We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quaint B&B in lovely Cedarburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Whenever we're in the area we love to stay at this B&B. Each room is prettier than the next, full of character and very well maintained. Great rate for what is included - wine and cheese tasting in the evening, excellent continental breakfast in the a.m., including a hot dish, great assortment of breads, fruit and a few little extras! Staff is very friendly and the rooms are extremely clean - and I'm picky. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay and this B&B!! Can't say enough about it!

Room Tip: All rooms are very different and have their own unique qualities. Haven't found one I didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 744 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a pleasant overnight stay at this clean and well-maintained old hotel. The bed was comfortable but a bit soft, there were good reading lights and the large tiled shower with triple shower heads was quite an experience. The A/C was welcome on a hot afternoon but too cold to keep on. Thankfully we were able to adjust the temperature to suit ourselves. The afternoon cheese and wine hour and the morning breakfast were extensive and included numerous tasty options. There is limited comfy seating in the lobby and in one corner of the dining room. They have a refrigerator designated for guests' use which we used to store our perishable Wisconsin cheese and sausage souvenirs overnight. Not all restorations of old buildings are successful, but this one is.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Washington St which is very busy. It was quiet at night but traffic started up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziQ_fromAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The food & staff were awesome! Located right downtown, the location was perfect for exploring the surrounding area. My favorite was the homemade scones they served...delicious! Loved our stay and hope to come again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I often spend a special occasion at the Washington House because it is such a wonderful experience all the time. The interior is quaint cheerful and always clean. The employees are always helpful and polite. It was nice to relax after checkin with some wine and cheese downstairs with the other guests. The bed was very comfortable especially with it's many pillows, soft sheets and comforter. The large in room hot tub, big screen TV and fireplace are always some of the highlights of our visits as well as all the shopping in town. We felt like sleeping in so we had our breakfast brought up to our room. The home made scones and blueberry coffeecake were delicious. I am hoping to go back soon. It's just a great way to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petersons101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Everything from the comfortable bed, to the friendly staff, wine and cheese and wonderful breakfast, was amazing! Easy walk to the winery... take the tour!! We had a wonderful anniversary and can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandaSLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Shroeder house at Washington House Inn. We've been to Cedarburg many times but this was our first time at the Washington House Inn. The Inn is wonderful and the staff is great. We loved the breakfast which was a great selection. The rooms were remodeled wonderfully. They maintained their old fashioned charm with all new amenities. The whirlpool, fireplace and comfy bedding was fabulous. We would definitely stay there again. They have a punch card for stay 5 nights get one free!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Washington House Inn last weekend, and were wowed by the experience. I had booked a smaller room with a queen-sized bed (we got the John Weber room). It was on the second floor overlooking Main Street, and as an added bonus, we got to watch the Memorial Day parade from our room, gazing out over the cold, shivering parade-goers who were braving the rain. What a grand bit of Americana!

The wine and cheese reception was so much fun. We shared a table with another couple because all of the other tables were taken, and we soon became great friends (funny how wine works that way). The morning breakfast was also wonderful -- only in Wisconsin does Polish sausage seem like a logical addition to the morning meal!

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. The inn-keepers, and everyone we met were so nice. It was majical. We certainly will be back!

Room Tip: I loved the John Weber room simply for the fact that it looked out over Main Street. If you love bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedarburg
Walker's Point
The Iron Horse Hotel
The Iron Horse Hotel
#3 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
244 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington House Inn

Address: W62N573 Washington Ave, Cedarburg, WI 53012-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cedarburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Price Range: $163 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic side of Milwaukee at our unforgettable Cedarburg, WI Hotel, a Select Registry Property. This Cedarburg inn, built in 1886, features 34 rooms and suites with comfy beds, luxurious linens, whirlpool baths and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and an afternoon wine and cheese social that surpasses all other Cedarburg hotels. Don't miss out on a truly romantic Wisconsin getaway experience at our historic inn in Cedarburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Washington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington House Hotel Cedarburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing