We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Farmstead

Farmstead
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Cedarburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We went there on a busy Saturday night...right before Valentine's day. And we waited in the crowded little bar...

And we were never once put off. We were able to eventually grab a seat at the bar and had three drinks before dinner.

What was remarkable was the hostess remembered our names, despite there being numerous people in the establishment. Because of the extra long wait they comped us dessert. And the steaks were well worth the wait.

I would not recommend this restaurant for those with kids, or those who have something else to do that evening. But for a couple who wants to spend time together, have a couple drinks over stimulating conversation, and have a wonderfully done steak, this is the place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulStreiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    57
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very long wait for very mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Lots of hype about this place, wonder why. No reservations, have to wait 1-2 hours in the very crowded, noisy bar. My companion's steak was small, not particularly well-cooked or seasoned. My Caesar salad with chicken (this is not a place for vegetarians) was plentiful, although chicken slices were a bit rubbery and not very flavorful. We had a far better meal at a diner in Port Washington the next day, for half the price.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meyshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“make reservations if you can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very popular restaurant with great food and service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank daytripper2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

My son goes often when his boss treats the team for a great sales day. He suggested it as a place for a birthday treat. Well prepared food, Great service

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank MyHomeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal in Cedarburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

This was our best dinner experience in Cedarburg. The food was yummy and the service was friendly. While not located directly on the strip, it is only a 5 minute drive down the road.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank npier5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmstead also viewed

 
Thiensville, Mequon
 

Been to Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing