We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome rest after a day of hiking”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monte Sella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Monte Sella
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in San Vigilio
Certificate of Excellence
NH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A welcome rest after a day of hiking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a walking tour in the Dolomites. The staff and proprietors made us feel most welcome. The new pool and sauna were lovely, as was the new dining room. Although the hotel was not full at this time of year, it was a lovely spot. The food was very good. My only complaint was the noise of traffic from the street since we kept our windows open during the warm weather. The view of the moon over the mountains was more than an adequate trade-off however.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
103
46
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here as part of a summer walking tour of the Dolomites. The Monte Sella is well worth the stay. It has a newer section, but the original section with its Art Nouveau decor and features is lovely. My room was a corner room and was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The views from my room were stunning. The pool, spa and "relaxation areas" were well used after a days hiking. Norberto is a gracious host and the staff friendly and attentive. The restaurant offers a great selection of regional food, beautifully cooked and presented.

Room Tip: If you don't have children, ask for a corner room in the original building. The views are stunni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here for a few days right before Christmas.

The ski lifts are 100 ft from the hotel, ski rental, ski school are just across the road! The lovely small village is a short walk away.

Brand new spa, amazing food, Norbert and his wife are amazing hosts. We forgot our iphone charger in our room. We received it in the mail a few days after we left.

Only a small request: water in the swimming/relaxing small pool is a bit cold for me and my wife. Kids loved it anyway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davide V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helkijn
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

After a long drive we arrived in MONTE SELLA. The hotel is located in a little village but with all the necessary facilities in the village : a few pubs, restaurants, 2 supermarkets etc..The valley it lays in is stunning. Although it is situated along the main road, there's few traffic and the centre is only a 5 minute walk.
The rooms are very tidy and when you open the door, you're welcomed by the sweet smell of pine. Some rooms have a balcony which is very pleasant in summer time.
There are only a few suites who are brand new and quite superb.
Breakfast is plentyful : all sorts of bread even organic, croissants, fresh sliced fruite,pastry,various sorts of cold cuts,cornflakes etc.
No hot breakfast however..but I'm sure if you'd ask they would provide it for free.
Dinner kicks off with a grand salad buffet (which changes every evening) followed by a first course and a main course and dessert.
The menu changes every day and you have the choice for the first and main course and dessert between 3 dishes. Even in the unlickly event that you don't fancy any of the dishes, you have got to ask and they will cook something to your liking.
The quality of the food is more than excellent considering it's half board. Some of the dishes we had : spaghetti with baby lobster, ravioli stuffed with ricotta and a superb basil sauce, deer ragout with polenta, chocolate moeullieux, dessert buffet..
I had also a body massage during 50 minutes, a real treat after a whole day walking in the mountains. The wellness facilities are also very good.
Norbert and his wife are excellent hosts and even if the weather is bad they make sure you're not bored.
In short one of the best hotels we've ever had, and we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johan-vero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Vigilio hotels
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corona La Magia dei Cristalli
0.3 mi away
Wellnesshotel Almhof Call
Wellnesshotel Almhof Call
#3 of 24 in San Vigilio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Teresa
Hotel Teresa
#7 of 24 in San Vigilio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel Emma
Bella Vista Hotel Emma
#4 of 24 in San Vigilio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#8 of 24 in San Vigilio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Sella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Sella

Property: Hotel Monte Sella
Address: Strada Catarina Lanz 7, 39030 San Vigilio, Marebbe, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Marebbe > San Vigilio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in San Vigilio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Sella 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monte Sella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing