We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice addition to Brookfield dining”
Review of Parkside 23

Parkside 23
Ranked #3 of 165 Restaurants in Brookfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Listed in the Milwaukee Magazine November 2011 Dining guide; reviewed in the July 2011 issue.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice addition to Brookfield dining”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I have been here about a dozen times, so clearly, we like it! Fresh food, good service, nice atmosphere, good bar selections, dynamite coffee. Don't expect a giant portion, but expect a sufficient portion of very fresh, tasty food!
My only problem with the menu is that I think it skews meat heavy. As someone who doesn't eat pork, I find there are limited options (even the creamed corn has bacon in it), and it would be nice to see some new vegetarian choices on new menus.
Only had one bad experience with their "reservation" system where we called ahead for a 7:30 patio time, only to have to wait 30 minutes to be seated, and when we got to the patio, there were plenty of empty tables?? By that time, it had cooled off to the point where we probably should have eaten inside. I will chalk it up to a one-time hiccup.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    90
    37
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“New favorite place in brookfield”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great service, great fresh food, who could ask for more. Waitress recommended a few things. Usually would not order something heavy for lunch like meatloaf but the way the waitress described could not pass trying this daily special. Nest meatloaf ever, gravy fabulous, crunchy outside sweat and tender inside. Whipped mashed potatoes and asparagus.m yummy. Split a zucchini cake with chocolate fondant after. Really enjoyable experience. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Astoria1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fresh and fabulous”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing, enjoyable, healthy, tasty lunch or dinner, this is the place. A beautiful building with outside seating, fabulous interior and well stocked bar. The menu is varied with something for everyone. Meat, chicken, fish, vegetables all prepared beautifully and with love. They actually have their own garden just off of their parking lot - today we saw them picking and cleaning carrots - and they were served as part of a vegetable dish. Daily specials - comfort foods including meatloaf. Very attentive staff. No disappointments - give it a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suziejacuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stopped at PS 23 at least 6 times. The food is always good and the atmosphere is warm and friendly. The food is fresh and comforting. Enjoy going here to eat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolmama300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, awesome waitress...”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Tried this place for the first time with my sister on July 4.  Besides the awkward hostess being really unfriendly when we walked in, this restaurant is great!  Our waitress was attentive and friendly.  The food was delicious!  We had the veggie flatbread and chicken pot pie.  The superfruit sangria was amazing!

Only negative: management needs to properly train the hostess about good customer service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bandtennis247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkside 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing