We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL AREA”
Review of Lakewoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakewoods Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL AREA”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

just spent a couple days at Lakewoods and so sad to see how the lodge has deterioted. we have always loved visting lakewoods but the lodge rooms are in such need of an update. may as well take the tv out of the rooms and no microwave or frig...room very outdated. Will give the workers a plus, plus grade and food was AWESOME! but overall with the room conditions... we would not stay there again but definetly stop by for the food and the great bartenders!. music in the bar/restaurant was terrible until a few of us commented but that changed the next day....

Room Tip: your customer service was wonderful but lodging was so disappointing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeaconWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    20
    20
    26
See reviews for
54
28
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My Nephew and I reserved a snowmobile for rent and Lakewoods two days before driving four hours to the resort. I had a sled of my own and we only needed a rental for him. The entire purpose of the trip was to get a full day of riding in on Saturday. At dinner Friday night, we were flagged down and told that one of the machines broke down and that we may not get one; we understand that these things can happen. The owner assured us that they would work on an alternative and to check back the next morning. When we checked back in, we were simply handed a piece of paper with a phone number to a rental place and were told to "check them out." Apparently it was now our problem to go find another snowmobile and I called multiple places over the course of 1.5 hours. As it turned out, Lakewoods ended up having a machine available as another party didn't show at 10:00am; two hours after we had planned to be on the trails. We rented this machine and after riding it for a short period of time, we could tell there was something wrong. The machine slid all over the trails and was very difficult to control for my Nephew. After my Nephew expressed concern, I rode it and could tell there was something very wrong with how this machine tracked over snow; I've been riding snowmobiles for 25 years and this was not normal. We were too far out to turn around (after all, we had one day to ride and this was the sole purpose of the trip) but I called Lakewoods to notify them that I felt something was wrong. In the end, we returned the sled and were refused a refund of $210.00. In addition, I was billed for the phone calls to the other rental places in the area if you can believe that. It's really a shame that they don't understand true customer service and satisfaction. They'd rather collect their $210.00 than to see our normal crew of 15 come back like we have for 10+ trips; unfortunately those days are over. I would recommend the Garmish as a place that truly "gets it." Thanks.

  • Liked — Location up North
  • Disliked — Lack of customer service/satisfaction as a long time visitor.
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MNTravler6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakewoodsFamily, General Manager at Lakewoods Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It is unfortunate the party needs to place blame for circumstances beyond our control. The snowmobile they had reserved suffered a mechanical failure when the previous operator burned out a cylinder on a machine with under 2,000 miles. We contacted the party as soon as we found out and located an available snowmobile at a local rental outfit. However, we are unable to rent snowmobiles for other parties and it is necessary for them to do so themselves. We gave the party the contact information and instructions to contact them in the morning. When another party did not pick up their reserved machine in time, we did rent the available machine to them. If something was “very wrong with” this machine and it was noticeably malfunctioning in “a short period of time” we question why it was not brought in earlier so we could remedy the problem. Instead, after a full day of use, they asked for a complete refund of the rental. Phil, Lakewoods’ owner, went with the renter and examined the snowmobile for mechanical defaults. Finding none, they discussed snow conditions as being the primary factor to the handling issue. At no time did the renter discuss phone charges with him. Although arrangements were made locally, we would be happy to reimburse him for long distance charges which were used to check on other rentals outside our area, as we do not charge for local calls. The machine was used for the full day, so we did charge them for the use of the machine. We’re sorry the renter felt this was unacceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cable hotels

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have no idea how this place got any good reviews? It is a dump, unsafe, unclean and would not ever go back. Nothing worked in any of the rooms are party rented. Low expectations will be fufilled. Pictures are so deceiving.Owers should clean up the rooms in the lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ralph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I chose this resort and the home rental(Snow'd Inn) online. We had a great one-week vacation!
The home was large and beautiful. The firepit was used every night. We rented a like-new pontoon boat from the marina and kept it at the house--used it for tubing and to go to dinner. We loved the walleye and roast beef! The resort outdoor pool was perfect for the children(they liked it better than the beach). The golf course was excellent. The only negative we found was very slow service at lunch in the dining room. We didn't try breakfast. Service was not a problem at dinner.
We enjoyed Hayward and the Wilderness Walk & Lumberjack show.

Room Tip: Snow'd Inn is a beautiful home. It was totally comfortable for our family of 10(6 adults, 4 chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCS3465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon,WI
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Accomodations were better than expected. Large room, refridgerator, micro wave,
Housekeeping was excelent.
Food in restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner.
Did not use pool or spa, but it was always available.
Would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Lower level has larger rooms away from the pool activity. Quiet with double jacuzie tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos19Mequon_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

just got home after 12 days at the lakewoods resort.this place is the best! great food,drinks fishing , and golf but what makes us come back every year are the people working there. especialy phil,kathy(the owners) and our special Jill thanks guys. see you next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vamchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our family rented Namakogen Shores house at Lakewoods. The full stocked kitchen has a flat grill, 8-burner range, dual oven and two refrigerators. I cooked almost every night for our extended family, ranging from 16 to 22 people. Since we had so many children, the dine-in option and having everybody together in one location was AMAZING! The amenities were all first class, from the indoor and new outdoor pool, renting of boats and pontoon ride. The staff was professional and extremely helpful. When the extended family left, we ate at the Lodge where the walleye and prime rib were both spectacular! The Sunday buffet was to die for with all-you-can-eat crab legs and too many other delicious option to even name. Thank you to the Lakewoods staff for making our family reunion fun and memorable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable
21.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Hayward
176 reviews
21.9 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Hayward
95 reviews
21.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 14 in Hayward
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
No photo provided
Edelweiss Motel
#12 of 14 in Hayward
19 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cable Nature Lodge
Cable Nature Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cable
33 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#3 of 14 in Hayward
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewoods Resort

Property: Lakewoods Resort
Address: 21540 County Highway M, Cable, WI 54821-4509
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakewoods Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pristine Northwoods of Wisconsin on the shores of Lake Namakagon, Lakewoods is right smack in the middle of the Chequamegon National Forest. Surrounded by nature, the areas lakes streams rivers and trail are perfect for getaways during any season of the year. Lakewoods' complete amenities including pools, restaurant, marina, golf course and more are designed to make the most of our location. Get here and experience all the Northwoods has to offer; be it snowmobiling the 1,000s of miles of trails, catching a world class musky, or biking the best trails in the nation, Lakewoods allows you to experience it all with your family, business colleagues, or your favorite golf foursome. Call now to make your reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakewoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakewoods Resort Cable
Lakewoods Hotel Cable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing