We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for sledding”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lakewoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakewoods Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Iron River WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location for sledding”
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Have stayed there for 10 years with our group. The front desk people could use communication within themselves. The bar people, Laurie, Carrie and Tom are the greatest. As before, my dog was very welcomed and loves staying there too.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fawnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    21
    20
    20
    26
See reviews for
54
27
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

sheets smelled like mens cologne, not changed, coffee maker didnt work. had 5 nights reserved, canceled 3 nights after found out no cell service anywhere, owners had attitude with cancellation, after we canceled, they werent nice to us at all. ended up charging us extra $17.00 cause we canceled, e-mailed them to try to get money back cause of nasty sheets, would not respond back. in the boonies, could have told us no cell service. dont stay here!!!! only if you want to sleep in a bed that god knows who has slept before !!! discusting!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cable hotels

chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Been staying here for past 10 plus years and the cost has just gotten out of sight for the area. Look at staying other places that are much more reasonable with better facilities. Area is pretty but there are a lot more places nicer and less expensive

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flipper7421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakewoodsFamily, Owner at Lakewoods Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
In 2005 our rates for a lake view lodge room was $99, our 2010 rate for the same room is $109, a less than 10% increase in five years. For a 2 bedroom condominium including full kitchen and fireplace the rate in 2005 was $250 and in 2010 $275, a 9% increase. While we have not increased our rates the past two years due to the state of the economy, I can agree with the reviewer that there are other accommodations in the area which are cheaper than us. However, we are the only full service resort in the area which features complete resort amenities including tennis courts, marina, indoor/outdoor pools, golf course, recreation program and restaurant onsite. If you only need a room, other places are available. If you are looking for a family owned, complete northwoods resort experience, Lakewoods has everything you’re looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We recently came back from a large family gathering (24 adults/teens; 16 children under 10) at the Lakewoods Resort. This was our first time at this resort and found that the accommodations we enough for all our needs. Although some of the staff could be a bit on the rough side, as others in our group had some issues, I personally had a good experience with everyone.

We rented a boat for the week, but there was confusion as the boat was rented to another group. I was little disappointed in this since I had made the reservation for the boat about 3 months prior to our arrival. They did give us another boat at a reduced rate.

We enjoyed the fact that the restaurant was able to cater to our needs when we wanted. Most nights we cooked our own food, but we were accommodated nicely when we wanted to dine in the restaurant. They even brought out tables for us to dine on during the week in front of our cabins.

The complaints that we had were that our cabin wasn't completely clean, as were the balconies. Some of us had nuts and stuff left on the porch and in ash trays on the decks and we had hair in the tub and the bed that we slept on had a double mattress pad and fitted sheet, on a queen sized bed. We did get another one and that alleviated the problem.

We enjoyed the outdoor pools, indoor pool and the beach all week long. There were some evening and daytime activities such as tie dying and smores nights, but it seemed as if these people didn't want to be there.

It's really out in the middle of the woods on Lake Namakagon and we did take advantage of the fishing, several walleyes were caught and a few panfish and couple northerns. None off the shore.

Another complaint from one of our group members was that there was a lot of teenagers in the outdoor pool which should've closed by 8pm, but at 1am they were loud and screaming. When they called the front desk the bartender answered and she said that she's the only one there and that she couldn't do anything about it. Her suggestion was to find the teens' cabins and get up at 6 in the morning to make a lot of noise in front of their cabin. This was completely ridiculous and a complaint was made to the owner about what took place. They said they would talk to her about it and that she should've called the night manager. These teens seemed to have come from somewhere else as they were not seen the rest of the week.

Overall, this was a nice relaxing week with the whole family and most of us had a good time and enjoyed the amenities at Lakewoods.

  • Liked — Accommodations, Dining Options
  • Disliked — Abruptness of some employees
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MuskieRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISCONSIN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Our family has been staying at Lakewoods Resort in Cable, WI for our Christmas celebration for the past 5 years. One week-end it’s my husband’s relatives and the next it’s for mine. The first 3 years we rented Snow’d Inn, both the upper and lower units and this unit has been exceptional. The unit boasts (6) bathrooms, (6) bedrooms and (10) beds. There are (2) full kitchens and a very large dining and living room, and amazing views. The owner’s of the resort have provide us with a live Christmas tree that we decorate together on the first evening. What has made our celebration so memorable is that we all stay together, eat together, play together and wake up together. Many of the relatives travel several hours to get there, but once they do; they get to sit back and truly relax.

The past (2) years, my family has gotten too large for just the (2) units and we rented a second one just a few yards down from this main one. That unit is Woodroe I & II. One family; which included the Father, children, and grandchildren stayed there as a group. They were very pleased with the accommodations. Large kitchen/dining room, beautiful view, plenty of bedrooms/bathrooms, very clean and well maintained. The family mentioned that it was quite nice to have the separate unit, as there were (5) small children that all took naps at different times and they appreciated the peace and quiet.

Needless to say, we plan to continue this tradition. Though our group continues to grow and we will adjust what units we need to rent to remain within close proximity to each other, Lakewoods has ample accommodations to fit our needs.

We would like to express our thanks to the Lakewoods owner’s and staff for the opportunity to create these life long memories at their resort.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank FAMILYTIME4EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

My seven adult brothers and sisters and parents and I began coming to this resort in 1986. Over the years, as many grandchildren (and now great grandchildren) were born, we have ballooned to a group of 30+ people. We came to the Lakewoods every year from 1986 until 2001 at which time we became so disgusted by the lack of maintenance and poor service that we abandoned our family tradition. We all so missed this family tradition that we returned this year (2007); but, unfortunately, were, once again, sadly disgusted by the quality of the accommodations. When we first began staying at the Lakewoods, we stayed in the condominuim units. After watching those units deteriorate, we slowly began moving over to the Lake homes that were just being built. For many years, we enjoyed Edgewater East and Edgewater West. This year my husband and I, along with my sister and her spouse and children shared Woodrow #668. We had stayed in this exact same unit 10 years ago while visiting in the winter for a week of cross country skiing. Ten years ago, this unit was very nice. Now, I can only describe this place as a complete dump. The carpet is so disgusting I refused to walk around without atleast flip-flops on my feet. There is mold and mildew growing in all of the showers. They allow smoking in this unit and the placed smelled like an ashtray. I had to call and have housekeeping come back to change the bedding as there was hair on the sheets of two of the beds. There was also crumbs and gross things all over the couch and chairs in the family room. The dining room table was missing chairs - the chairs that were left at the table were horribly disgusting. They are upholstered chairs that have had every possible thing spilled all over them over the years to the point where they are now a dingy dirty grayish color (originally beige/creme colored). The mattress I slept on in the upstairs bedroom was in desparate need of replacement - I could feel springs coming through! I would recommend you bring your own linens to put on your beds as the sheets they use are completely thread bear. The keys to our unit did not work, so we returned to the front desk who told us it would take 10-15 minutes to fix. Two hours later we were still locked out of our unit after just arriving three hours earlier on a Sunday. After all of this, I did express my dissatisfaction to the front desk clerk. Her response was "we hear this all the time." Two of my sisters stayed in different units on the golf course (#681 and #678). While their units were not nearly as bad off as the one we stayed in, they too did have numerous issues with maintenance of the units. This resort is in a beautiful setting and the place could be a great destination; however, the owners need to begin putting some of the profits back into maintaining the facility. In regards to the service at the resort, our experience was really quite pittiful. One family of four tried to eat dinner at the lodge on Sunday evening, but after waiting forever for their food and inquiring several times about it, they ended up abandoning the dinner and returning to their condo for a turkey sandwich. I, too, along with my sister and her family ate lunch on the outdoor patio one afternoon. It turned into a 2.5 hour lunch waiting forever for our food. The place seems to be very short staffed as we found chronic issues with getting service at the bar, restaurant and marina. Consequently, we went down to Garmisch on Friday night (another family tradition) and had a wonderful dinner with excellent service. Why is it that Garmisch can hire competent staff and provide excellent service while the Lakewoods cannot??? We also returned to Garmisch for breakfast on Sunday morning, and again the service was impeccable. So, you might ask, why don't we just go stay at Garmisch??? Well, we inquired about obtaining several units for our large group there, and while the woman we spoke with was incredibly nice; sadly, she informed us that their families return year after year and they almost never have even one cabin come available much less three or four. In summary, if the Lakewoods owners ever begin driving some of their profits back into their property, the Lakewoods could be an awesome destination. My kids (while not as bothered by the accommodations) thoroughly enjoyed their week of bonding with their cousins. They spent many hours at the beach swimming out to the raft and diving and jumping into the water with their cousins. There is great biking, golfing, hiking, kayaking and fishing in the area. All of this could make the Lakewoods an awesome place to visit. BTW, if you are looking for a great activity check out Living Adventures just outside Bayfield. They are a kayak outfitter and will take you or your group out for a full day or half day excursion in the Apostle Islands. We had 18 in our group participate in this activity, and it was the highlight of the trip for me.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Filthy, needs updating. Management doesn't care.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emcfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Great for the kids, pool/whirlpool, lake, boat rentals, activities, reasonable rates. I had a lodge room and my friends rented a cabin. My room was nice, seperate living room area and bedroom area, furnishings dated but very suitable. Problem I had was room was near pool and door to outside. There were kids constantly in and out of the door all night long and you could hear every word said "very very noisy!" The door was supposed to be locked in the evening hours but the kids were jamming it open and it was very annoying.


That said, simple answer dont get the room next to the door to the outside.

We had fun the first day as we went on a pontoon ride around the lake, the young man who provided the tour was very knowledgable about the area and spotted a bald eagle, told stories about bears etc...There was a list of activities for the week, but the activities director had an emergency and had to leave, so instead of someone else taking over they just cancelled all the activities :(


If you have kids along and want to stay at a place where you can find some entertainment and not have to drive all over it is a reasonable destination. If you want ambience and fine dining go the the Garmisch Inn. If you are looking for a lot of entertainment away from the lake stay at Ramada Inn in Hayward (shopping, movie theater, casino, restaruants, golf/go carts, etc..)

  • Liked — amenities, pool, restaurant, bar, on the lake.
  • Disliked — Noisy room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisctraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable
21.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Hayward
172 reviews
21.9 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Hayward
94 reviews
22.9 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#14 of 14 in Hayward
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cable Nature Lodge
Cable Nature Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cable
33 reviews
21.5 mi away
Mallards Landing
Mallards Landing
#16 of 35 in Hayward
5 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#3 of 14 in Hayward
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewoods Resort

Property: Lakewoods Resort
Address: 21540 County Highway M, Cable, WI 54821-4509
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakewoods Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pristine Northwoods of Wisconsin on the shores of Lake Namakagon, Lakewoods is right smack in the middle of the Chequamegon National Forest. Surrounded by nature, the areas lakes streams rivers and trail are perfect for getaways during any season of the year. Lakewoods' complete amenities including pools, restaurant, marina, golf course and more are designed to make the most of our location. Get here and experience all the Northwoods has to offer; be it snowmobiling the 1,000s of miles of trails, catching a world class musky, or biking the best trails in the nation, Lakewoods allows you to experience it all with your family, business colleagues, or your favorite golf foursome. Call now to make your reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lakewoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakewoods Resort Cable
Lakewoods Hotel Cable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing