We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, even better service”
Review of River Lane Inn - CLOSED

River Lane Inn
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
La Plata, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food, even better service”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I went there allone on my way from Moline, IL to Washington Island, WI.
It is and old house, vey charming.
Food was great, and also fresh. Prices were fair enough for the quality offered.
Service is the best, no rush, no invading, but still dedicated and warm.
I can strongly recommend the place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Went back twice this week and would have gone for lobster night”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I had the walleye the first night and the tuna salad the second night. Both perfect. I would have shown up for lobster night but got outvoted. Next time, nothing will stop this Mainer from lobster night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Falling off :-(”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Used to be the place in Milwaukee for fresh fish, maybe the only place. Now good seafood is available all over the place and their chef has moved on. Really just average and sometimes, doesn't seem freshly made.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MilwaukeeMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Price Is Not Right”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Old fashioned restaurant with very good food but is being held back by being way too pricey.

They have maintained the atmosphere that is getting harder to find, very fifties. However it does not have fifties type prices, in fact it doesn’t have 2012 prices, it is way overpriced.

If you do go, you will not be disappointed by the food. We were a party of three, one had walleye, one had sole and one had jumbalaya. The walleye was the best, the sole was very good and the jumbalaya was good. This restaurant specializes in seafood and they do it well.

The service is very good. Very formal and attentive.

If you are not concerned about price and just want good food, this is perfect. It is kind of sad that someone made a really bad decision about the price of menu items.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeneralInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent food and serive at this local establishment”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I ate at River Lane on June 26, 2012, a Thursday night. We stayed one night in Brown Deer, WI after an 8 hour drive down from the U.P. that day. Tired and hungry, we called to see if we needed to "dress" for dinner and were very happy to know we could wear shorts and tee shirts since we were too tired to change. The hostess greeted us and asked if we had just called, which we thought was nice of her to be so friendly and welcoming. Our waitress was wonderful also, very friendly and helpful and patient while we choose wine, main course and desert. My husband ordered the Cajun Sea Scallops with Potato-Andouille Hash & Tomato Butter and I ordered one of the daily fish specials, Alaskan Halibut Macadamia with Pineapple Lime Butter. Both were cooked to perfection and tasted amazing. The only negative thing was that it was really loud, but it was packed on a Thrusday night, and that is a good thing! If we are ever in Brown Deer again, we would eat at River Lane Inn.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cubgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Lane Inn also viewed

 
Brown Deer, WI
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing