We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and Outstanding service.”
Review of Hom - CLOSED

Hom
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Hōm, celebrates simple farm-to-table cuisine and the growers and producers in our community who share the same passion for pairing locally farmed ingredients with dramatic flavors. From bright and crispy to smoky and earthy, the tastes at Hōm draw inspiration from Wisconsin farmers markets, small growers, ranchers and local fishermen. In addition, the unique partnership between SURG Restaurant Group’s own Mike Polaski and his Hidden Creek Farms, located in New London, WI, is one more way Hōm can assure its diners the highest quality beef, pork and produce from pasture to presentation. “Locavores,” i.e. Wisconsin home-grown enthusiasts, micro-brew aficionados and anyone willing to catch a bit of Wisconsin sports fever for the evening are invited for a real, honest meal with a touch of elegance, in true SURG tradition. Welcome to Wisconsin. Welcome Hōm.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and Outstanding service.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved our meals and will be returning with friends to try more from the menu. It was a pretty busy place for a Monday night and the waitstaff did an outstanding job.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trademark29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    44
    30
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“food looks awesome, tastes mediocre”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was thrilled when I saw the menu. Tried the tater tots, beet salad, and pulled pork sandwich. I enjoyed the salad, but the others, despite the exciting descriptions on the menu, tasted very bland. Could have used a bunch of salt and pepper at least, but these were nowhere to be found. I even didn't get cutlery and a napkin until after the meal was delivered.

Also disappointed with their beer selection; they had only 2 boring beers on tap tonight (a shandy and an amber). the bottled selection is decent though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bvnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to eat leaving Summerfest that wasn't some place we'd been before and wasn't one note ( just pizza or just sandwiches).
We saw 8 Twelve and thought it was just a sports bar but wow we were wrong. They do have a bar with big screens but they have a great mixed bag of a menu. There were 5 of us and we ordered 2 apps and the rainbow trout, citrus avocado salad with chicken, shrimp po boy sandwich, buttermilk fried chicken and pulled pork sandwich. Everyone said theirs was delicious and our bill was $89 ( no alcohol). This restaurant is farm to table and uses only local purveyors and area vendors. Definitely worth a stop!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delygi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Standard of excellence extends from playing field to local eatery”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

8-Twelve MVP Bar and Grill is the Brookfield restaurant owned by two of Wisconsin's sports heroes: Ryan Braun, number 8 the Milwaukee Brewers, and Aaron Rodgers, number 12, of the Green Bay Packers. Just as they excel with their teams, they hold their restaurant to a similar standard of excellence. This restaurant is worth seeking out.

8-Twelve is no ordinary sports bar, although you can have a drink and watch sports in the lounge. The restaurant is an example of what fine dining should be. From the moment you are greeted at the counter, the experience is outstanding. Servers are knowledgeable about the menu, meals are served in a timely manner, and plates are collected at the appropriate time. The restaurant offers a farm-to-table experience, with locally-sourced meats, and an herb garden on site.

I have been to 8-Twelve twice, once for lunch and once for dinner. The menu is varied and includes sandwiches, salads, appetizers, soups, fish, chicken, beef, and pork; a gluten-free menu is also available. Prices vary from moderately inexpensive to expensive. There is something on the menu for everyone. Based on my experiences there, I can make these recommendations: The house-smoked brisket and grilled cheese sandwich is a winner, as is the shrimp and grits appetizer. The CHOCOL8 dessert is a chocolate lover’s dream, with fudge brownie, black and white chocolate mousse, hazelnut crunch, chocolate ganache, and milk chocolate ice cream.

There is one characteristic of the restaurant that is keeping me from giving it a five-star rating: There are so many hard surfaces in the restaurant that the sound bounces all over the place and makes conversation difficult. It would be a good idea to take the acousics into consideration as plans are being developed for the second 8-Twelve restaurant, scheduled to open in the Bayshore Town Center later in 2013.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dare2BGroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
223 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Better than a sports bar”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Took our family here for lunch/dinner. Food and service were excellent. I had the pork shank, others had the beef brisket, BBQ ribs(thought the portion could have been larger for the price), clam chowder was good, bread and butter different, good beer selection, great dessert, flan and a brownie s'more sundae. It is pricey, but worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grannyofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing