We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Evergreen Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen Lodge
Gurnee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

This is an extremely run down old resort. The owners are overwhelmed with disrepair. It is very filthy, thank goodness I brought all my cleaning supplies. My bedding had not been changed and the towels smelled of mildew.. Also , brought my own blow up mattess. The lake is covered with weeds and unswimable for little ones. What a shame you can post on the internet what it looked like some 20 years ago and get away with it.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c_peklay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Evergreen Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
This group had a wonderful time, it was a wedding anniversary for the parents, who paid for the entire group. This individual obviously was not having a good time. We have a large client list and very few complaints. The linins are always clean and so are the cabins. We are a licensed lodge and restaurant by the State of Wisconsin and pass three health inspections each year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
13
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

This place is a pit. The cabins are run down, filthy and the furniture is from someone's 1970 college dorm. There was some kind of animal living in the wall between the two bedrooms. The toliet flushed when you took the lid off and pushed a button. We too got the "it's the north woods" line from the owners whenever there was a problem brought up. The bonus of being able to cook at the lodge isn't worth it when the owner complains about refrigerator space, noise and hovers the entire time. And don't even get me started on the lake-this place is a pit!! If you stay hear, be prepared for the worst stay ever!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Evergreen Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Yes, being in a remote place is wonderful except when you need something. We have Sloane power flush toilets to conserve water and provide the best flush. A small plastic part in the tank had been broken by the previous guest and it takes a week to order it and receive it. The group was invited to use the lodge for preparing meals but I don’t have refrigerator space for 6 nights of dinner for 30 people plus breakfast for 40. The cabins have refrigerators too. They prepared elaborate theme dinners each night. The kitchen is a large commercial kitchen and each night a new group cooked. We stayed near by to help them find things and use the equipment. The rest of the cooks were glad of the help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

i don't mind run down, however, no excuse for the filth!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tina35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Evergreen Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
As you can see from our positive reviews this person was disgruntled about something. She booked a small cabin 5 feet from the lake. She didn’t like being that close to the water and wanted a full refund and to leave. The deposit policy is that the deposit applies to the last days of the reservation so it was not refunded. We lost over 5 days of rental income since we could have booked a guest that knew what they wanted. The other 11 cabins were full of satisfied guests that week. Lots of people stay here and only a few are out of place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

We booked this Northern Wisconsin cabin for a one week vacation with our extended family. The place looks OK from the internet and with a price of more than 1,200 for a week, we thought it must be good. To our surprise it was a complete mess.

It looked like they just opened the door from being closed all winter and did nothing. The place was filthy, the furniture looked like it came from the Salvation Army, the carpets were from 1970, many things were broken and we found some alarming safety problems, including an electrical cord with water dripping on it under our cabin. We were also greeted by a bat in our bathtub that refused to leave and returned in the night.

When trying to speak to the owners about our concerns, they were dismissive and rude to us, their only excuse being "this is the North Woods." When we informed them that this was "not the place we expected and not for us" and we were leaving, they got very angry and just told us that we had to pay for the night we stayed and then to "just leave."

Having been to many places before in Northern Wisconsin, I can say this is by far the worst--in fact the worse place I have stayed in all my many years of traveling worldwide. Stay away from this place.

Luckily we in fact did leave and even though it was the 4th of July, found an excellent place nearby called Dillman's. For the same price this one had everything and more that we were looking for. Clean, friendly and exceptional service with many, many extras.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidwinegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Evergreen Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
This three generation group booked a cabin that was inappropriate for them. The grand parents were to sleep in the loft up a ladder. The parents had a queen bedroom and the little boy had a bedroom with two twins. We discouraged them from booking it. When they arrived they were tired and out of sorts. All of the other cabins were booked by then. We tried to address their concerns. Early the next morning the grandmother came to the lodge to settle up. We were in the middle of breakfast. They were already packed and in the car so there was not an opportunity for us to do anything but send them on their way. Dillman’s in not less expensive and breakfast is not included and that they were not full indicates something. We have many pleased guests but this group was just a bad fit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

I've been staying at Evergreen Lodge for 10 summers now, and it is a wonderful place to sit back, relax, and enjoy the calm of the Northwoods. The resort has 10 cabins of various sizes, and between my huge family, we've stayed in all but one of the cabins. Most have a kitchenette and sleeping arrangements for at least 3 people, as well as a screened-in porch. All have bathrooms (indoor plumbing). The place is definitely not fancy, and there are issues with maintenance that occasionally go unfixed, but for the most part it's tolerable. I figure that it's a couple steps up from camping, and that's why we go up there. There is WONDERFUL breakfast served every morning (during the summer) by Laurel, the owner. Fresh-baked breads, cereals, bacon, sausage, and a different hot entree home-cooked each morning. The have canoes and boats (motors and row) for use by the guests, as well as an old pontoon boat to rent (although we've always had issues with it over the years, so I wouldn't recommend it). There is a small sandy beach and playground, and a swim raft.

The location is ideal, about 10 minutes from Boulder Junction and about 1/2 hour from Minocqua, both towns with various restaurants and shops, if that's what you like. Personally, I like just sitting with a good book and staring out on the lake.

Overall, I'd recommend the place, but don't expect to find anything fancy. If you're a camper, you'd love it; if you're more accustomed to places like Door County, it may be a little too rustic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingtuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder Junction
17.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
19.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn
19.7 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#1 of 5 in Saint Germain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Great Northern Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Property: Evergreen Lodge
Address: 6161 Evergreen Ln, Boulder Junction, WI 54512-9678
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Boulder Junction
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Boulder Junction
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabin & Breakfast(12) 1 to 3 bedroom log cabins on the lake. Enjoy a view of the Lake from your screen porch & our level grounds. Daily Rates $79-$282. Weekly Summer $688-$1580. Enjoy a full complimentary breakfast in our beautiful knotty pine lodge. Relax and de-stress in our authentic Northwoods resort. Boulder Junction is a friendly small town with a variety of shops and restaurants.There are many things to do at the resort -Class "A" Musky Lake: Musky Walleye Bass Panfish Guides Boats & Motors Pontoon Boat Lake Maps Freezer Fish house Canoes North Woods Setting: Nature Hikes Berry Picking Biking Horseshoes Campfires: Toasted Marshmallows Ghost Stories Star Gazing Playground & Swimming: Safe Sandy Beach Raft Paddle boat Canoes Kayak Recreation Room: Pool Table Table Tennis Movies Cartoons Nearby Attractions: Golf Course Horseback riding Tennis Sight-seeing Wildlife photography Museums Arts & Crafts ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing