We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience Ever!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avalon Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Chippewa Falls
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I have never had a worse hotel experience in my life! The Avalon was awful. They charge way to much for their outdated rooms. The rooms did not smell fresh, not sure if our non-smoking room was at one time a smoking room! When we stayed there was a storm and the power went out, but was restored by about 7:30 a.m. We went to have our 'free' breakfast at 10:00 a.m and the kitchen was not running and they could not check us out. They said try back in about an hour. Finally we were able to check out and we said we didn't want to eat our 'free' breakfast and asked if they could give us some kind of a discount. They would not, so we ate at their restaurant. The breakfast was not free--it was $2 off a selection from the menu or eggs and toast. After waiting for 45 minutes we were served our awful breakfast. My eggs benedict yolks were totally hard. We waited 10 minutes for our bill that was wrong. We finally threw down some money and left. We will never return to the Avalon Hotel and Conference Center!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mondia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2010

Well, I cant believe that stay 2 coming all the way from Madison, the pool was out AGAIN! This is an ametity that they advertise. I had to call the front desk to report that their 5 feet marker read, 2 feet, LEAK. They did give me 10.00 off this time, last time, it was infected bacteria so closed. So I went out this a.m.to atleast use hottub and the hottub had no jets working...I must say, for the price, and the wonderful people working there, so what. The rooms were clean, food great at the restaurant and actually a nice place. They do need to renovate, doors to bathroom in room had fist through, walls marked up. Comfortable beds, QUIET, and I would recommend. They need to really update their pool/availability/hottub.....

Best to staff...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schnauzer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Pros:
* Had two rooms available on short notice.
* Showerheads were decent.
* Rooms had small kitchenettes. Fridge worked. (We didn't use other facilitities.)
* Free/discounted breakfast.
* Door opened to parking lot.
* One of the rooms had a flat screen TV.

Cons:
* Smoking rooms were converted to non-smoking rooms but still stank like smoke. Horrible stentch!
* Carpet was sticky, filthy, stained.
* Sofa and chairs were sticky, filthy, stained.
* Mattress/boxsprings were stained. (The boxspring in one of the rooms had yellow/brown stains on the side. Impossible to know if the stains were from humans or pets.)
* NIghtstands felt sticky.
* Air conditioners were noisy.

We were glad we weren't traveling with young children. We would not have let them walk on the floor or touch anything in the room.

We will not stay at this hotel again unless it undergoes major renovations and gets new beds and furniture. It was disgusting.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mom_MarketingExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the Avalon Hotel. The room was interesting because it had indoor hallway access and direct outdoor access on the other side of the room. This was nice because we were able to walk to the restaurant and pool without going outside, but we were also able to park right outside our door, it would be very nice if you were traveling with a pet.
You get what you pay for here. We paid $59 one night and $79 the second night. The carpet was stained and the room smelled like pet urine. The wallpaper was peeling, and the whole place desparately needed updating. The pool was so cloudy you could barely see the bottom. We were told that the hotel offered a hot breakfast. The hot breakfast is not a continental serve yourself option, rather it is a sit-down restaurant. We were given coupons for eggs and toast or pancakes at the restaurant, anything else costed extra.
The best part of the hotel were the bartenders Dylan and Patrick who made excellent Bloody Marys. Stay at the hotel across the parking lot and stop in at the Bridgewater Bar for some drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvMex828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We got a hotel rate of $144.90 a night and were there for 3 nights. We were unable to cancel a reservation unless you had a weeks notice. We also ended up paying for breakfast each day. The breakfast special allowed us to get $2.00 off the breakfast menu. There was no make your own waffles, fruit or cereal available to us. We felt for that if a person pays $144.90 a night, breakfast should be included for free. It is a higher priced rate than many other chains and they offer a full FREE breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadisonTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We stayed at the Avalon Hotel & Conference Center just last week. It was set back from the main road behind a Country Inn -- kind of easy to miss -- but glad we found it! The rooms were very clean. I could tell the bedding was relatively new -- and the beds were REALLY comfy!! We had a fridge in our room, which was so convenient b/c we were travelling with our two kids. We also ate at the restaurant on site. They had a wonderful breakfast buffet on Sunday morning -- and their menu had really good choices as well. Decor in the restaurant was classy & homey -- as was the lobby. My husband liked the flat panel tv's in the bar area. Overall, it was a great stay. We will definitely stay here again -- and I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WorldTravelMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippewa Falls
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Chippewa Falls
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chippewa Falls
1.6 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Chippewa Falls, WI
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Chipp...
#4 of 10 in Chippewa Falls
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eau Claire North
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chippewa Falls
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Eau Claire Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 1009 W. Park Avenue, Chippewa Falls, WI 54729
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Chippewa Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Chippewa Falls
Price Range: $88 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Avalon Hotel & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HotelAvalon Hotel and Conference Center is a locally owned and operated hotel & conference center conveniently located in Chippewa Falls, WI, in west-central Wisconsin, within driving distance from Eau Claire, WI and Minneapolis, MN. Avalon Hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the Chippewa Valley Regional Airport (EAU). With 67 guest rooms ranging from Whirlpool Suites to Double Queen Bed Rooms, Avalon is the perfect place to stay for any occasion. Guest rooms are all located on the first level, with many having a parking stall conveniently outside your room. The Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Exercise Room, Game Room, Outdoor Patio, Room Service and Bridgewater Restaurant & Pub onsite will allow you and your guests to relax comfortably by having everything you need under one roof! The hotel guest rooms, restaurant, pub and conference center are all equipped with complimentary wireless high-speed internet capabilities. Whatever the occasion, you’ll love the convenience of the Avalon Hotel & Conference Center!Dining & EntertainmentBridgewater Restaurant & Pub is located on the same property as the Avalon Hotel & Conference Center. Being located on the same property gives you the flexibility to enjoy our restaurant dining experience, dinner and drinks in our sports bar or have world-class food delivered right to your room. The pub was remodeled in spring 2013; there isn’t a bad seat in the house! With 6 TV’s and seating for 260, Bridgewater is the perfect place for dinner and drinks with your sweetheart, colleagues, friends/family, or to just get away! Bridgewater is home to one of the Chippewa Valley’s best Bloody Mary’s, Burgers and Pizzas. Whatever the occasion, you’ll have fun at Bridgewater! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avalon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing