We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican in the area”

Jose's Blue Sombrero
Ranked #9 of 166 Restaurants in Brookfield
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in the area”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We love this place! They have great Mexican food, the service is always friendly and the prices are very reasonable. The only downside is there is usually a wait on any Friday or Saturday. Our favorite things on the menu are the table side guacamole, the steak al a Mexicana, the tacos al pastor and the rockin shrimp tacos. You can also get traditional things like burritos and enchiladas. Honestly I have eaten at this restaurant at least 10 times and have never had a bad experience.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn_from_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    72
    24
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“yummy”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great place to eat. Everything we had was very tasty. Kid friendly- they have a kid's menu and kid's margaritas. Excellent table-side guacamole. A little pricy though- a lot of things on the menu were 15-18.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mmmm, GUAC!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I really enjoy Jose's. They have a reasonable lunch menu - I like the black bean burrito. The table-side guacamole is great. You can tell them how spicy you want it. The chipotle & tequila shrimp tacos are awesome, very flavorful and spicy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food, quality, menu range and service. Their salsa and table side prepared guacamole were excellent.
Entre ingredients and sauces super flavorful.
Great decor and atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank olbear1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tableside Guac!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Enjoyed a casual lunch today at Jose's Blue Sombrero and I must say that it was fantastic enough for me to write a review for a meal I had during the work day! The best guac that I've ever had, great meal and great service. Looking forward to stopping by the next time I'm in Milwaukee!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose's Blue Sombrero also viewed

 

Been to Jose's Blue Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing