We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always exceeds expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acorn Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorn Lodge
Normal, Illinois
1 review
“Always exceeds expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This year was the 4th year I have vacationed to the northwoods to snowmobile and stay at the Acorn Lodge. The owners have always exceeded expectations of how guests in a hotel should be treated, without fail. They go above and beyond making accommodations for their guests and assuring that their guests have a relaxing and satisfying stay at their facility. They provide a cozy, welcoming, at home environment with a fireplace, big comfy coach, plenty of seating, television, etc in their lobby area. If they have stepped out, there is always a number to contact them at if their services are needed. There is coffee and breakfast provided every morning for the guests, along with the owners' always appreciated suggestions of local restaurants to grab breakfast at before hitting the trails. Being that the owners live in Boulder Junction and run the lodge year round, they know the area very well and are always eager to share information about places in the area they think their guests would enjoy. These owners don't meet expectations, they exceed. They have always made my family and me feel welcomed and at home with every stay. I will continue to go back to the Acorn every year as I cannot imagine staying anywhere else. Highly recommend staying at the Acorn!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mek3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acornlodge01, Manager at Acorn Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Mek3591, Thank you for a very nice review of our hotel! It is very important to all of us at Acorn Lodge that we create a great experience for all of our guests. We look forward for you and your family to come back and stay with us soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

a couple of snowmobilers decided to make a big loop and when we arrived to a certain place we noticed that we did not have a room key. We were around 70 miles away so I called one of my buddies that was at the Acorn and told him to check and see if he could get us a room key. he went to the lobby and there was a sign there that if there was anything that was needed and there was no one there to call a certain # so he did and the owner answered and told him that they would be there shortly so he waited and a gentlemen came in and asked him what his problem was in a very rude manor and he explained the situation and the owner started to give him the riot act. Cutting the story short the owner called my friend a nasty name that no owner should ever say to anyone ever and the next morning we were accused of things that we never did and they treated us like dirt. We did put on 355 miles that day and thought we were doing the wright thing by having our buddy get a key for us. We had 7 rooms I will not return ever and I will tell everyone I meet not to.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acornlodge01, General Manager at Acorn Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Being in the hospitality business we try very hard to please every one of our guests. Receiving a call for assistance at 1:00am, not all that unusual however the request for a room key to someone else’s room is. Under the best conditions that is a difficult request to fulfill, however we were still able to satisfy this customer. Inquires as to the vandalism that occurred that night was made the next morning, less any accusations or inappropriate language, this you can be assured. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The lodge is super clean and comfortable. Convenient with everything Northern Wisconsin has to offer close by. The innkeeper was very kind and the lady who cleans all of the rooms made you feel right at home. Good shower, roomy changing area, nice beds. If your are an outdoorsman the secondary entrance provides a way in where your boots and tack can be taken care of without messing up the room. Pretty sweet set-up. (No restaurant or fitness center - it is the northwoods where you go across the street to eat and get outdoors for exercise.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry30269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winneconne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

clean, laid back place. You have to call the owners on a phone to get them to come to the front desk. (which they do) rooms are large and have two entrances, one to the hall and one to the outside. very nice. large area with a mirror and sink and clothes hanging area. breakfast in the morning was meager but ok. (coffee shop right next door like starbucks) close to everything downtown and bike trails.

Room Tip: like the room that faces the inner court yard, not the parking lot...unless you have a boat you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We enjoyed our evening here. The room was big, clean and comfortable. The hot tub could have been hotter. It was nice to have a little bite to eat in the morning (coffee and donuts). We used the wireless service and it worked just fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, mo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

second time staying at the acorn, owners are very friendly and helpful. located in the heart of boulder junction, but is still very quiet. wireless access is excellent. hot coffee and pastries every morning in the lobby.

Room Tip: rooms 23 to 26 are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmartinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The owners and staff are friendly and customer service driven. The rooms are very clean and very large! The owners, personally delivered an iron and ironing board to my room! I highly recommend this lodge. They make you feel very comfortable and at home. Thank you.

Room Tip: On the shorter wing in the back is more secluded and away from the main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder Junction
22.3 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
15.8 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
15.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn
16.9 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
22.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Lodge

Property: Acorn Lodge
Address: 10370 Main Street, Boulder Junction, WI 54512
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Boulder Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Boulder Junction
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acorn Lodge is a small family run hotel located in the heart of Boulder Junction, WI. We strive to maintain a friendly and home like atmosphere so that our guests can relax and enjoy their vacation. We are smoke and pet free hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing