We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They are Trying”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cable
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Telemark Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“They are Trying”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have been going to Telemark during the opening of deer season for years. Friends have a time share and were forced to an adjacent building when Telemark closed a few years ago. With Telemark re-opening, I am not sure what the condo status is. They appear to be doing a lot a work to the building and grounds. We ate at the restaurant on Thursday and Friday. The food was good and the staff was great. I just hope whoever manages the restaurant gets a clue. The burgers were great on Thursday. No one was there and had great service. Friday fish fry was a different story. It was early when we arrived and they had run out of cod, cole slaw, and ketchup! Even a popular beer was out. There wasn't a big crowd. We had walleye and it was very good. Hope they do well. Nice place with potential.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wispr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
19
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed there about a month ago and had a great room, nice balcony, awesome dinner (walleye) and very friendly staff. We ended up sitting in the bar with some of them after dinner and everyone was so friendly. We were there for two nights (Sunday & Monday) and the bar/restaurant wasn't open on Monday's so we went to another place with an amazing view (recommended by someone who worked there). The Forest Ridges golf course (Lakewoods) is my favorite but Telemark's golf course is nice/fun also. They had a scramble or something on Sunday so we played Forest Ridges. Wish they were on the lake but other than that, a great place for the money in my opinion! It was probably our 4th or 5th stay up there and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: I asked for a room on the back side (not facing the parking lot) and it was spacious and very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadeWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I Stayed here twice this fall. The first time there were pubic hairs in the shower. The whole place looks like a 60's time warp hotel. The carpets throughout the halls were nasty, dirty and stained.
The staff was really helpful and friendly, they were the high point of the stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kojee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed here while running the Birkebeiner marathon trail race. The hotel is old and showing its age. But it's clean and comfortable. The best part is its location to the finish line for races on the trail. Rooms are large and have balconies. The bathroom in my room was recently redone and nice, though basic. The rooms are somewhat tired, with old sheets and carpet and old TVs. The pool and hot tub are old, but well maintained. If you are looking for a place to rest, it does the job. But if you're looking for luxury, this isn't the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pokey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I just opened a package that came in the mail today and it was my daughter's swimsuit with a note on it that it came from room #214. I looked at the envelope and it said it was from the Telemark lodge, where we stayed a night last week. I had no idea we left it behind! How nice is that???!!!

We enjoyed our one-night stay after Lake Owen Gymnastics camp. Quiet, nice room temp, comfy bed, nice pool, good restaurant and if we had my son along with us, he really would have enjoyed all of the video games, ping pong, etc that were around the hotel.

I love the rustic decor...we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We exchanged into a condo in the 1700 Christina condos in June 2011. The Resort/hotel portion just sold, and they are supposed to be updated things. We just needed a place to stay, because we came to fish. The check in process through the condo association was good. The managers were very friendly and helpful. You are only allowed 1 parking spot by your unit, but there is a parking lot down the road. We didnt have problems there. Our unit was decent, clean, everything worked. It is not as new and fancy as some condos, but it was nice. Had a screened porch, large bathroom with soaps, nice space. We had a 1 bedroom with a kitchenette. Small refridgerator. Adequate. It would be a nice place to stay if riding ATV's, snowmobiles, skiing, fishing, etc. Wildlife was abundant. Saw a bear cub run across the road coming in. Large adult bear right by the condos, so keep your distance, and stay away from cubs. Dont feed them. dah! Black bears are generally shy, unless they have cubs or something is wrong. I was able to get a photo, but I had zoomed in on it. So not too close. We came around the corner, and he was there. Looked at us like he didnt care, and walked away. If he wanted to eat me, I'm sure he would have. Keep food inside. Just use common sense. Nothing to be scared of. We also saw fox, deer, racoons. Peaceful, quiet, for people who love the outdoors.
We fished Lake Namekagon-decent smallmouth and largemouth, bluegill. Lots of water to cover.
Restuarant in resort was ok, good bar food, casual. Other options in area. Evergreen bar down the road has good pizza and cold beer. Another bar on corner in Cable doesn't serve food, but were friendly. Lakewoods on Namekagon was not that great. Greasy, burnt bun was nasty; otherwise fries were good.
Pool was open inside resort, large hot tub too. Chemicals were strong, sand and dirt in bottom of hot tub-needed cleaning! Outdoor pool they were powerwashing or fixing. Don't know when they will open it. Saw only a couple of workers renovating or maintaining. Don't know if they actually started yet, as it just sold.
Ski hill hasn't been operating since 1995. There is a gold course we didn't play. We played a game of mini golf. 18 holes, most of it was boring, could fix up with more bells and whistles. About a block walk from the condo to resort, restuarant, mini golf, pool. I think there was internet connection available in the lounge? Didnt use. Could bring laptop.
Overall, I would rate this place a 3 1/2 stars. It is comfortable for a place to stay or exchange into, but it lacks the amenities of a 4-5 star resort. It may change since they sold it.

Room Tip: condo units are assigned when reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tofdel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed here about 5 years and had a great time. We stayed in one of the off site condos, as we did this time. The main lodge was hopping with activities, the pool etc. Enjoyed the huge fireplace. The tubing, sledding and the snowmobiling trails were great. The disappointment this time was that we were not informed of the lodge and all the activities were closed. My grandsons were looking forward to the tubing and pool. When I talked to the manager, Marge, when we arrived, she said she had told me of the closing when she called me. Well, that was only a FEW days before. The units are clean, but need alot of updating. We would of probably chosen a different place to stay if we would of known of the lodge being closed. Very disappointing!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gbhaircutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable
17.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
17.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 14 in Hayward
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cable Nature Lodge
Cable Nature Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Lakewoods Resort
Lakewoods Resort
#2 of 3 in Cable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
17.2 mi away
Mallards Landing
Mallards Landing
#16 of 35 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
18.4 mi away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#12 of 14 in Hayward
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telemark Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telemark Resort & Convention Center

Property: Telemark Resort & Convention Center
Address: 42225 Telemark Rd, Cable, WI 54821-4974 (Formerly Telemark Lodge)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of hospitality, the staff of Telemark Resort & Convention Center extends a warm welcome to you. We are dedicated to providing you with services and accommodations that are beyond compare. When you choose Telemark Resort & Convention Center we want your stay with us to be relaxing and exceed every expectation.Lifestyle abounds at Telemark Resort & Convention Center with something for everyone. With miles of biking, hiking and ski trails, fishing and golf, to endless events and activities, the resort and surrounding area will keep you busy. If you desire a quieter setting, enjoy a book in front of our magnificent field stone fireplace or peaceful pond.Telemark Resort and Convention Center is the largest meeting and recreation destination in Northwestern Wisconsin. We are located right next to the vast Chequamegon National Forest, just 3.5 hours from the Twin Cities, 5 hours from Green Bay and 7.5 hours from Chicago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telemark Hotel Cable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing