We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”

Garmisch USA Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Cable
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We didn't stay at Garmisch, but were at a nearby resort. Went there for lunch and had a great meal with even better service. Cricket who was our waitress was excellent. Very prompt, polite, cute :) and seemed very natural helping us.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    23
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant with solid food and beautiful views”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Garmisch is located on the beautiful Namakagon and is a quaint spot that has a lot of history and charm. The food is solid, especially the steak. The shrimp done scampi-style was good, though a few of the shrimp were a bit over cooked. The service was friendly and the beauty of the location makes it a worthwhile stop.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenZB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must have been an off night”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had reservations and had to wait 1 1/2 hours to be seated. Once we ordered the food it took another 1/2 hour to come to the table. I had ordered a filet and prime rib was brought to me at the table. the waitress asked if I wanted her to take it back and I mentioned that if I had to wait another 1/2 hour I'd just prefer to eat the prime rib. We had a table of 10 and most were not satisfied with the dinner. The waitress came back and told me they would provide me with a dessert but when it came time to order she forget that she offered. All in all, a poor dining experience. It was the Saturday night after the 4th of July and it was swamped and I believe it was just an off night. The resort is beautiful and worth a trip, i'd just pick a less busy time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago 'burbs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite Northwoods place to eat”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is always my choice for dinner when I visit my parents -- it's so rare these days to find good German food anywhere and Garmish is the tops of German food.

The ambiance is wonderful... especially late in the evening as ths sun sets.

Garmish is a tops with us!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley9962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The food and service were excellent! The atmosphere was wonderful as well.”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Christmas decorations adorned the exterior. It was a beautiful sight at night. Carols played quietly outside as well, making me feel like a child in a wonderland. The food was awesome, and the staff was friendly. I will recommend this place over and over again!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garmisch USA Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Garmisch USA Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing