We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Very Nice”

Nelson Dewey State Park
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Cassville
Attraction details
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Small but Very Nice”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great views from the bluffs . . . seems like a good place to camp . . . lots of very nice picnic areas . . . a number of short hikes. Overall scenic and very nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Quiet, Wooded and Secluded...and TRAINS!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 2-night camping experience at Nelson Dewey and we were very pleased with the experience.

The park is very much "no frills" and is the little brother of nearby Wyalusing State Park. Both parks feature blufftop campsites with stellar views of the Mississippi River, but they make you work for it (it's worth it) at Nelson Dewey by offering 4 "cart-in" campsites.

The main campground features around 40 very nice car/trailer/camper sites that are nicely wooded. In my opinion, the best sites started at #32 and higher. There is a nice shower building that was well maintained.

The real gems of the park are the cart-in sites, however. The views and unmatched privacy make the extra work worth it.

There are 4 parking stalls and 4 dual-wheeled carts available at the top of the hill. The sites are strangely numbered/lettered. Site D is the shortest walk and offers the best views of the Mississippi and the surrounding bluffs. It does lack some privacy as everyone in the other 3 sites walk past and can pretty much see everything in the campsite. Sites A and B are next, and I'd put site B as the better of the two. A is completely exposed to passersby, but B is a longer hike downhill. The two sites are close to each other so some privacy is sacrificed.

We happily stayed in site C...which is the longest walk to-and-from your car, but the privacy is unmatched and the view of the river is stellar. Site C is a bit cramped, with a built-in retaining wall framing most of the campsite. All of these sites are more for a couples getaway versus a family weekend.

The only downfall of these sites are the (seemingly) nonstop Burlington-Northern freight trains that barrel past at all hours of the day and night along the river below. These suckers are flying at 55mph and are LOUD. Thankfully they only blow their horns when approaching Cassville, so the horns are not really an issue at the campsites. I actually found them to be rather soothing after awhile...

We will happily return! Book these cart-in sites early as they go fast 11 months in advance!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank ErikAustinWAXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Attending a wedding on a warm September afternoon was a most pleasant experience in this neatly kept park. When you get to the very top, you look across the Mississippi River to the bluffs of Iowa.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I went to Nelson Dewey in early spring with my boyfriend and we both had a really good time. It is a beautiful park with a few cute trails to walk and the staff was very friendly. There were humming birds everywhere (if you have a feeder to attract them). We camped right next to the walk-in campsites and we got to check those out before any else arrived and they were beautiful. If you have the chance try to get one of these sites, the view is spectacular.

The park is both clean and well kept especially the bathrooms, they were awesome! One of the big upsides of this park is that Cassville is so close (its like a 2 minutes drive from the park) that it made picking up groceries a breeze. Another plus was that there are other parks located close by to visit as well. We had a blast camping here and I would love to go back again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LC_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson Dewey State Park also viewed

 

Been to Nelson Dewey State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing