We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a beautiful place. It was spotlessly clean and very quiet. The innkeeper asked if we were coffee drinkers. We are, and he made sure we had plenty in the morning, outside our door in a lovely common area, at 7:30 as promised. There is also a K-cup coffeemaker available anytime. So coffee lovers, rejoice!

Because we stayed on a weekend, we were also treated to the full breakfast, delivered to our room at 9am. It was not only delicious but beautifully prepared and visually appealing as well.

Our suite was the Townsend, which has a lovely, large soaking tub (with bubble bath provided) along with a big, beautiful tiled shower with two big sunflower shower heads. The bed was large and comfortable and the pillows were just right. A small fridge in the room is handy for soda or wine (or if you have done any cheese shopping!)

We would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 124 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

We just returned home from a two day visit at one of the nicest Bed & Breakfast we have ever stayed at. My first thought when we walked in was "What a beautiful home." Everything just seemed to go together so well. The furniture, the wall colors, the carpets, everything. Our room was cozy and relaxing, and the bed, to die for. And breakfast? OMG! Absolutely delicious. A summer picnic right in our room. And our gracious hosts, Duke and Mary Jane, saw to our every need. We'll be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had such a lovely time staying with Duke and Mary Jane. Our room was beautiful and our breakfasts delicious. We really enjoyed our getaway out of the city and the wonderful hospitality of this romantic bed and breakfast!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Oscar Hanson Bed and Breakfast for a get away prior to Christmas. From the welcoming innkeepers to the beautiful room to the incredible breakfast, all were superb! Booking online was easy and everything was ready for us when we arrived. We appreciated having breakfast in our room as making small talk with others in the morning can be a fun experience, we preferred the intimacy of breakfast being served right at our door.
We hope to make a return trip as we truly enjoyed our time there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzypw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Are you looking for a great Bed & Breakfast? Look no further. This is the one for all the reasons listed in the other Trip Advisor reviews listed here. This was my first bed & breakfast experience and it was a good one.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hanson House is easy to book online, an easy drive from Chicago, and is the perfect romantic weekend get-away. My husband and I keep going back to Hanson House for many reasons, but one of the most important is that it is so relaxing and is a beautiful place to decompress and reconnect. Little Cambridge, WI is very charming, and is easily walkable in nice weather. Innkeepers Duke and Mary Jane are the best! They are thoughtful, welcoming, kind and they make out-of-this-world delicious breakfasts - delivered to your room in the morning! They are very attuned to dietary restrictions -especially gluten free, but they deliciously created a dairy free breakfast for me. Just let them know when you book that you have a special request, so that they can plan ahead. The inn is so lovely and intimate (and spotlessly clean!), with 4 beautiful guest rooms, a cozy common area, a relaxing wrap around porch, and a garden that is beautiful in any season. On our most recent visit, we stayed in Ana's room on the main floor for the first time. The view of the snow-covered garden was beautiful. The king bed was very comfortable, and I LOVE the dual-controlled mattress warmer and the gas fireplace. Additional features of Ana's room include a sink/vanity is located just outside of the bathroom, a whirlpool tub that fits two, a TV over the tub for watching while you soak, gorgeous views of the gardens, and a private entrance to the room. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ana's room is on the main floor, with a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We came to the Hanson House and were greeted by Duke and he was very thorough in explaining how they worked and where to find everything. Able to just relax and no pressure. Very comfortable bed and EXCELLENT breakfast brought to the room. Looking forward to coming back for more R&R. Booking online was very easy and they were very responsive with communications. All the amenities you would want for a romantic getaway either in the room or just outside. They are also very helpful concerning things to do in the area and given the proximity to Madison the choices are plentiful. Give it a try and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 303 E North St, Cambridge, WI 53523-8709
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $90 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanson House Weddings, a destination wedding venu is located in Cambridge, WI, a bedroom community of Madison. The home was built in 1883 as part of a dowry for James and Janet Townsend. After remodeling and restoring, we opened as a Bed & Breakfast 2005. Now after almost 10,000 reservations and 12 years in hospitality, we have retired as innkeepers to spend time to grow Hanson House Weddings. On Saturday's why not honeymoon with us after the ceremony? Two bridal suites are available. When you marry at Hanson House Weddings, you experience the best of both of us: my delight in seeing couples in love and Duke who believes life is better when you’re laughing. We have set a high bar for service so we hope you will let us know what we can do to make your wedding a day to remember Hanson House Weddings continues the long tradition of romance in this house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing