We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Mounds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prevailing Winds Lodge
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this fabulous log lodge Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights based on it's charm and appeal. What we got was a whole lot more! The rooms were luxutious with exuisite bedding that made you feel like you were floating on a cloud! Breakfast both mornings were sinfully mouth watering andbthe wjite chocolate scone was heavenly. The atmisphere was so totally relaxing, we fell asleep on the couch in front of the fire. There are 44 acres to explore and several trails but due to cold and jigh winds we didn't go out. We definitely will be back again..soon.Like one of my other reviews, to hold onto this little gem of a secret wouldn't be fair...more people need to experience the hospitality, awesome ambience, and totally wonderful food. Thanks so muvh to Jen and Steve...we will be back again!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked a weekend with a group of friends, and we were thrilled with every aspect of our stay. The landscape, accommodations and service couldn't have been better. I can't imagine a blood pressure medication more effective than PWL.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was a wonderful place for our group of 6. Steve & Jen made us feel like family. Food was amazing, and they even worked around our schedule. Best place to stay in the area! Rooms were beautiful and comfortable. Great place for weddings at Tyrol Basin, which is why we were there.

Room Tip: all rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 210CJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Fantastic B&B with great things to do and see. We will be back soon! And Steve is a wizard in the kitchen too! There is so much to do and it was only topped by the warm and comfortable and relaxing environment offered at prevailing winds lodge. We had a terrific weekend and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Absolutely the best! It is difficult to find enough kind words to adequately describe the stay my wife and I had with Steve and Jen at Prevailing Winds Lodge. We stayed four nights, and, after each day, it felt like returning home. In addition, we took advantage of the Badger football package and Steve had everything organized from reserved parking to great seating. Whether it was the beautiful lodge set in the countryside, all of the amenities provided, our cozy room, or Steve's "over-the-top" freshly prepared breakfasts, our stay was as remarkable as any bed and breakfast we have frequented in the world. Reviewed by Craig and Cris from Idaho

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A magical experience awaits you with Steve and Jen at Prevailing Winds Lodge. A beautiful log home on beautiful grounds with impeccable attention to detail. We arrived as a group of six friends and as we sat on the back deck enjoying the last of summer breezes, here came Steve with real glasses for our wine and cheese, crackers and nuts. He gave us a great recommendation for dinner. We enjoyed a fabulous night of rest on soft Jennifer Adams sheets with windows open to hear a soft rain. We awoke in the morning to smells of fresh coffee, bacon and unbelievable blueberry French toast! Along with the fresh fruit, granola and yogurt, a walk to the stream was in order. We all said we will return for another magical stay. Prepare to be transported by the food, surroundings and your hosts.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Lindalangston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If I could give a rating of 10, I would! We stay at lots of bed and breakfasts, but this was the BEST! Beautiful lodge, luxurious bedding, wonderful view, unbelievable attention to detail, fantastic breakfast, and warm hospitality. Steve and Jen do it up right! We will go back and are highly recommending Prevailing Winds Lodge in Blue Mounds WI.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and fitness center were NOT terrible...there were not any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prevailing Winds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prevailing Winds Lodge

Address: 2195 County Road Z, Blue Mounds, WI 53517-9625
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Blue Mounds
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Blue Mounds
Price Range: $155 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 44 acres of rolling hills, open prairies and hardwood forests, Prevailing Winds Lodge is the perfect place to enjoy privacy and peace. Whether you come to relax and unwind in one of the four cozy guest rooms or explore the miles of on-site trails, your stay will leave you wanting more. From the moment you ascend the tree lined driveway, you will be transported to back-country Colorado by the whispering pines and full log lodge. Just 30 minutes outside of Madison, our Bed & Breakfast lodge is located in Blue Mounds, Wisconsin and overlooks the beautiful Blue Mound State Park and Brigham County Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing