We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B for R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at this simply beautiful inn. Mary Jane and Duke were as gracious and welcoming as can be. They are exceptional hosts who are attentive and helpful without ever hovering. We took advantage of their local knowledge of the area as well as tapped into their biking expertise and had great time exploring on our bikes. As we were up and out early one morning, instead of breakfast, we came back to a wonderful afternoon treat. And our Sunday breakfast was the best meal we ate all weekend. Just delicious! While we are no newlyweds, we stayed in the Townsend room (exactly as it looks in the photos!). It was luxurious and romantic. Despite the drought this summer the gardens are beautiful,and we were even treated to freshly picked tomatoes! Our weekend was a wonderful blend of rest and realaxation as well as riding and romance all set at this exceptional inn.

Room Tip: Check out their website to see the individual specialty of each unique room. The bathtub in the Tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

The breakfast was amazing. Being a vegan they had a dish for me every morning and a meat dish for my wife. They pay attention to detail and I felt at home. I will come back again. The most memorable part is when we watched some of the DVDs. We loved the terminal and relaxed in the nice bedroom and had a great time. We felt had comfortable service and had our space as well.

Best inn keeper I have seen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and daughters recently stayed at the the Oscar H. Hanson House. We had a great time, the rooms, beds, and furnishings were terrific as was the Sunday breakfast. Duke and Mary Jane were terrific hosts. Despite the report in a prior review, I found the posted pictures quite accurate, taking into account our brutal upper Midwest summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

You can't ask for a nicer and more comfortable place to stay. Great food, cozy comfortable rooms and delicious breakfasts. Incredibly accommodating and the kindest, warmest innkeepers ever!!! We've stayed in many B & B's and this one is a keeper!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nursing4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Is it possible that after our 4th return visit to see Duke and Mary Jane it stil gets better and better and better? This B&B is truly world class. We look forward to our visit every year. The home is charming. A glass of wine on the porch in the evening. A spectacular three course breakfast served beautifully in the morning on the porch or in your room...which we'd never do because we'd miss meeting other guests and spending time with our amazing hosts!

We bike the rails to trails nearby. Lots of golf...inexpensive. 30 minutes to Madison and all the fun you can handle in a gorgeous city (yes, I'm a Badger alum!!!).

We've traveled the country and the world and always stay in B&B's. You will not have a more memorable and delightful visit.

Room Tip: We've now stayed in all the rooms. Each has a different charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgerbob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The photos on the website need updating because the place looks very different and run down so its somewhat dissappointing.
The bedroom was ok however the bathroom exhaust fan didn't work, the electrical outlets by the sink were not up to code, "no GFI, unsafe". No vanity space and the TV was terrible.
Lastly a personal item was tampered with so we will not be going back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke M, Owner at Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our B&B. We are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

Not only here, at the Hanson House B&B, but anywhere you stay you need to contact the owner the moment you have an issue, any of us would try to take care of the issue, to the best of our ability.

Let me assure you that there was no danger to you in the bathroom, the room is on a GFI circuit, and that outlet is the first one in the bathroom, it had the emergency flashlight plugged in it. The vent in the bathroom was not functioning because of a fault in the unit, and we are awaiting parts, which are on back order.

None of your items were tampered with. The room was cleaned while you were out, and items may have been moved in the process of cleaning and picking up your room. If you feel differently, please contact me – Duke, directly. I was the only one in your room, and did the cleaning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had a perfect experience at this B&B!! From the warm greeting to the nice visit when we left all was better than we expected. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Lots of little extras that made it a special visit.
We really enjoyed the touch of breakfast served in our room.

Room Tip: We had th eground floor room. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juldonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 303 E North St, Cambridge, WI 53523-8709
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $90 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanson House Weddings, a destination wedding venu is located in Cambridge, WI, a bedroom community of Madison. The home was built in 1883 as part of a dowry for James and Janet Townsend. After remodeling and restoring, we opened as a Bed & Breakfast 2005. Now after almost 10,000 reservations and 12 years in hospitality, we have retired as innkeepers to spend time to grow Hanson House Weddings. On Saturday's why not honeymoon with us after the ceremony? Two bridal suites are available. When you marry at Hanson House Weddings, you experience the best of both of us: my delight in seeing couples in love and Duke who believes life is better when you’re laughing. We have set a high bar for service so we hope you will let us know what we can do to make your wedding a day to remember Hanson House Weddings continues the long tradition of romance in this house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Oscar H. Hanson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing