We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Getaway!!”
Review of Big Bear Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boulder Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bear Hideaway
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We needed a place to stay and was happy to see they had vacancy! As soon as we pulled in we could see it was gonna be a great place to stay. Owners were very friendly and showed us the different cabins, all beautifully crafted. Had a bonfire every night in one of their 2 fire pits. There were grills to use, and our 2 teenage girls enjoyed the bikes and volleyball court. Had a fantastic time, hated to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Big Bear Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were in need of a place to stay since the place we had reservations (Evergreen Lodge)turned out to be a nightmare. We called Big Bear and luckily they had a cabin. Not only were we pleased to have a place to stay but it was beautiful! Absolutely amazing! Throughout the cabin are unique carvings and special touches that made our stay so enjoyable. And it was clean! Even though other people were staying there, it seemed like we had the place to ourselves. We enjoyed having a fire outside every night and watching the deer.The kids loved it too! They rode bikes, which were provided by the establishment, and had fun looking at all the larger-than-life wood carvings. The owners were fabulous. They are so friendly. They gave us ideas on where to visit, which was very helpful. Our only problem was we wish we could have stayed longer! LOL! We would highly recommend this place to anyone! It's awesome!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I picked this place to get married because of its many wonderful qualities. Big Bear has a four cabins (Polar, Black Bear, Grizzly and Kodiak) each with remarkable and unique woodwork. The cabins themselves are furnished with handmade furniture that you won't find anywhere else. You can poke around on the website to see pictures, but they really don't do the place justice. There is a warmth and comfort to each one of the cabins that you have to be in feel.

It turned out that my family rented the all cabins of out, which made things really convenient for the wedding. This set up would also be ideal for any other large family celebration like a reunion. However, the cabins can be rented out individually and the price depends on the cabin size.

As we said above, we really liked having all of our family on the same site as the reception as well as being so close to town. The owners Mary and Joe are wonderful people and were very helpful as we planned our event. I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: All room are really interesting. It might be best to choose accommodation depending the size of your...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was sceptical, at first, having found some reviews and news articles about the federal indictments and Ponzi schemes connected to this property. Rest assured! The folks involved in that mess are no longer around and the original owners have their beautiful resort back in their very capable hands.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Joe and Mary, the owners, who made us feel like we had been old friends! We chatted, got a tour of the Welcome Office and our cabin, and settled in. What a spectacular resort, handcrafted and lovingly cared for by the owners themselves.

We stayed in the Grizzly for Father's Day weekend and could not have made a better choice! The cabins are fully furnished and equipped with all the comforts of home, including WIFI, cable TV, full kitchen, outdoor seating and grill. You have to check this one out! You will be glad you did!

Nice touches include bath salts and a tub pillow in the cabins with antique bathtubs (which also have showers); area guides and brochures; artfully placed stained glass windows; log handcrafted furnishings; lots of towels and fluffy blankets...the list goes on.

We will return and spread the word - Big Bear Hideaway is rated #1 in our book.

Room Tip: There are 4 "cabins" at the resort and one loft above the Welcome Office. Check their webs...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a very unique property -almost every aspect of this inn is handmade. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the cabins - I have stayed in two of them - once in January and once in June. The owners are very nice. I can safely say you will have never stayed at a place like this - it is quirky in a good way!

It is very quiet - there are only a few cabins on the property. You can walk to the Boulder Beer Bar, Mad Dog Jakes, The Outdoorsman, JJs Pub 'n Grub and many stores, etc. from this location. There is a fire pit on the property and a picnic area. The cabins we stayed in had gas fireplaces, which is nice on a snowy or rainy night.

QUICK NOTE: These current owners are NOT the guy who ran the ponzi scheme - he is in the slammer.....Also, the guy that used to man the front desk (and angered the reveiwer below) is no longer there.

Room Tip: There are several sizes of cabins so it depends on how many people are in your group. People with sm...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandeyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I've been going to Boulder Junction, WI for years and always drove past this place. We finally stayed over Thanksgiving 2011 for a few nights. The cabin was very comfortable with a full kitchen, firm beds, nice gas stove for heating, and a tub with good hot water(important to me!). Ours was 2 floors with 2 bathrooms and room for 5 people. I saw the cabin next to me that could fit around 10 people. It was amazing!! Beautiful antique reproduction gas stove, clawfoot tub, 2 kitchens on 2 floors. If we had enough people we would have stayed there. The cabins are within walking distance of downtown. Great place for large groups or family reunions. The owners were very friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder Junction
15.8 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
25 reviews
16.9 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
244 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
15.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
69 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Great Northern Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Hideaway

Address: 10482 West Main Street, Boulder Junction, WI 54512-9766
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Boulder Junction
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Boulder Junction
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing