We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Vigilio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rifugio Fodara Vedla
Ranked #5 of 30 San Vigilio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at Fodara for 3 nights end of September/beginning October. What a great Rif and what a great family that runs it - a bit like a home away from home with a distinctly Italian mountain atmosphere. The food is great and people just seem to drop in from everywhere - locals, walkers, tourists, bikers .... A very laid back pleasant little social hub .... Has to be one of my most favourite Rifs! Plus the setting is truly beautiful. Plenty of nice hiking and climbing all around. My room with bathroom and balcony was clean and comfortable. Loved my stay there, wish I had had the time to stay longer, and will definitely go back the next time I head to Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatRich54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a nice private room with a balcony and private bath. Took quite a while to get hot water up to the shower, but it finally got there. Food was excellent, hosts extraordinarily friendly. Accommodated vegetarian tastes with plenty of excellent food. Breakfast was pretty normal "continental" fare, with granola, yogurt, and croissants, but the hostess also offered to cook eggs for us. Excellent coffee too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waynethayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Fodara Vedla on our last day trekking in the Dolomites. Beautiful setting, friendly hosts and a great experience all around. It's great to find that these little family run gems still exist. Probably the most comfortable bed I had on the entire trip. The only down side was the flies but I guess that comes with the ambiance of free roaming alpine cows.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HermanFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is gorgeous. It is on an incredible piece of property. The family who runs it is really sweet. The best spaghetti with ragu sauce. The room was cute and spotless. Nothing was out of place. It is hard to believe that such a place could be run so well so high in the mountains.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night. The double room we got was very clean and spacious. The staff was very nice and helpful. The location was good, the surrounding area was very quite and beautiful.
The food was ok, though we expected for a bit more for that price..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OferSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This refuge was very nice. We made a reservation for dormitory, and got a room in the old building with 5 beds and adjacent bathroom, so we had our privacy. The conditions are rather basic, but rather good - hot water in the shower, pillows and blankets.
Dinner was good, but as it is in all refuges, expensive. Breakfast was standard and good.
We made a reservation months before the date of arrival. Somehow, they thought we are not coming. I would expect them to call/email me and ask, but they simply assumed we are not coming. However, they fixed the mistake within minutes.
Overall, the staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Intenditore14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Vigilio hotels
21.1 mi away
Garni Residence Diamant
Garni Residence Diamant
#2 of 30 in San Vigilio
170 reviews
21.2 mi away
Les Gomines B&B
Les Gomines B&B
#4 of 30 in San Vigilio
85 reviews
20.4 mi away
La Para
La Para
#21 of 30 in San Vigilio
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort
21.3 mi away
B&B Villa Dolomites Hut
B&B Villa Dolomites Hut
#9 of 30 in San Vigilio
33 reviews
21.3 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Villa La Bercia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rifugio Fodara Vedla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifugio Fodara Vedla

Address: Localite Fodara 2, 39030 San Vigilio, Marebbe, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Marebbe > San Vigilio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Vigilio
Price Range: $35 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mountain refuge Fodara Vedla is located at the heart of the Nature Park Fanes-Senes-Braies, which is almost entirely in the administrative area of San Vigilio di Marebbe. The vast, green basin at 2000 metres above sea level is used as mountain pasture in the summer and is surrounded by the marvellous Dolomites.You will enjoy the traditional friendliness that has always characterised this lovely little spot within green alpine pasture and pines. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing