We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Dissapointment”
Review of Lakewoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakewoods Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We booked rooms for snowmobiling between Christmas and New Years but had to cancel because they had no snow. They kept our deposit and said we would loose it if we didn't reschedule before spring. Went on the 13th of Feb for 3 nights. Checked in late in the day and the Villa we were supposed to have was suddenly unavailable. They put us in another unit but it did not meet our needs because of the sleeping arrangements and lack of bathrooms. (we had 3 families). Went back to the front desk and they found another place. Keys didn't work, staff rude. Indicated that because we got a discounted rate, we were not getting housekeeping. We didn't get fresh towels and the front staff were so rude.We actually had two units and both had mice. Dining in the lodge: food average and service very slow. The Sunday brunch was not a true brunch and some items were not available until later in the afternoon. While this resort was recommended to us by friends, these 3 families will never return. Dawn J.

Room Tip: if you decide to go here, make sure you get the actual unit # that you will be staying in with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DawnRN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 148 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband grew up going to Lakewoods as a family vacation starting back in the 60s. He said he watched Armstrong walk on the moon in the Lodge since the rooms didn't have TVs. I married my husband back in 2009. We got married in Texas, and drove non-stop to Lakewoods for our Honeymoon in July 1999. We have been coming back just about every year since. We drive because my husband is a pilot for Southwest Airlines, and when he is on vacation, he wants "get away" from the job, and enjoy the scenery. We have stayed in various rooms. We have NEVER experienced a dirty room. It is dated, but isn't that what the Northwoods is all about? We try to make it a annual trip every August to spend a week in the Condo's. The food is awesome, the staff is friendly, and quite frankly, I can't wait to August to come back every year!
THANK YOU LAKEWOODS FOR SOME AWESOME MEMORIES!!!!
Jan and Patrick Buntin
Colleyville, TX

Room Tip: great getaway vacation!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I have been visiting Lakewoods for Mother's Day weekend since 2003, and it is a visit we always anticipate with excitement. We travel with one or two other couples and stay in Beachview. We all enjoy our own comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms, and the view is to die for! We especially appreciate the heated floors and the cozy fireplace when we return from a day of fishing in May! The staff is very accommodating and makes us feel welcome. Any concerns we have had about our accommodations are promptly addressed. (Our microwave was not working one time, and it was immediately replaced). Our kitchen is well-equipped so we can cook if we want to, but we always plan at least one evening for dinner and cocktails at the resort restaurant as a treat. The variety of food and the preparation have always been excellent and keep us coming back. From reading the guests' diary kept in the condo, we are just a few of the people who enjoy their visit and will keep coming back. We highly recommend Lakewoods for a family vacation or a couples' getaway. Patricia K.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatK36628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

while the staff, dining area, and pool area were fine, the room we were given was bad! the toilet seat was crusty and needed replacement, the coffeepot had floaters in it, and the lamps, flooring, etc were all outdated and in need of remodel. we also stayed for 2 nights and never had room service (even though we were gone from the room for almost the entire day and there were only about 10 people staying in the whole resort while we were there)

Room Tip: ask if they've been remodeled yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I have been visiting Lake Namakagon since 1966 and have stayed at most every place in the area but my last 14 years have been here at Lake Woods Lodge. Great accommodations, Stunning Views, Super Service, and fine meals. Everything you need for a great North Woods getaway! Spring, Summer and Fall, I have been here for it all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I have been coming to Lakewoods with a group of gentlemen for 12 years (have booked already for next year) and I want to say this is the best resort in the Northwoods of its type. The golf course is great the lake is great. I have members of my group that vacation in the summer and love the accomodations, food and service.I would reccomend this resort to anyone that likes to be treated the best. Robert C Bell

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I was just at Lakewoods on October 3 -5 . The cabin was clean and very comfortable. I have been going to Lakewoods for 7 years and find the accomodations, staff and food to be outstanding! Best resort in Wisconsin. Robert J. Prosser Rockford , Illinois

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable
21.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Hayward
191 reviews
21.9 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Hayward
103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cable Nature Lodge
Cable Nature Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cable
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#3 of 15 in Hayward
65 reviews
22.8 mi away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#15 of 15 in Hayward
94 reviews
12.7 mi away
Lenroot Lodge
Lenroot Lodge
#5 of 36 in Hayward
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewoods Resort

Address: 21540 County Highway M, Cable, WI 54821-4509
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cable
Price Range: $113 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakewoods Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pristine Northwoods of Wisconsin on the shores of Lake Namakagon, Lakewoods is right smack in the middle of the Chequamegon National Forest. Surrounded by nature, the areas lakes streams rivers and trail are perfect for getaways during any season of the year. Lakewoods' complete amenities including pools, restaurant, marina, golf course and more are designed to make the most of our location. Get here and experience all the Northwoods has to offer; be it snowmobiling the 1,000s of miles of trails, catching a world class musky, or biking the best trails in the nation, Lakewoods allows you to experience it all with your family, business colleagues, or your favorite golf foursome. Call now to make your reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Lakewoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakewoods Resort Cable
Lakewoods Hotel Cable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing