms are all located on the first level, with many having a parking stall conveniently outside your room. The Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Exercise Room, Game Room, Outdoor Patio, Room Service and Bridgewater Restaurant & Pub onsite will allow you and your guests to relax comfortably by having everything you need under one roof! The hotel guest rooms, restaurant, pub and conference center are all equipped with complimentary wireless high-speed internet capabilities. Whatever the occasion, you’ll love the convenience of the Avalon Hotel & Conference Center!Dining & EntertainmentBridgewater Restaurant & Pub is located on the same property as the Avalon Hotel & Conference Center. Being located on the same property gives you the flexibility to enjoy our restaurant dining experience, dinner and drinks in our sports bar or have world-class food delivered right to your room. The pub was remodeled in spring 2013; there isn’t a bad seat in the house! With 6 TV’s and seating for 260, Bridgewater is the perfect place for dinner and drinks with your sweetheart, colleagues, friends/family, or to just get away! Bridgewater is home to one of the Chippewa Valley’s best Bloody Mary’s, Burgers and Pizzas. Whatever the occasion, you’ll have fun at Bridgewater! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avalon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing