We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average”

Garmisch USA Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Cable
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than average”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Friendly wait staff. A great tenderloin sandwich in their Bierstube. The veal the 2nd night in the dining room was lukewarm. Good selection of wines and local microbrews. Good value.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jetagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    23
    15
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cable, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonder Atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

It is a beautiful setting overlooking a lake and a very unique building reminiscent of the European Garmish. There is variety on the menu and some excellent German dishes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Keeps Getting Better”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My first time at Garmisch was lovely. This time, even better. The food tasted great, the staff was friendly, and the atmosphere lovely. I love that the restaurant is actually on Lake Namekagon and that the German menu options make it different from the standard Northwoods Friday Night Fish Fry. That said, if you're in the mood for some plain old meat and potatoes, you can be confident knowing you'll get what you ordered and have it taste great.

I must admit I'm surprised this restaurant ranks below the Rookery. Having dined at both, I'd most certainly choose this place over the Rookery every time. Better atmosphere, more variety, more authentic, and more people all around. I'll definitely make my way back there again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthernWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great food”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

if you like german food you will love garmisch .views are great of lake namakagon service is attentive just all around enjoyable

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank vamchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food, tucked away in the northwoods”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went there on Sept. 1, 2012. Ate the Norwegian salmon with some tasty sauce on it along with the German potato cakes.....both very good. The dessert was some Bavarian cream thing which was good. The service and atmosphere were great. I love seafood and my husband likes German food, so this was a great place to go. We have a cabin that is 35 miles away and the restaurant choices are pretty limited up there. This place was worth the extra drive and although it was a holiday weekend, it was great (not crazy busy). It was busy and we did have an early reservation. I would definitely go there again. I would like to stay there sometime, but most of the cabins were for large groups and I don't have a large group I want to go there with. The lake was beautiful. It looked like a great place for couples or families.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smartymartyMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garmisch USA Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing