We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Washington House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Certificate of Excellence
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our 5th or 6th stay at WH Inn. We've tried the full spectrum of rooms and found each to a good and unique experience.The staff is laid back but always accommodating and generous with it's helpful information.. The breakfasts are superb, the wine and cheese tasting intimate and the service personal friendly,efficient and unobtrusive.WH Inn is the perfect place for us to just relax - a home away from home without the weight of responsibilities. We keep coming back (for good reason)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    74
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
62
504
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wausau
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Washington House is a wonderful place to stay while enjoying Cedarburg. The staff is great, beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast and snacks. We have stayed here several times and have thoroughly enjoyed each stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob1561616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our stays at the Washington Inn have been wonderful. Walking distance to EVERYTHING, comfie bed, great TV, fabulous 3-head showers, delicious food, and beautiful rooms....could go on and on. There's even a sauna in the lower level...ask for a plush bathrobe! The wine and cheese get together in the afternoon and the bountiful breakfasts are just icing on the cake! We travel up on a Saturday, spend the night and return home on Sunday...yet, you feel as if you have been gone a week. Cedarburg and the Washington House Inn just spirit you away!!!! You get SO much for such a reasonable rate...that's our kind of value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Washington House Inn several times and it never disappoints! Location is perfect, since it is right on the main street running through Cedarburg. Rooms are wonderfully decorated, the staff very friendly and breakfast is scrumptious (usually 1 hot egg-type dish, lots of fruit choices, yogurt, cereals, a warm cobbler and the best scones we've had in years!) The afternoon wine gathering is also very nice. There is a choice of several types of wine, all from the Cedar Creek Winery in town, along with cheese and crackers. Really easy to choose a dinner restaurant, since there are plenty of menus in-house to look over and decide ahead of time. It's also right next door to a fantastic chocolate shop, where they sell huge chocolate or caramel covered apples. We always plan an overnight stop at the Washington House Inn whenever we are in this area. It's worth the half hour drive from Milwaukee, even if that is your destination. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick-and-Jan-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is our second stay at the WH inn. We stayed here about 22 yrs. ago for a weekend getaway and again this past Sept. for our 27th wedding anniversary. The 2nd visit was as pleasant as the first. The wine and cheese social was wonderful. We were able to sample wines from the Cedar creek winery and even shopped there the following day to pickup some of our favorites! Breakfast was delicious and soooo many choices. I loved the fresh fruit and yogurt buffet. My husband was especially fond of the fresh squeezed orange juice! The staff were friendly and helpful as were other guests staying at the Inn. Our lives are very busy and the Inn provided us with a wonderful relaxing stay. Our suite was tastefully decorated and the bed extremely comfortable. I have not slept so good in ages! We will definitely be visiting again within the year!
Elaine B.

Room Tip: Many different rooms to choose from depending on what your budget allows. You may want to go to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first 'small inn' experience and we will definitely be going back. Our room was beautiful with the stone walls and 4 post bed. We loved the small gestures from the staff that you just don't get at the large chain hotels. Breakfast was delicious both mornings we were there. We never made it to the wine and cheese reception in the evenings, but I'm sure we would have loved that also. We just loved the whole weekend. See you next fall!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chele15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The B&B was overall very nice. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. We stayed in room 214 which was featured on their website. Very lovely.
My biggest complaint was the noisy dining area. Breakfast was fairly good, but served in a dining room with crowded tables and an extremely noisy kitchen. I had asked the server if they could close off the kitchen door while we ate our breakfast. She was very annoyed with us and only closed it off for a short while. I must say, paying over $200.00 a night for a room and having to put up with this terriible racket in the dining room really annoyed me beyond belief! I told the Innkeeper about it and she literally blew me off explaining that they had such a small kitchen so close to the dining area and nothing could be done. Really, how about not crashing dishes around until the breakfast hour is over with and closing off the kitchen door!!!
It also would have been nice to have the servers come around with coffee refills so it wouldn't be so hard to manuver around a crowed dining room.
I probably would not go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedarburg
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington House Inn

Property: Washington House Inn
Address: W62 N573 Washington Avenue, Cedarburg, WI 53012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cedarburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cedarburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic side of Milwaukee at our unforgettable Cedarburg, WI Hotel, a Select Registry Property. This Cedarburg inn, built in 1886, features 34 rooms and suites with comfy beds, luxurious linens, whirlpool baths and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and an afternoon wine and cheese social that surpasses all other Cedarburg hotels. Don't miss out on a truly romantic Wisconsin getaway experience at our historic inn in Cedarburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington House Hotel Cedarburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing