We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for snowmobiling”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boulder Bear Motor Lodge
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We love to stay here for the ease of getting on the snowmobile trail. The gas station is right across the street, so we can fuel up easily before we start each day. Several amazing trails are very convenient. Love the huge hot tub at the end of the day. Nice clean rooms with a mini- fridge food make it convenient to keep food ready for hungry teenagers. Many wonderful restaurants are close by too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guilt-trip-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Found this place clean and neat. But the beds were not comfortable and the continental breakfast was a bit sparse. However the coffee was good and we did see a lot of deer behind thirst hotel. We also missed having wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hardtkea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have friends in the area with a very small cabin, so we've stayed at the Boulder Bear for the past three years. Rooms are very plain but comfy; no fridge in room, unfortunately. We consider the breakfast to be a little bare bones, but there are nice places nearby for breakfast, so no problem.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank BabsinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

March 2013, 2 nights, clean room, comfy bed, quiet, nice lobby. Direct (and I mean direct) access to snowmobile trial - right across the street. Easy parking (snowmobile trailer). Cable but old school tube TV. Be prepared to turn the heat to nearly off as it puts out huge amounts of BTU's (a good thing I guess but I like it cool at night). A nice "north woods" experiance. "Downtown" and resturaunts very close. JK

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdpull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very clean, wonderful owners who are available to help in anyway. Good breakfast, above average rooms, good parking, and so close to gas, dining, shopping. As a guest I felt welcome and treated so well. A wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLB3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place was fantastic. Very clean - I don't think I'd ever been to a hotel that was this clean that wasn't new. And, they vacuum every day - another big surprise. The refrigerator in the room was a wonderful thing to have. We didn't eat the complementary breakfast because we were looking for more than is offered here, but if you want just cereal and a small pastry this would be fine. The location is great - close to downtown and convenient to the gas station. Lots of eating choices within a few miles too - or you can just walk downtown. Not many shops in town if you're looking for shopping but the ones there are nice. We liked it that a paved bike trail is just across the street and there is a bike rack on the property which is also very nice. The only con we found with this stay was the bed was pretty uncomfortable - very lumpy, firm mattress and pretty firm, flat pillows. The room temperature was comfortable and when we ran the heat just to get the chill out of the room each morning, the heater ran very quiet. We'd definitely stay again if we are in Boulder Junction. The price was right and the owners friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We'd recommend a room in the back - it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackm0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The rooms are basic but very clean. Try to get a room in the back so you have a better view of the deer. The kids loved that! The location is great. It is walking distance to many things in town, such as trails, shops, restaurants and ice cream. Although, we found many shops and restaurants have limited hours, especially on Mondays. The owners were very friendly and accomodating. They gave us some good tips on places to visit. You could tell the owners not only cared about their place but they cared about the reputation of the whole community.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder Junction
16.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
22.7 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
176 reviews
16.7 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
308 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
278 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
#3 of 12 in Eagle River
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Bear Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Bear Motor Lodge

Address: 5437 Highway M, Boulder Junction, WI 54512
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Boulder Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Boulder Junction
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing