We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another exceptional experience at Canoe Bay in the winter season”
Review of Canoe Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chetek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canoe Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2010

A great desitination for relaxation and serenity. Stayed three nights in the Hilltop cottage. Fantastic Spa/Bathroom with heated floors, steam shower, sauna, jaccuzi and excersize equipment. The cottage was meticulously designed and built. Extremely warm and relaxing environment to read, listen to music, wifi, while taking in the beautiful surroundings through large windows.

Food is fantastic and reasonably priced for the quality and service that accompanies it.
Loved the snowshoeing, well designed landscape, library, WIFI. Would improve on the TV reception (they should switch to DirecTV). Picture quality and channel selection are mediocre. Also, this is a highly questionable value overall. Regular pricing of the rooms/cottages is too high even at these service and luxury levels.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsquaredMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 252 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2009

We originally visited Canoe Bay in the autumn as a birthday celebration my husband planned, and I had little idea what to expect. We are new to a state that prides itself on its lake living and recreation, so I assumed it would be much like what my neighbors described to me as the time they spent at their cabins on lakes, but with none of the work.

I was so very wrong.

We stayed in Canoe Bay's Heavenly Suite -- aptly named. The suite's living room is elegant and exceptionally comfortable. And vying with the spacious, cushiony, feather- duvet-covered bed for the best feature of the bedroom is the fireplace, next to, and on the same level as the bed. The fireplace and the uplights around the suite make the nighttime environment very cozy and romantic.

We spent that weekend relaxing in the cabin and on the deck, touring the garden and looking around the charming library, sitting on the beach and eating the exquisite dinners the chef planned each night -- served by more accomplished and gracious servers than we've experienced anywhere in the country. Throughout the stay, service (and in a funny way other guests) was oddly invisible. We felt the time was perfect, just for us, and without flaw.

We had such a fantastic time on our first trip to Canoe Bay, we decided to forget Christmas presents for our small, grown family and went back to Canoe Bay for few days after Christmas, using two guest rooms in the same building. The resort was stunning in the snow, and again the service, the massages, the food --everything -- was exquisite.

It was the perfect way to spend the holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

This was our first time to Canoe Bay and thoroughly enjoyed our excursion from daily life. We only stayed one night, but would definitely go back again. The library is the most relaxing and peaceful room I've visited. The food and wine selection was top-notch. November is off-season and can only imagine how amazing it would be to visit during the summer to take advantage of the lake and activities. Hotel has a no-children policy, and this added to our serene escape since we have 6 children.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregorioOenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I Dream about being at Canoe Bay when I'm not there. :) Really; It is a slice of heaven.
The cabins are so comfortable, romantic and well equipped that it's easy to not want to leave them at all during your stay. -- However, the property is SO beautiful you'll definitely enjoy a walk on the trails, a trip to the library or even taking a canoe out. All of which are very convenient and a beautiful opportunity to enjoy nature.
The food & wine are a delight and we look forward to every meal. I highly recommend dining during your stay for all breakfast, lunch and dinners. Our meals have been so memorable over the years we STILL talk about them.
The staff is A+, Friendly, Welcoming, & Professional! :) Love it, Love it, Love it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We just experienced our 7th visit to Canoe Bay, and it was our best trip yet. As always, the beautiful surroundings were immaculate, the locally-sourced dining was seasonal and delicious, and the many amenities (library, DVD collection, fitness center, kayaks and walking trails) helped us leave all our daily stresses behind.

The most noticalble difference this year was in the service. While it's always been good, this year, the service was exceptional. Every employee we encountered sincerely wanted to make our stay better. They were never snooty or overbearing--instead, they were friendly and approachable yet laser-focused on our comfort. Another big difference for us this year was our stay in their exceptional Edgewood property. The architectural beauty was striking, and some of the best parts of our 3-day weekend were luxuriating in its seclusion. It's exceptionally well designed, and it provides a sense of complete privacy. We particularly enjoyed the Finnish sauna as well as the beautiful living room, where we tore through books from Canoe Bay's library in front of the fireplace.

It's hard to imagine what could have made this trip better. We can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetTMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

A beautiful setting for a first class resort; overall , a wonderful placed for peace and soliditude. But the experience comes at a price -- very price-y!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My wife and I scheduled a getaway weekend to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Having spent a number of hours online looking for THE special place, we stumbled across this hidden gem online...and in our own backyard! (Chetek is only 4-5 hours from Milwaukee).

We arrived at Canoe Bay a bit later than expected on a Friday evening and were greeted with a warm and inviting staff at the reception area who escorted us to our room - The Heavenly Suite, which is 1 of 2 rooms at the "inn". The Heavenly Suite was just that - An increibly peacful, elegant piece of heaven on Earth. I cannot even articulate the wonderous charm this room has to offer. The King Size bed overlooks one of the most beatiful and peaceful settings I could imagine.

Dinner at the Inn was equisite - No detail was left out. The service was impeccable and all 5 courses were outstanding.

Having been to a number of world-class luxury resorts, Canoe Bay is a must.

My only recommendation for anyone would be to make 100% sure you eat all of your dinners at the Inn. We searched high and low in the town of Chetek and nearby Rice Lake and found nothing short of old-school supper clubs and bar & grills to dine on our 2nd night, which unfortuantely stole some of the peace we had experienced.

We will be back for sure and highly recommend Canoe Bay to anyone who is looking for a piece of heaven!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianrkMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetek
15.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
7.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Chetek
14.7 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 8 in Rice Lake
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rice Lake
Show Prices

Been to Canoe Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canoe Bay

Address: W16065 Hogback Rd, RR 1, Box 28, Chetek, WI 54728-9457
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Chetek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetek
Price Range: $270 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort is for adults seeking seclusion and romance; children are not allowed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canoe Bay Chetek
Canoe Bay Hotel Chetek
Canoe Bay Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing