We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Milwaukee's finest Restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River Lane Inn - CLOSED

River Lane Inn
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of Milwaukee's finest Restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was one of the best restaurant experiences we have ever had. Food was delicious, great service and cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Surprise in Brown Deer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were directed here by front desk staff at the local Courtyard. The inn is cute and comfortable. The wait staff was very helpful and friendly. And, the food was delicious! We sampled tender and perfectly grilled angus beef. The vegetable sides were inventive. And, every dish that walked by on a platter looked simply lovely. Prices were a bit high but worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PickySleeper482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dependably good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have been to River Lane on many occasions (both personal and business) and have always been treated very well by the staff. The food is always excellent. My personal favorite is the filet mignon with Blue Cheese butter. Always a good cut of meat, always prepared to the right temperature.

Known for their seafood as well, we’ve always been pleased with the fish specials and seafood appetizers. The seared tuna entre is also consistently excellent. Fair cocktail and wine prices are an added benefit. Business meals have always been good; it’s the kind of place that realizes what you’re doing and helps leave a positive, relaxed impression on guests.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
205 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A great catch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had dinner this week at River Lane Inn. A great selection of fish and seafood. There were items on the menu for meat eater but with a reputation for great fish I didn't even look at the "Meat" sections.

My choice was group. Nicely grilled with a drizzle of citrus cream and served with butternut squash polenta and several varieties of steamed vegetables. Perfect!

I finished the meal with a serving of blackberry sorbet.

Several others in the group enjoyed the Lobster bake special which delivered a succulent cold water lobster with assistance from the waitress to prepare for eating. They claimed it was delicious.

I'll be back next time I have a craving for very fresh fish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DetailsByBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Seafood & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I went there on the way back to Chicago from Milwaukee. We started with the calamari appetizer. It was completely different from any we had ever had. It was one large flat piece sliced from the belly of the squid, like a cross-section and was grilled with a coating of parmesan cheese so it was crispy on the outside without breading and moist and tender on the inside - delicious! I had the Cajun Scallops which were out of this world. My husband had the Jambalaya, which as good, but would not be something I would order here - seafood is their forte! Dessert was Creme Brulee done perfectly. Entrees and wine were pricey (more like Chicago prices rather than what you would expect Wisconsin prices to be). Decor and ambiance were very nice, except the general din was a little loud perhaps because of construction of ceiling & walls, not at all related to customer's loudness...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessdewetagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Lane Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing