We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "Go-To" Place”

Roepke's Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Chilton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tucked away in the beautiful Wisconsin countryside, Roepke’s Village Inn – Charlesburg has been family owned for over 40 years. The family carries on the tradition and upholds the standard of casual cozy atmosphere; friendly, caring staff; and fresh, top notch food. The supper club traces its roots back to the 19th century, when it was a tavern, hotel, store, and barbershop. The building has undergone many changes, but the attention to detail has not changed. Roepke’s is well-known for its famous salad bar with recipes that have been handed down over the years. There is a wide variety of fresh, handmade salads prepared in our kitchen by our culinary staff. We have guests that love to ‘make a meal’ of just the salad bar!!! The supper club has built its reputation on hand-cut, flavorful steaks; a range of fish and seafood selections; and a wide variety of specialty items. A few of our most popular specialties include a German Schnitzel entree; roast duck; prime rib; cashew chicken; BBQ ribs; cold water lobster; blackened salmon and of course the traditional Friday night fish fry. Take a short ride in the country to enjoy what everyone is talking about at Roepke’s Village Inn, located in the charming village of Charlesburg, Wisconsin.
Malone, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our "Go-To" Place”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Where should we go for dinner? Ah...Let's go to Roepke's! The food is always great; no surprises! Love it there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    15
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chilton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best kept country secret.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Best salad bar ever! This family owned business has got it together. Never a bad meal and expanded menu options should please even the pickiest of eaters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1_Villagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Supper Club Dining”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Roepkes is another fine restaurant in this area where there are so many good places to dine. The bar is huge and prices are reasonable. Service is great and there is never a long wait even when they're very busy. The menu is extensive and the salad bar is one of the best I've seen. Delicious food, friendly service, an all-around great place for anything from steaks to seafood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irishrovers973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The bartender was fantastic and knowledgeable of area golf courses. We ordered the NY Strip and the "cowboy" (bone in rib-eye). The flavor was excellent, but half of the cowboy was fatty waste. I would go back, but order the boneless rib eye for $3.00 less. The waiter we had was not very attentive, but the waitress on the other tables, came over to our table a few times and made up for it. We would go back, but would not order the cowboy again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TranquilSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
288 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Classic Wisconsin Supper Club”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Roepke's is a real find - an authentic, classic Wisconsin supper club - brandy old fashioned, prime rib on Saturday and fish fry on Friday, salad bar with the classic prepared salads, steaks, chops and broasted chicken. Well made and very reasonable for what you get.

While it's in the middle of nowhere, it can get really busy so plan ahead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KV-MKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roepke's Village Inn also viewed

 

Been to Roepke's Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing