We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like luxury camping than fancy resort but very comfortable.”
Review of Evergreen Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen Lodge
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The cabins are equipped with stoves, refrigerators, and bathrooms with tubs and showers.The furniture is "retro" but comfortable. There are brand new Weber grills and picnic tables.The units have screened in porches.Laurel and her children are very accommodating and will do all they can to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast is served in the lodge each morning and is delicious. The lodge is exactly what you would expect in the North Woods and can be used any time day or night. Pets are allowed and have as much fun as the humans! The fishing is great even from the pier. I caught a huge bass my first cast. Again, no luxury here but a true "up north" experience. A friendly, peaceful place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safredtosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 21 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2011

Been coming back for over 10 years. Rustic, scenic and relaxing. If you're looking for 5 star, big city amenities you'll find them elsewhere. If you want to kick back and enjoy the scenery, serenity and the moment...try this place. The lake is beautiful and the breakfast is outstanding. Engaging staff in a family/pet friendly environment.
Great facility for group gatherings/get togethers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I've been coming to Evergreen Lodge with my son and some friends for over 10 years. I usually come up 3 to 4 times per year. It's a great place to stay in the Northwoods and Little Crooked lake is a great fishing lake. The owners are good people and make you feel at home when you are there. The breakfast in the main lodge is good and included in your stay. You are only minutes from downtown Boulder Junction for shopping, restaurants and other activities. If you like the outdoors this is a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Labor Day 2010 was our 2nd stay at this resort and we have 2 stays booked already for 2011. We are so happy we can bring our boat and our 2 dogs. Little Crooked Lake is great for fishing and canoeing. The owners are the nicest people and Laurel is a great cook. Breakfasts in the lodge are wonderful. We enjoy the quietness of the grounds, the access to the lake, the cute cabins, and definitely the value for our money. The cabins have everything you need and it's a short, scenic drive into Boulder Junction for shopping and restaurants. They even have a camp fire right on the lake for all to enjoy. Try this resort, you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ChocLabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This is an extremely run down old resort. The owners are overwhelmed with disrepair. It is very filthy, thank goodness I brought all my cleaning supplies. My bedding had not been changed and the towels smelled of mildew.. Also , brought my own blow up mattess. The lake is covered with weeds and unswimable for little ones. What a shame you can post on the internet what it looked like some 20 years ago and get away with it.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank c_peklay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 7, 2011

This group had a wonderful time, it was a wedding anniversary for the parents, who paid for the entire group. This individual obviously was not having a good time. We have a large client list and very few complaints. The linins are always clean and so are the cabins. We are a licensed lodge and restaurant by the State of Wisconsin and pass three health inspections each year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This place is a pit. The cabins are run down, filthy and the furniture is from someone's 1970 college dorm. There was some kind of animal living in the wall between the two bedrooms. The toliet flushed when you took the lid off and pushed a button. We too got the "it's the north woods" line from the owners whenever there was a problem brought up. The bonus of being able to cook at the lodge isn't worth it when the owner complains about refrigerator space, noise and hovers the entire time. And don't even get me started on the lake-this place is a pit!! If you stay hear, be prepared for the worst stay ever!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 7, 2011

Yes, being in a remote place is wonderful except when you need something. We have Sloane power flush toilets to conserve water and provide the best flush. A small plastic part in the tank had been broken by the previous guest and it takes a week to order it and receive it. The group was invited to use the lodge for preparing meals but I don’t have refrigerator space for 6 nights of dinner for 30 people plus breakfast for 40. The cabins have refrigerators too. They prepared elaborate theme dinners each night. The kitchen is a large commercial kitchen and each night a new group cooked. We stayed near by to help them find things and use the equipment. The rest of the cooks were glad of the help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

i don't mind run down, however, no excuse for the filth!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tina35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2011

As you can see from our positive reviews this person was disgruntled about something. She booked a small cabin 5 feet from the lake. She didn’t like being that close to the water and wanted a full refund and to leave. The deposit policy is that the deposit applies to the last days of the reservation so it was not refunded. We lost over 5 days of rental income since we could have booked a guest that knew what they wanted. The other 11 cabins were full of satisfied guests that week. Lots of people stay here and only a few are out of place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder Junction
19.0 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
245 reviews
17.9 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
25 reviews
19.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
17.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
69 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Great Northern Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Address: 6161 Evergreen Ln, Boulder Junction, WI 54512-9678
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Boulder Junction
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Boulder Junction
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabin & Breakfast(12) 1 to 3 bedroom log cabins on the lake. Enjoy a view of the Lake from your screen porch & our level grounds. Daily Rates $79-$282. Weekly Summer $688-$1580. Enjoy a full complimentary breakfast in our beautiful knotty pine lodge. Relax and de-stress in our authentic Northwoods resort. Boulder Junction is a friendly small town with a variety of shops and restaurants.There are many things to do at the resort -Class "A" Musky Lake: Musky Walleye Bass Panfish Guides Boats & Motors Pontoon Boat Lake Maps Freezer Fish house Canoes North Woods Setting: Nature Hikes Berry Picking Biking Horseshoes Campfires: Toasted Marshmallows Ghost Stories Star Gazing Playground & Swimming: Safe Sandy Beach Raft Paddle boat Canoes Kayak Recreation Room: Pool Table Table Tennis Movies Cartoons Nearby Attractions: Golf Course Horseback riding Tennis Sight-seeing Wildlife photography Museums Arts & Crafts ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing