We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting on a quiet lake” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen Lodge
Menomonee Fls
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting on a quiet lake”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The setting and cabins on the lake were breathtaking, with eagles catching fish, loons, hummingbirds, frogs, turtles, and so much more. The night sky was lit with the Milky Way and an abundance of stars unknown in the city lights. Available to us were bicycles, kayaks, and a paddle boat. I can't say enough of the location.

The cabin itself was tired. The furniture smells of a wet dog. Each piece needs to be replaced, and I suspect has needed replacement for a long time. We couldn't sit on the main room furniture for this reason. As we entered the cabin, this smell was clear. The bedrooms did not have the smell. Beds were fine, albeit a little uncomfortable. Beds were clean and rooms overall were clean. The kitchen was more than adequate with everything we needed. Parking was right next to the cabin.

Breakfast in the main lodge was very good. Service was excellent overall, which is most important for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmalicki54, Owner at Evergreen Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2016
So glad that you enjoyed the resort setting and amenities. Sorry that you were uncomfortable. Pets are allowed here. The pets are not to be allowed on the furniture but perhaps someone was careless. We would have done some extra work and cleaning on yours if you had mentioned it while you were here. We update furniture as needed. The interiors are small and current furniture styles are so bulky that we have a hard time finding new items. Please let us know if there is a problem so that we can address it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
13
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family has stayed here several times over the past two years, and have thoroughly enjoyed Laurel's family hospitality. For anyone who has traveled to the Northwoods within the past 40-50 years, this resort is a wonderful reminder of how life "used to be." To the "wooden awards" on the dining tables (as a nostalgic reminder of my summer camp, Campo Fiesta, a few miles to the southeast), to the clean, yet unencumbered cabins (that means no TV, WIFI, etc. within the cabin itself, but is available in the main lodge), it is a great place to unwind and enjoy the beauty of the Northwoods. We commend her for diligently working to preserve a lifestyle for her family and guests, that is rapidly disappearing from our society. Thank you, Laurel, for providing a great resort for those of us who truly love the rustic Northwoods environment, to "escape" to the Evergreen Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaGX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmalicki54, Owner at Evergreen Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are happy that your stay with us was enjoyable. We strive to maintain this wonderful facility. It is a beautiful setting. Thank you for spending time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were here in August of 2011, sorry it took me a while to write this. Yes, this is a rustic location & rustic cabin, but at least it has indoor plumbing! It is rustic & older decor - but it serves its function well. We wanted to be in a place where we could get away from everything & just relax, do some riding & bring our dog so we didn't kennel or saddle our neighbors with her. We went there, showed up very late due to traffic and issues with our trailer. The owner came out to greet us & show us where our cabin was & told us to come to breakfast in the morning & we would do all paperwork then. We were very grateful as we were extremely tired as well.
This place is pet friendly & we were even allowed to leave our dog in the cabin when we went out. We trailered our motorcycles up there so we could do some riding in the beautiful country up there. Again, the property & owner were very accommodating with our bikes & had an area where we could put them instead of having to put them on the trailer every night.
Breakfast every morning was homemade & was different & was included! Couldn't beat that!
The lake was beautiful, we were able to go out on a dock near our cabin & do some minor fishing (read catch & release blue gill), watch otters play, listen & see the loons, eagles & other birds.
We went out on a row boat at little or no cost - if I remember correctly it was no cost & there were other non-motorized water craft you could use at no cost. We went out on the pontoon boat & were able to bring the dog on that too.
Realistically, this place is a great place to go if you are trying to get away from all the commercial crap, electronic device life, and want to destress. If you are looking for the Hilton or Marriott experience you are looking at the wrong place. If you grew up tent camping & using the lake for a bathtub, trees & outhouses then you will love this - indoor shower & toilet!!!
There is even a small kitchen so you can do some cooking if you want, has BBQ setups (you bring your own charcoal & starting fluid), has a common firepit too. Also I believe most cabins have a screened in porch - ours did.
Extremely relaxing getaway from the big city. Will go back again someday. Would most definitely recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: Talk to the owner & listen to what she tells you would be a good fit for the size group you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MedicTrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmalicki54, Owner at Evergreen Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
This is our home and we welcome visitors to come and enjoy the "North woods experience" that we live. Glad that you could be here and enjoy each moment with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at evergreen lodge for the first time last October and it was great, breakfast every morning great . We stayed in a cottage that was 80yrs old tiny one bedroom with screened in porch every morning got up stepped right on dock to lake was great, The fishing was great I am ready to go back this summer.please remember this is North country

Room Tip: ita a fishing trip to the North Country
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thej142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmalicki54, Owner at Evergreen Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Happy that you enjoyed your stay at Evergreen and looking forward to hearing from you soon. We have had beautiful weather this year and a good catch. Join us and get your name on the Musky Log that dates back to 1954.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago and the cabin was a little run down. My sister just stayed there last weekend with her family and really enjoyed it. They had a 2 bedroom place that was spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom that had a tub. The only downside was that the heater wasn't very strong. The owner gave them an additional space heater and we lent them one as well so it turned out to be good. I think they have updated some of their cabins but I would suggest you always talk to them by phone in advance to make sure. The location though is awesome since it's right on the lake and only a 5 minute drive into Boulder Junction.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed for the dog training fall dog training weekend had a great time everyone was so friendly. Cabins were clean and in working order furniture was very antique some in need of being replaced but you certainly got that rustic feel. Hot water and heat takes a while to heat up but once we got it going it was fine. No TV in cabins. Cabins are left unlocked no key was provided don't like that but there was a dead bolt from the inside. The owner was not there when we arrived left a sign be back at 4:00 and which cabin you were staying in. You would thing someone else could have been there when she was gone. Trees were not picked up around the cabins left laying on the ground. Breakfast was great excellent homecooking. Lodge is beautiful with fireplace and TV woodwork is beautiful. Cabins was next to lake with screen in porch beautiful view and peaceful. The place is set away from the main road went walking on the gravel roads leaves were at peak absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: The larger cabin look to be the best ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelKreuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

The cabins are equipped with stoves, refrigerators, and bathrooms with tubs and showers.The furniture is "retro" but comfortable. There are brand new Weber grills and picnic tables.The units have screened in porches.Laurel and her children are very accommodating and will do all they can to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast is served in the lodge each morning and is delicious. The lodge is exactly what you would expect in the North Woods and can be used any time day or night. Pets are allowed and have as much fun as the humans! The fishing is great even from the pier. I caught a huge bass my first cast. Again, no luxury here but a true "up north" experience. A friendly, peaceful place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safredtosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder Junction
17.9 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
19.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn
19.7 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#1 of 5 in Saint Germain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Great Northern Motel
19.4 mi away
The Beacons of Minocqua
The Beacons of Minocqua
#1 of 8 in Minocqua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Property: Evergreen Lodge
Address: 6161 Evergreen Ln, Boulder Junction, WI 54512-9678
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Boulder Junction
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Boulder Junction
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabin & Breakfast(12) 1 to 3 bedroom log cabins on the lake. Enjoy a view of the Lake from your screen porch & our level grounds. Daily Rates $79-$282. Weekly Summer $688-$1580. Enjoy a full complimentary breakfast in our beautiful knotty pine lodge. Relax and de-stress in our authentic Northwoods resort. Boulder Junction is a friendly small town with a variety of shops and restaurants.There are many things to do at the resort -Class "A" Musky Lake: Musky Walleye Bass Panfish Guides Boats & Motors Pontoon Boat Lake Maps Freezer Fish house Canoes North Woods Setting: Nature Hikes Berry Picking Biking Horseshoes Campfires: Toasted Marshmallows Ghost Stories Star Gazing Playground & Swimming: Safe Sandy Beach Raft Paddle boat Canoes Kayak Recreation Room: Pool Table Table Tennis Movies Cartoons Nearby Attractions: Golf Course Horseback riding Tennis Sight-seeing Wildlife photography Museums Arts & Crafts ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing