We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Fun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caledonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

All the other reviewers are right on target! This is a very nice campground with updated bath houses. Clean campground & very friendly & helpful staff! The wrist band was a little extreme - $7.00 per person per day (family of 6 for 4 days - extra $168.00!) However, this fee includes: Splash pad (with water bucket), decent size pool, waterslide, water wars, laser tag, mini golf, 2 parks & jumping pillow, plus some daily activities. There are extra charges for certain activities...which is the same with any campground.

Very close to Milkwaukee, plus near to stores as well (about 3 miles away). Also great campground to visit Great Lakes Dragstrip, Milwaukee, Harley Davidson, Jelly Belly Factory (be sure to take this tour during the week - so you can see the workers, instead of a video).

Also, I did not hear any planes (as someone else posted), but I could hear the train off in the distance...but it was never bothersome...and since it is also close the highway, sometimes you could hear either the semi-trucks or motorcycles...if you are a light sleeper, it may cause you problems...but I slept wonderfully!

Will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NitaStack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    30
    9
    11
    8
See reviews for
69
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Jellystone Caledonia the week of the Fourth of July 2012. We have a motor home and found the spots for them to be somewhat close together. Plus, our fire ring was to the side and behind our spot which made it very inconvenient as we were closer to our neighbor's spot than our own.

It was extremely hot the week we were there and I heard numerous complaints from different campers that breakers kept flipping. One person was quite concerned because he and his neighbor bith had two dogs in their campers and were afraid to leave in fear that the power would go out yet again. The person at the campground office replied by saying, "what do you want me to do about it?". I was in the office at that time and heard the whole conversation. It's also to be noted that the campground was not completely full. There were many open spots, so I can't imagine what would happen if it were full.

The jumping pillow was filthy! I have been to places with jumping pillows before, and have never seen one this disgusting. There is sand all around it, which I have also seen before without this problem. It was like this the entire time we were there, so obviously it was never hosed off or cleaned.

The pool was disgusting. You could not see your feet and the deepest part was just over 4 foot! There must have been a problem with the filtration system because we also saw hair in it more than a few times.

The Ranger Station is where you can buy souvenirs, camp essentials, redeem game room tickets, and where You can get hand-dipped ice cream and coffee drinks, get your golf club/ball for mini golf, etc. With all that going on, you would think they would staff more than one person in the Ranger Station. Not so. At least not on weekdays, and during a busy holiday week, it was quite frustrating.

The game room is small and had a few games that were not functioning. My daughter played a game where you get a gumball, and just before the gumball came out, we noticed a moth flying around INSIDE the machine.

One of the activities for kids was peanut butter mosaics. They actually smeared peanut butter on the kids' arms and gave them Goldfish crackers to stick to it. Really??!!

On the up side, the staff was friendly and my husband and daughter both loved the new waterslide.

We will definitely try another Jellystone in the future, but it will not be this one.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank 66wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Deluxe cabins were very clean, air conditioned, perfect for small family. Screened-in porch was perfect with ceiling fan!! Lots of activities for the kids, swimming pool was a bit crowded but that was due to the heat we had. The service was good; wish there was a bit more "patrol" by the park staff to ensure others campers were abiding by the rules. the kids activities were a bit rushed...would suggest having a "crafting cabin" where ppl could come and go to do activities as they please and not be restricted to certain activities at certain hours. The mini golf course and pedal carts need to be better maintained. Other than that, great campground! We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2011danda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Love this campground! The people that work here are so friendly! Bathrooms were clean and updated. They had wo very nice playgrounds and a jumping pillow. We stayed at site #2... a pull through site that was very nice. Just enough trees to be private. My 6 year old loved the activities that they had to offer and there water park was a great deal of fun. We played mini golf... but never got around to the laser tag... we will do that next time! They had a dance night too which we enjoyed. A+ on this campground. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cherie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is by far my favorite site. The staff is extremely friendly. The facility is neat and clean and very will maintained. There is plenty of stuff to do for kids. The sites have plenty of trees. All in all this is a wonderful place to get away to. I will definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

There is a lot of stuff for the kids to do at this campground, laser tag, a large pool with slides, a bouncing pillow, etc. The grounds were very well maintained and extremely clean. The showers and toilets were wonderful. If you are looking to go camping but still have some modern conviences like running water and electricity when you put your feet up next to the fire then this is the place for you. If you want super rustic where your kids will be eaten by a bear then maybe you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

In general I found the tripadvisor reviews of properties to be very accurate. We were therefore very surprised that none of the reviews of the Jellystone Caledonia campground even mentioned the noise from passing planes (the campground is right in front of the airstrip of Milwaukee international airport and the planes come over very low) and trains (which blow their horns as early as 5 am). True the amenities of the park are a blast for the kids (our 5 year old wants to go back next weekend again), but for the grown ups not much more is left than to load up on the Miller or Bud lite, so you can sleep at night (and that's what a lot of people do...). We would go back to another Jellystone though, but not one that's right in front of an airstrip.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Feek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caledonia
Value Inn Motel
#8 of 8 in Oak Creek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort

Property: Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort
Address: 8425 State Road 38, Caledonia, WI 53108-9608
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Caledonia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Caledonia
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly campground with various different accommodations such as no hook up tent sites, water/electric sites, full service sites, premium sites, and 3 different types of cabin rentals. Amenities offered at the park vary depending on the camping season, be it spring, summer or fall. Amenities offered are: laser tag, mini golf, archery, an air jumping pillow, swimming pool, splash pad, 2 large water slides, water wars, 2 playgrounds, volleyball and basketball courts, horseshoes, catch and release fishing pond,arcade, outdoor movie theater, and scheduled children's activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Campground Hotel Caledonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing