We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Ripley Lodge Bed & Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Jefferson)
$63
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Edgerton)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
29
2
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
2
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful lakegrand roomadirondack chairsb and bcomfortable bedbike trailmadison
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 35 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2009

A few years ago my husband surprised me with a weekend stay at B&B he found in the WI B&B guide. We had our first stay at Lake Ripley Lodge and we were HOOKED. We have been there at least eight times in the last few years. Jim and Janice are WONDERFUL! Their hospitality is second to none and we are always greeted with hugs when we arrive. We've come to know them and stay in touch throughout the year. Lake Ripley Lodge appealed to us because it does not boast your "typical" B&B Victorian, frilly, lace, environment (no offense to those who enjoy those type of B&Bs). We wanted to enjoy the lake and stay somewhere comfortable. We always stay in the Lake Ripley Room. We like that we don't have to worry about being out of our room by a certain time-they don't bother you. If we ask for more towels, we receive them. If we need anything, we simply ask and they grant our request (as applicable). They are the only B&B in Cambridge ON the lake-which is awesome. We live around an hour away, and have a special needs child. Lake Ripley Lodge provides us with a get-a-way that is just far enough away should we need to return home for our son. The breakfasts are wonderful-our favorite is the Southwest Souffle with Jalapeno Cornbread muffins-delicious! Jim and Janice can tell you exactly where to go depending on what your appetite calls for. They always know about events happening and things that guests may be interested in. We enjoy the fishing and the sound of the water at night. Sitting on the pier is calming as well. Jim and Janice provide an environment where you can be involved as much as you'd like-and if you'd rather go off and do your own thing-thats ok too. We make it up there at least twice a year-and hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GuataMama06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Life is crazy. Hectic schedules, dealing with deadliines and the "real" world. When I need a place to get away and step back from it all, I never hesitate to come to the Lodge. This is my third stay this year, and I am never disappointed with the accommodations, the friendly confines, and the ability to kick back and relax in an unpretentious environment. Jan and Jim welcome you from the start and have figured out how to provide a setting where you can engage as much as you choose. I love it - as does my family. Did I mention the breakfasts?

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ValueYourTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

This is the second time I've stayed at Lake Ripley Lodge B&B, and both times have been wonderful. Jim and Janice are great hosts and provide a comfortable stay. My room was quiet and peaceful. Breakfast is always a treat.

I've been there twice with family. The first time there were 10 of us, and this last weekend, five of us stayed there. We had several special requests--inviting family to visit, hosting guests on the great front porch, inviting friends and family to breakfast, showing up late on Saturday night--all of them were accommodated.

I've stayed in many hotels and B&B's, and I've found none friendlier or more accommodating. I can hardly wait to return to Cambridge and Lake Ripley.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug-roams-the-world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

We are sorry to score lower then previous reviews but feel we must report our own experience and you can draw your own conclusions from that.
We arrived at 3.00 o’clock and were told to come back at 4.00 as we were an hour early. There was no offer of sitting in the lounge but still we were early!
We had experienced a problem with the road toll fees around Chicago and asked if they would kindly check on the internet to see if we could pay these fees via the internet. We were told that they were too busy to do it now but to ask the next day which we did and received the same reply, so we gave up on this one.
We were staying four nights in the garden room this is two bed rooms joined by a bath room. We were asked the next morning when we wanted the bed linen and towels changed. Being reasonable people we said half way through our stay. We were then informed that they do not visit the room during our stay except to change linen and towels. This means that on other days the beds were not made and bins not empted, the room was therefore exactly as you left it in the morning. When the linen and towels were replaced the room itself was not cleaned nor the bathroom attended too and no cleaning facilities to do it yourself. For us when we have had a busy day touring it is lovely to return to a refreshed room, this was not the case. We believe that this policy should be made clear when you book or at least have the option to have your room serviced or not. We have travelled extensively in the USA and Europe and have NEVER been told that the room will not be serviced, maybe it’s the way it’s done in Wisconsin but not for us. You might as well except for breakfast self-cater. If you are staying for one night it makes no difference.
The condition of the furniture in our room went from good to something we would put in a tip but with a covering over it to disguise it (see photo). The towels were a mismatch and one was stained so we did not use it (see photo). There were only four coat hangers but more were supplied when asked. There was no alarm clock; again this was supplied when asked. We could not find the fridge in the room as per web page, there was one on the landing but not plugged in.
On a positive note we would agree with other visitors that the location is great and the breakfast was very good. Don’t forget if you want a TV you must pre-book as per web page as there is only one portable to go around.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thisisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

This Bed and Breakfast Lodge is an absolute delight. The hosts Jim and Janice were so helpful they really have the balance right between engaging their guests and leaving them to relax. The atmosphere of this place is just so relaxing and calming. It overlooks the beautiful lake.

The rooms were immaculately clean as was the shower room. The bed was comfortable. The guests have use of a lounge are and the rocking chairs on the porch. we also enjoyed walking on the private jetty to the little bench where you could sit and watch the water.

Free internet connection was provided.

I wish we had booked two nights on our touring journey.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank youdontknowmeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews