We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Konkapot Lodge was a super find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konkapot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Konkapot Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bowler
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Konkapot Lodge was a super find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Was looking for a place in the region for an over-nighter on my wife's birthday. Tripadvisor put me off the place I had in mind on the Wolf River, but then I saw the Konkapot's reviews so gave it a go after checking their website - what a lucky find! Satisfaction reigned supreme; place has a great relaxing vibe. A warm wood entry made from large timbers from a blow-down in the nearby reservation, nice clean room with Pendleton wool blankets, bathroom with their black bear theme, and working window with screen that we opened to the woods. The published rates were already acceptable to me and then when pulling in I saw their sign with the August special (for Sun - Wed) which was 25% less! Rudi received us with calm care, told us to go to the North Star casino for supper due to the time, and then provided each of us $10 casino credits. We aren't gamblers, but we made $40, so essentially had a free meal and drinks plus extra money when we walked out. Monday morning we helped ourselves to the continental breakfast, making ourselves tasty Belgian waffles, along with coffee, OJ, lemon poppy-seed muffins, yogurt, granola, etc. Two ladies, both part of the family that owns the lodge, were gracious, friendly, and knowledgeable. My wife was looking for a bit of white-water to sit in, picnic by, and fish, and we were given instructions to a local place that was perfect. We checked out the Konkapot's grounds before we left, which include hammocks, a picnic pavilion, grills, fire ring, etc. Highest praise I can give is that My wife and I are already discussing a return trip.

Room Tip: Place is naturally quiet, though do make sure you ask for a non-smoking room, as they have a few smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wow! I consider myself such a moron for not taking advantage of this great offer (and well kept secret, though those of you who travel to Mohican North Star in Bowler and exit eastbound from thier parking lot, passes this fine establishment about two miles away- and may not even blink or think twice about stopping in?). The cleanliness, genuine hospitality, ambiance throughout the property, and... well, its also multi-purpose as it offers a firepit area, grilling area, pavillion, and more! The best part is that it stays shaded a good 90% of the time in these areas. How cool is that? A little too convenient for me as I am now an avid guest here (so I can stop paying more for less!). $59.95 with 60 back in promo! A very smart/frugal choice! Thank you Charles for filling me in on all of the great deals/offers going on.

Room Tip: Hmmm. well, you really cant go wrong as they are all exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koryalmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at the Konkapot Lodge 2 times on previous occasions 10 years ago, and enjoyed it each time back then. For whatever reasons, we received an e-mail notification of a "Spring Special" for 2 nights at a rate of $119.00 (Valid Sunday thru Thursday). The special included $140 in casino free play coupons for all 3 casinos in the area (Ho Chunk in Wittenberg, Menominee Casino, & North Star Casino - which is just down the road from Konkapot).
Our stay of May 20 & 21, 2013 ... Upon arrival, the reception staff was very "bubbly" and very helpful. Room staff was efficient & meticulous. Our room was clean, very comfortable, spacious, &, best of all, quite !!
The free continental breakfast was adequate, yet, not overwhelming. The Lodge has free wireless internet access (though access is only at the main lobby, or the "common area" of second floor ... not a big deal to us, but may be an issue to others).
The ambiance of the Lodge was very comfortable ... Log construction with impressive fireplace in the lobby, Native American decor, and, a soothing "hint" of Native American ceremonial music from the sound system. The outside grounds has a patio area (with tables, chairs, & umbrellas) adjacent to the lobby, a campfire area, and, a covered cookout area for guests, as well as meeting area. This place is on a rural road and was very quiet peaceful!
We come from a very busy home located next to the interstate to Milwaukee, and constant noise is always present .. but, here was the calm & quiet we so looked forward to! We were treated to the night sounds of only the surrounding nature, and, very little if any traffic noise.
I'm telling you ... anyone coming from a hectic & busy lifestyle owes it to themselves to take the opportunity to serve themselves some peace, calm, & quite at the Konkapot Lodge, Bowler, WI.

Room Tip: We found a room at the back of building accentuated nature's night time sounds and was very, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ttetzloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet place in the woods but close to some fun this is a good one. Not to big and very clean and new feeling, The help was helpful and friendly. The rate was under 100 for a night and be sure to check there specials if your staying more than one night. It is under 2 miles from the large nice North Star Casino with its own hotel restaurant and Buffet. I would choose this Hotel over that one. There is a great sitting area with a fire place and the log feel to along with a coninental breakfast. The beds were on the smaller side and a little hard but that is the only negative we noticed. I would recommend a front facing room the view in the back is not as good and if your downstairs and have someone above I would imagine that could be bothersome. We were on the second floor. There is also a great place to eat in Bowler about 6 milrs away called Bonnies.

Room Tip: Upstairs and to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDeuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Quilts, hardwood floors, a warm country hearth to welcome you and friendly staff to make you feel at home. Real genuine hospitality. We were to experience a Gourmet roasted coffee yet and soon found the Konkapot Lodge our next Wisconsin hideaway.

It is a spectacular hand hewn log built lodge. Has all the Native American charm you could wish for and is adjacent to Mountain Bay. Set in the heart of Wisconsin North Woods. Hunters and Fishermen would cherish the natural resources around with all the relaxed pace you could wish for. The logs used to build the Lodge were salvaged from the Stockbridge Munsee Reservation, from a “blow Down”, an area created by severe high winds in 1997. The hand-crafted log work was done by local tribal members. Most of the owners and staff of Konkapot Lodge are descendants of Popnewannehah “John” Konkapot, a Mohican Chief who served as a Selectman in general Washington’s Army during the American Revolution. After being removed from Stockbridge. Massachusetts, and the Stockbridge, New York, Konkapot and the Mohican Nation were merged with Munsee and Bortherton Indians, and eventually made to reside on the current reservation which was carved from the Menominee Nation in 1856.

Today, 142 years later, Konkapot Lodge offers convenient lodging for the tribes casino patrons and to those visiting the many historic museums including the Stockbridge Munsee Library, the Menominee Logging Museum and other points of interest in and around the reservation and Shawano County. It was a wonderful retreat for us, and we just bathed in all of its luxury and nostalgia, and planned our days ahead.

Room Tip: Which ever room you choose you will find the relaxation and peace you need to complete your holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls WI.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Konapot many times. They never disappoint us. I love the quiet setting and cute room decor and the very friendly staff! The breakfast is great for a small lovely lodge.
I recommend to all who are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stressaddresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
141 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

You won't be disappointed- large common area, log cabin style, and surprise - a live piano player at times. Loved the open hearth fireplace in the lobby, and a good serve your own breakfast area in the morning. Makeup cleaning towelettes in the bathrooms, coffeemaker, hair dryer. We have stayed there several times, and no doubt will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowler
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wittenberg Inn
16.7 mi away
Shawano Four Seasons Resort
16.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Shawano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Shawano, WI
18.2 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Clintonville, WI
23.9 mi away
Super 8 Antigo
Super 8 Antigo
#1 of 4 in Antigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konkapot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konkapot Lodge

Property: Konkapot Lodge
Address: W12635 County Road a, Bowler, WI 54416-9402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Bowler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bowler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Konkapot Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Konkapot Lodge is a hand-scribed log lodge nestled in the north woods of Wisconsin and is the perfect place for a serene week-end retreat. Book a week-end to enjoy the fresh air, quiet surroundings, incredible scenery, and exceptional hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Konkapot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing